We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a palace but a royal treat.”
Review of Palazzo Bandino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Bandino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stockholm
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a palace but a royal treat.”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The rooms are big and rustic and the hotel has nice surroundings. It is rural but near many villages.

Spend a couple of hours in the spa, it’s very nice, clean and new, just missing some details as shampoo and conditioner.

Eating was a great experience. The dinner was four courses accompanied by their own wines,
and I had one of the best pasta dishes ever!!!!
All members of the staff where great, and the owners are very hospitable. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icca5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    73
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
56
202
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We really enjoyed the Palazzo Bandino. It was a great location, very relaxing, nice staff, delicious food. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrt1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2011

My husband and I, along with good friends of ours (couple), stayed at Palazzo Bandino our last 2 nights in Italy. We chose the town of Montepulciano since I heard it was beautiful and it was only a 3 hour drive to Rome airport for our flight back home to NY.

The home cooked Tuscan food at Palazzo Bandino was my favorite food during our 16 day Europe trip (12 day Mediterranean cruise + 4 days on land in Italy). It truly was! The price was 20 or 25 euros per person for dinner and that includes unlimited wine made from their vineyard!

The accomodations were ok, so if you are looking for luxury, pampering, and modern rooms, you should choose another place. We wanted to "rough it" and stay at a true Tuscany farmhouse. The views are great, you have the vineyards within steps of your room and again, the food is to die for!!!

I was nervous to book this through In Italy online (California based travel agent) since the reviews on Palazzo Bandino were hard to find, but we were so happy we did!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giraffe123503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton,NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Beautiful vineyards. Lots of “vino”. Homemade Tuscan cuisine! What more can you ask for?

In May 2010, my husband and I along with our favorite couple went on a Mediterranean cruise and a mini road trip from Venice to Rome. The road trip was one of my favorite parts of the trip.

The planner of the group (one half of the couple that we went with) did a thorough search for places to stay in Tuscany. There wasn’t much information online about Palazzo Bandino before we booked but correspondence was excellent! They were very responsive with answers and concerns. They even gave us advice of things to do, where to go and advice on transportation options. They were also very accommodating. After only a 2 night stay, we had to leave before sunrise to make our flight back to the US in Rome (which was about 3 ½ hour drive)

The place is tucked away off of a side road with dirt roads. I am not a “nature” person so I am squeamish with the sight of bugs of any sort. And there were bugs...but it was my only complaint. The rooms are very rustic but they have modern showers, toilets and etc. It was like staying in the cabin by the lake. It is family owned and kept simple which is nice. (So only one communal computer with internet service) Wi-Fi and phone service was “spotty”. They have a pool which is nice.

It was tucked away but within driving distance to Siena, Montepulciano and other cities that we did day trips.

They offer home cooked Tuscan food for dinner for ~25 Euro each night. We had the dinner both nights and it was EXCELLENT! The vino was “overflowing”!

Overall it was a great experience and would do it all again! (even with the bugs)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcp168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Three friends and I spent 3 days and nights at Palazzo Bandino. What a delight! Glorious location, stunningly great food, great surroundings, and he best staff and owner!!! We arrived after dark to a great welcome and a feast accompanied by their great wine. The rooms were charming and very comfortable and the value is stunning! We couldn't believe how affordable it was and Marta, the owner, was charming and extremely helpful. We went on day trips and my best friend and I spent half a day at the chianciano term spa - a really unique and delightful experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiminsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We did not stay at this lovely place, but we did take their one day cooking class and it was amazing!!! I have to say it was the highlight of our 16 nights in Italy!

We started by taking a tour of their beautiful hotel including their wine cellar, enjoyed a cappuccino and then the lesson started. Our true Italian chef only spoke Italian, but we had a very nice translator and although I was a little worried about that part, it worked out perfectly!

We made panzanella salad, fresh lake trout, zucchini fans with pecorino cheese, HOMEMADE PASTA!! & tirimasu! It was the best meal either of us had ever had!!! The lesson was fabulous! We left full of wonderful food, tasty wine from their vineyard & many many wonderful memories!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antiguawed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We arrived at Palazzo Bandino after driving through Tuscany with no real plans....what a great find.
The night we arrived they hosted a BBQ and the food and wine were the best we had all week and only €20 each! After a swim in their great pool we enjoyed a selection of wines from their vineyard, amazing views and the relaxed atmosphere. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMMDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chianciano Terme
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
#10 of 83 in Chianciano Terme
2,943 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#3 of 83 in Chianciano Terme
364 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Reali
Hotel Reali
#2 of 83 in Chianciano Terme
368 reviews
3.7 mi away
Il Patriarca
Il Patriarca
#1 of 10 in Chiusi
616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Ricci Hotel
Villa Ricci Hotel
#11 of 83 in Chianciano Terme
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Bandino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Bandino

Property: Palazzo Bandino
Address: Via delle Stiglianesi 3, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Chianciano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Bandino 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farmhouse Palazzo Bandino is situated in the countryside not very far from Chianciano. It has got 9 apartments and 4 bedrooms with private bathroom. We serve there breakfast and typical meals, only on request. There's the possibility to organize cooking classes and wine lessons for individuals or small groups and visit of the cellars with wine tasting and light meals of typical products. Swimming-pool, tennis table.10 Hectares of DOCG vineyards, a cellar where our best wine ages in special oak barrels. A garden which is cultivated with biological standards is at disposal of our guests. 1000 Olive trees they produce the most genuine extra virgin olive oil. We just open a wellness center indoor SENSI DIVINI where we offer special body tretments with our extra virgin olive oil and red wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Palazzo Bandino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Bandino Hotel Chianciano Terme
Palazzo Bandino Montepulciano
Palazzo Bandino Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing