We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week spent with friends at Sassaia, La Foce”
Review of La Foce

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chianciano Terme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Foce
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great week spent with friends at Sassaia, La Foce”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We were six couples who spent a week at Sassaia, and it was fantastic. The main house holds 5 couples, and the coach house holds one (plus and extra room with twin beds). There is a very nice outdoor eating space, and a beautiful pool. The house is in the country, about a mile down a dirt road. It is totally quiet, with views of surrounding farmland.

We hired two chefs suggested by the manager, Benedetta. The cooks were Anna and Sabrina, and they were top notch. Each day they would shop at local markets, then create incredible meals for all of us (usually served outside). They take care of all shopping, cooking, cleaning, etc. They are truly devoted to making exceptional meals, and use only fresh local ingredients. I would highly recommend reserving them during your stay at La Foce.

There is also a local restaurant on La Foce, about a mile from the house. It is very good, and makes great breakfast and coffee as well.

I rented a road bike from a shop in Pienza called Cicloposse. They have high end carbon road bikes, as well as mountain bikes. The roads near La Foce are great for cycling. I would recommend buying a Michelin map to plan your rides. The loop to Radicofani, and a ride to Montalcino were both spectacular. Lots of hills ! If you rent mountain bikes, there are many gravel roads to ride near and within La Foce. The only caveat with a road bike, is that you will need to drive your bike to the end of the gravel road (about 1 mile) to begin your ride.

There are very nice hikes around La Foce, and Benedetta will suggest a guide to take you.

You will definitely need a car to get around. We rented ours at the Rome airport, and it was about an 1.5 hour drive.

This is a perfect house to rent with friends or family in Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trumansburg NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

For the traveller, especially an American traveller, La Foce is a unique marriage of luxury and simplicity. Luxury for the eyes, in a landscape you'll never forget, restored and enhanced by hard work guided by a classical aesthetic. Imagine yourself in the background of a Renaissance masterpiece, and you'll get the idea. This visual richness seems all the richer for being paired with simplicity in the living arrangements. I stayed in the B and B, the Palazzolo,where simple furnishings provided the necessary, but no more, letting the superb view dominate. Ditto for the simple breakfast, letting the superb food of the region shine. There is one luxury on offer, if the weather is right: a swimming pool with both the distant view, and the near one. I shared it with the largest hare I've ever seen! And I really enjoyed the special 'tenants' tour of the gardens, and the aperitifs on the terrace that followed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MissPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Recently returned from group tour of Italy and this restaurant is tops of the many places we visited. The people are wonderfully friendly and the food is delicious. The dessert of a moist chocolate walnut cake with dollop of whipped cream was just mouth watering. The nice folks here heard one from our group could not come because he was not feeling well so they put together a special take out for him. What a nice gesture.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraN514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I doubt that La Foce needs my two cents after receiving a glowing review in the New York TImes, but I'll add them anyway. My wife spent two lovely evenings in La Foce's B&B in May. Set off from the main estate complex, it gives you a feeling of your own private guest house - complete with a gorgeous stone fireplace, extraordinary views across a UNESCO World Heritage valley, a lovely pool and ample-sized, restful room. Breakfast is shared with your housemates, which translates into an opportunity to get to know a handful of other guests in this 4-room property. The main La Foce buildings remain to explore on a future visit, as do the legendary gardens. But for us, we needed little more than this beautiful lodging and the exceptional meals we had at the nearby Dopolavoro restaurant to complete our memorable experience - easily one of the favorite experiences of our monthlong vacation.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the valley, but you'll be happy in any event
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnD21C3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I shared our 25th anniversary at Fonte in Chiarentana. We were recommended La Foce by a friend and our week was the perfect time book-ended by days in Florence. The space was perfect for two, and a great location for launching out to other Tuscan towns for exploration. Benedetta and staff were very helpful and accommodating with all needs. If you want a stay in the picture-perfect Tuscan countryside, one of La Foce's many accommodations should fit your needs!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We cannot say enough good things about staying at La Foce: the gardens, landscape, hosts and accommodation are all outstanding. We stayed in Tiglio apartment and it was perfect. The courtyard is beautiful and quiet, and the pool and surrounding gardens and olive orchards are just amazing. It had a really well set up kitchen and the local produce was fantastic so we did lots of cooking. The bathroom was lovely and good for baths. Good linens etc, nice selection of books to take and read in the shade of the trees.
Bernadette and her team were extremely helpful, and made things very easy. I had a broken ankle and needed a dr and Bernadette was great. We really enjoyed the guided tour around the grounds and the snacks with the other guests. The La Foce restaurant just down the road was excellent.
It is well situated for exploring the region--where there is so much to see, but relaxing in the apartment and gardens were my favourite part. Do eat at La Zuppa Solita in nearby Chiusi: six months later it is still one of the best things we've eaten, on recommendation from Bernadette.
La Foce was an absolute highlight of our year, I would unreservedly recommend it to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Miri_H_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our first visit to Tuscany with children (3). The website has loads of detail. What we didn't really appreciate however was just how many great sites (including towns, monasteries etc) there were within 10min-60mins drive. You could go to a different village every day for 2+ weeks. The charming Montepulciano is literally 10-15mins up the road. Belvedere (perfectly set up) truly has the most magnificent view (of the classic windy road and the volcano one way and the castle the other). Winter was magical. If driving from Rome pick up supplies at the PAM when you turn off the A1.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiStu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chianciano Terme
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
#10 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
6.2 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo La Pietriccia
Agriturismo La Pietriccia
#1 of 24 in Chianciano Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
8.4 mi away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 63 in Pienza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
5.6 mi away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Foce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Foce

Property: La Foce
Address: 61, Strada della Vittoria, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Chianciano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
La Foce Hotel Chianciano Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing