We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite places”
Review of Hotel Monte Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monte Rosa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Chiavari
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is my family's home town and it is one of the best places I have ever been to. We go back every year and the Hotel Monte Rosa is brilliant for all.
Let me start with the food. It is just out of this world, every dish fresh and perfectly made, simple not expensive and always delicious. I am a big foodie and trust me this place serves incredible value for money food.
The rooms are nice, clean well sized, but the area is so nice you really shouldn't be spending much time in it anyways. The new pool is lovely as well.
The idea of this coast of Italy is that you can travel by train to any neighbouring beach or rent a car and drive along the coast, the views are fantastic. All the way from Sestri Levante (try out the Lanterna restaurant, absolutely fantastic) to Portofino you will find endless beaches of all shapes and sizes that all deserve a visit. The food around the whole area is brilliant so just about anywhere you pop into will undoubtedly be fantastic.
Finally give the Cinque Terre a visit as well.
Chiavari itself is one of my favourite towns in the world, the perfect size, beach, docks, quiet yet plenty to do, bars, shopping you name it. If you're looking for a calm holiday by the beach and want to stay in a great value for money hotel definitely stay here, the staff are brilliant as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view outwards rather than inwards if you want a better view, if you'd rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCanepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    139
    55
    10
    2
See reviews for
86
131
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very good hotel for families with children. They have a nice pool area, play area for small children, decent breakfast and very welcoming and helpful staff.
Room was nice and clean with a small balcony, easy access to pool area.
Hotel's garage is a bit pricey and located underground. It's a little complicated to use your car (someone from staff has to come and open the doors etc), but it was worth the money to have it in a safe place.
Chiavari is a small, pleasant town with many restaurants and boutiques. All the services are within walking distance from the hotel. There's no beach or beach boulevard as you would expect from Italian riviera. For that you need to drive to Rapallo or Portofino area which are both located quite close to Chiavari.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ag78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cotswolds
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel staff were particularly courteous and helpful. The weather was atrocious, our clothes soaking after an abandoned walk from Sestri Levante. Our clothes were taken away and dried and newspaper provided to stuff our boots! I would like to return on a sunny day. I regret we did not try the jacuzzi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We only stayed at this hotel for a night but it was a very good one. The rooms are clean, spacious with a good bathroom (and nice toiletries). The swimming pool and jacuzzi were very welcome after a long walk from Sestri Levante. The breakfast room look a bit dated but very charming. The breakfast was good and plentiful. We had a very good night's sleep - as it was very cool and quiet. Loved the addition of a balcony to sit on. The location is brilliant to explore Chiavari. We would come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 230 which was quiet and near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomerscalesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at the Hotel Monte Rosa. The first time was just a week about 5 years ago. This time we spent 2 weeks and used it as our base to travel up and down the Ligurian coast from Genoa to the Cinque Terra. Got a 125 euro a night deal from Olga Bacigalupo for booking 2 weeks. Her family owns the hotel and can be reached on line. All staff were extremely helpful and everyone speaks very good English. The bartender gave me a complimentary bucket of ice, on request, each day for the bottles of wine and beer I bought from a market a block away (Carrefour). Pastry shops, bakeries, and the best restaurants in town are within 2 short blocks away. Train station is less than 1/2 mile leisurely walk through town away. Parking is available if you drive, but we took the shuttle bus from Genoa airport to the Genoa P.P. train station (5 or 6 euro) and then the train to Chiavari (8 or 9 euro). The train is not as "on time" as it was 5 years ago, but still a bargain and very regular. About 9 euro round trip to the Cinque Terra. A new pool was put in in the last year. "Andrew" at the pool will pour a beer for you or get a cocktail or cappucino from the hotel bar. The hotel restaurant menu changes daily with good Ligurian food, but I suggest some of the local restaurants too.

Room Tip: We've stayed in room 218 twice. You don't hear the early morning bells from St. Jacomo Chur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck95236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel staff were exceedingly pleasant and helpful. We booked a 3 day package including a boat tour, a trip to the Chinque Tee and 2 dinners. The staff could not have been more helpful when organising our boat trip, which was postponed once because we missed a train and again because of bad weather. We ate twice in the restaurant and on both occasions the menu was varied and our choices were well prepared and very enjoyable. The wine list was good: try the Barberra, it was delightful and excellent value. The small pool and hot tub were very clean and we were able to spend a pleasant half hour at the poolside every evening. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a base from which to explore the beautiful territory from Portofino to Genova and also the Chinque Terre.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranSBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Beautiful hotel, much of it in white marble, within five minutes of fine public squares and ten minutes walk from the railway station. Cobbled streets flanked by ancient arcades characterize the immediate vicinity in a delightful yet relatively undiscovered Ligurian Riviera town. The staff are very obliging and efficient and will go out of their way to be as helpful as possible. An elegant shaded dining area overlooks a secluded pool which has two jacuzzi areas - one a traditional tub type and the other built as a recess to the pool itself. Very safe non-slip material on the pool steps show that, for this hotel, safety is paramount. We only had time to stay one night but we'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiavari
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#3 of 8 in Chiavari
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella del Mare
Hotel Stella del Mare
#2 of 8 in Chiavari
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ferrari
Hotel Ferrari
#4 of 8 in Chiavari
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#8 of 8 in Chiavari
214 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ancora Riviera
Hotel Ancora Riviera
#4 of 16 in Lavagna
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Rosa

Property: Hotel Monte Rosa
Address: Via Monsignore Luigi Marinetti 6, 16043 Chiavari, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Chiavari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Chiavari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Rosa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monte Rosa is the "Secret Dream", the fruit of love and constant dedication of two young newlyweds, grandparents of the present proprietors, who in 1909, with passion and sacrifice gave life to this establishment, transforming it over the years from a small restaurant to a 4 star hotel with 62 rooms, Restaurant, Banqueting Hall and Swimming Pool. It's located in the beautiful historical porticoed town centre of Chiavari, immersed in the heart of this vibrant small medieval city, and only a few minutes from the promenade. Chiavari moreover is situated at the centre of an area rich in natural beauty: from the uncontaminated Cinque Terre to Portofino, from Genoa, with its aquarium and beautiful historical centre, to Camogli and Sestri Levante. The hotel is the destination chosen by those who have a passion for trekking, tourism, cycling and mountain biking, those who want to forget the car and choose either the train or the boat as an alternative mode transport or those who simply want to relax and be pampered away from the hustle and bustle of stressful living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Monte Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Rosa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing