We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 star at best!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Admiral Palace

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“3 star at best!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

First, 25 years ago the town of Chianciano Terme was a bustling city but since the healing waters have all but disappeared the town and its hotels seem to have withered away. The "Grand" Hotel Admiral Palace is a basic tour bus hotel. During our short stay 3 different tour buses came and went with overnight guests. The hotel was completely full so we stayed in a handicap room. Fine for us, but anyone with a disability would have had problems. The shower enclosure door was broken and the bathroom rubbish can lid wouldn't open so we ended up throwing our tissues on the floor! The bed was comfortable but the bedspread so worn that it made the room feel even shabbier.
We arrived in the evening and decided to eat in the hotel for dinner. The food was basic at best, as was the breakfast buffet. We took a quick look at the spa and found it to be only average too. Checkout was a nightmare! Only one person on duty with a line of 12-15 people waiting to depart.
Chianciano Terme was our base and when we travel we like to arrive back after a long day of sightseeing to comfort. It was our first visit to Grand Hotel Admiral Palace, and last. There are just too many other gorgeous towns to stay nearby that are full of life and have quality accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theWanderingPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    1,139
    452
    178
    116
See reviews for
329
1,862
20
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed there for a night in May, we booked a last minute package which allowed us to have lots of extra privileges included: such as the wellness centre, the roofed garage, a suite with jacuzzi.

The food wasn't great, not bad, but just nothing special really. However, the wellness centre was very relaxing, small and cosy but somehow friendly. The staff was courteous though not overtly friendly either.

All in all a good hotel, nothing bad to say about it, and the room was probably the high point: modern and luxurious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jammy2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel and we tried to be there as less as possible.
The service was very poor, especially the reception staff was very unfriendly, slow and incompetent.
There is not a real restaurant; the "cantine" serves very bad food and is not at all 4 star.
All in all, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

We spent 7 days there. Fortunately, not much of this time, in the hotel. The service was very poor: the receptionists were incompetent, both, the room and the dining room weren't very clean and I've never seen, or never smelled such stinky lifts!!! But the worst thing was that we were robbed!! Someone, probably the cleaners, stole money from our room while we went downstairs for breakfast!!! And, what is more, the manager of the hotel was completely uninterested in sorting out the problem. He simply ignored our claims... However, Tuscany is so beautiful that it fully made up for the poor accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aniaOpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

we have just stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and i must say that i have never experienced such bad manners and ignorance from senior management ever.we had a total loss of water in our room and we were told to use the toilets in reception should we need to even during the night.after a very heated argument with our rep also involved we finally obtained a change of room albeit like all the other rooms withno air conditioning during very hot weather. There was a party of 41in our group , all participating in dinner which disgustingly was a comedy of errors with amajor proportion of the food being returned to the kitchen,good ingredients terrible cooking. never ever again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bowlerNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last week with my wife and 2 other friends.
I have booked 2 rooms via the Best Western web site with the AAA rate of 70 euro per night including breakfast and free parking.
The hotel appears to be new, and the room was spacious and clean. The floors are covered with stone-like tiles and for me it is much better than carpets.
The bathroom had a Jacuzzi which was a nice surprise.
Breakfast was a full buffet, and it was a great way to start the day.
Only cons: no english TV channels other than CNN, and crappy WIFI signal.
Overall we had a very good time at 6this hotel.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kalda01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

I was here on business and was literally paid to stay at this "luxury" hotel and if someone paid me to come stay here again I would have to refuse.

The rooms are about average size for a European hotel. The amenities are far below "luxury" level. Small TV that barely worked. A shower that can only be described as a more claustrophobia inducing experience than an MRI - you can't even turn around. Periods where there would be no water pressure at all - I mean you would turn on the faucet and nothing would come out.

BUT THE WORST THING ABOUT THIS HOTEL IS THEY TRIED TO KILL BOTH ME AN MY PREGNANT WIFE. While the rooms are advertised as air conditioned at night they turn it off. By 2am the room is so hot stuffy that you can't breathe. When you open the window to get some air you are eaten alive by mosquitoes. I complained about this every day to a staff that could barely speak English and everyday was told it would be fixed and never was.

Beyond that the food is abysmal. Over salted and over priced unless you go to breakfast and the chef decides to use sugar in the scrambled eggs instead of salt. True story.

I beg everyone considering to stay at this hotel to run the other direction as fast as they can.

WORST HOTEL EVER!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AstroCry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chianciano Terme
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#16 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#18 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Ricci Hotel
Villa Ricci Hotel
#11 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Del Buono Centro Benessere
Hotel Del Buono Centro Benessere
#15 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perugina
Hotel Perugina
#5 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Admiral Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Admiral Palace

Property: Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
Address: Viale Umbria 2, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chianciano Terme
#3 Spa Hotel in Chianciano Terme
#9 Family Hotel in Chianciano Terme
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chianciano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Admiral Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Admiral Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Chianciano Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing