We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like traveling back in time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Caffe Defilla

Gran Caffe Defilla
Ranked #27 of 154 Restaurants in Chiavari
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Like traveling back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Visiting Defilla is like opening a time capsule. The beautiful 18th century decor, the hand made cakes, candies and candied fruits... A very nice place to enjoy your mid morning coffee. Remember to bring a bag of their famous of candies back home!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HelleJulinCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    118
    52
    42
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent food, terrific wine list, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The restaurant behind the omonimous bar is for me an institution; I spent five years living in chiavari and this is one of my favorite place. Solid, excellent local food, an unbelievable wine assortment and the great atmosphere of this place will make your evening a special one. The prove? 90 % of the clients are locals....

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank principe1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almosr
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Who knew that such delightful places still existed? For some reason, there was not another tourist in sight, and we felt we had genuiney returned to Italy as it once was. The look and eel of the whole place puts a smile on your face

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank almosr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very good caffe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

you can seat-drink some coffe or eat some icecream here, buy some chocolate and sweats and enjoy yourself.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ovk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Even with poor service, DeFilla is worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

Granted the service can be rude, but it depends on the night. This restaurant is just too well located, has great hours and atmosphere, that we were there 3 of our 7 days in Chiavari. We actually went back to capture a photo of the rude waiter (and force him to crack a smile), but instead we were served by the most amazing professional! Now, we will make a point of going when he is working.

Not only is DeFilla the most beautiful store to pick up sweets, kitchen ceramics, spirits and wine, but on most summer nights there is a singer accompanying his electronic piano on the patio -- while locals and tourists devour the gelato and cocktails. With the right server, you can order drinks and eat muchies until late in the night! The stracciatella or grapefruit gelatos are incredible!

There is a restaurant 'Enoteca' next door, but it was closed the night we were interested.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SavorySweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gran Caffe Defilla also viewed

Chiavari, Italian Riviera
Chiavari, Italian Riviera
 
Chiavari, Italian Riviera
Chiavari, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Gran Caffe Defilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing