We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location with lovely pool area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Moderno Chianciano
Ranked #21 of 81 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“good location with lovely pool area”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

stayed here five nights on group tour
we had a large room with one of the four balconies for the hotel albeit that they were more Juliet style and overlooked the roof/car park/street (but at least the doors opened)
clean and well kept - satellite TV for news channels
breakfast standard and evening meals with reasonable pasta and fair main choices - small salad bar offered and no choice on desserts but wine was cheap and OK and they always offered a big bowl of fresh fruit for the table at dinner (and it was also available a breakfast)
the non tour group guests appeared to have better meal choices (although no a la carte that we could see) and the offer of good cheeses on at least one evening instead of dessert
our tour itinerary was such that we never made it into the pool but it was very inviting and towels were provided
the town is a pleasant stroll and there is a bar on the main square where drinks are reasonable and there is live music and dancing most nights - though this is of course of the continental style and is taken extremely seriously by the mainly italian and german guests who treat it as something out of 'strictly' with a mature resident 'host'couple to encourage you onto the floor - in any even makes for good entertainment value with your after dinner coffee!
shops are naturally expensive

Room Tip: apparently rooms overlooking the pool are smaller and can be noisy if there is a private party at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnold j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    74
    30
    8
    2
See reviews for
21
106
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BELFAST
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Enjoyed stay here as base for Omega Tuscany tour. Perhaps not quite Trip Advisors high rating possibly due to food issues. Chef has it too easy. You will not starve BUT!!!
pool very clean and 90% of staff pleasant . Beware Italian hotels 25% charge on beverages bought in hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TUBMAN_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My grandaughter and I stayed here for a week in July/August 2013.

Our room was perfect. We were so pleased as it was everything we asked for.

Unfortunately I fell ill and was very poorly for 2 days. I did not expect anything special and informed room service when they came that they could leave the room until the next day. I must have looked awful as the next minute the lovely receptionist appeared and between her, her son the pharmicist and the doctor they called for me I could not have been looked after any better. They were so very kind, considerate and caring toward me.

The town is delightful - everything you could wish for in Italy.

I would recommend this town and this hotel as they are close enough to visit Rome and Florence for the day. There are also other nearby attractions.

We found the whole area to be quite magical.

Room Tip: Just ask for a balcony and bath-tub :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walksfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Tuscany covers a big area, and the roads, away from the motorways, can often be narrow and twisting. If you are looking for a base to travel around from, one to consider is Chianciano Terme, aa place you have probably never heard of. It is an old town, dating back to Etruscan times, and has some renown as a spa town, but for tourists today it is just convenient - being situated in pleasant countryside and yet only five minutes from the motorway that connects Florence to Rome. You can be in either in about 1 hour 40 minutes.
In Chianciano, you definitely want to stay around Piazza Italia, where there are nice shops, cafes and hotels, along with the Tourist Information Office. That is a nice place to stroll before or after dinner, and about 5 minutes walk away is a park where sometimes there are concerts.

There are several good hotels there, but the one we stayed in [June 2013] is Hotel Moderno, a four star one with the great advantage, in the Tuscan heat, of a large swimming pool. It is four star, rather than some of its neighbours 5, presumably because the furnishings in the rooms are a little tired, although the main rooms are all attractive. The breakfasts are good, but the dinners varied over a week from very goos to just OK. The staff at Reception, however, could n ot have been more helpful. It is a place worth considering.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulW83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June 2013. There was absolutely no indication that there was a chef present. The food looked and tasted as if it had come straight out of the freezer or a packet. There were only two choices of main course and you were expected to eat the mashed potato and soggy vegetables with the pizza and the mozarello/tomato. No consideration seemed to be given to the balance and look of the meal or the temperature. After complaining to our guide, the quantities were increased but unfortunately not the quality. The breakfasts were very basic and did not offer any hot food at all.
As another visitor commented, there was no information whatsoever in the rooms i.e. times of meals, facilities etc. It would have been nice to have known that you could borrow pool towels and bath robes and what to do if you wanted to use the sauna etc. Also for the first few days of the holiday, the pool was unclean and the surrounding area needed sprucing up. This was done half way thro the week.
Some of our fellow travellers were staying at the 3 star Aggravi Hotel and they were more than satisfied with their food.
On a positive note, the rooms were clean and adequately furnished and the reception area very nice. Unless you catch the bus into the old town, it Is a good 30 minute walk.
Unless things improve, this is not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the swimming pool are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwen210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just spent a week on a package hol here, paid £100 per person to upgrade from a nearby 3 star, wish we hadn't bothered.
It is clean, comfortable and quiet but that's about it. Our twin room was white with cream coloured furniture and apart from the orange curtains there was no other colour in the room, it was a bit like a hospital room without any interesting equipment. The only info in the room,apart from the fire drill, was a small instruction booklet on how to access the pay per view Sky channels, no info on hotel facilities, menus, local attractions etc.
Also disapointed to note no bath tub and the infuriating shower had no thermostatic control so temperature constantly fluctuated.
Hotel supplied two flannels, two towels for the bidet, two hand towels but insisted on supplying only one bath towel, asked for an extra bath towel on the first day and one was promptly delivered to the room, but maid service next morning left only one again! Gave up asking.
This is a beautiful part of the world but you would'nt know so from looking out our 2nd floor window straight at a concrete wall. No balcony either come to think of it.
I noted previous reviews mention how good the food is, all I can say is the chef must have had the week off - wholesome but not fine dining by any strech of the imagination and only a choice from 2 starters, 2 main course and 1 desert each day for dinner. The vegetables served with the main course were consistently boiled to a pulp. The very poorly stocked bar in the lounge was never staffed so if you wanted a drink you had to go looking for someone to serve you. To sum up, if it had claimed to be a 3 star hotel I would have considered giving 3 maybe 3.5 stars but I feel quite cheated by this hotel's 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the rear to avoid any occasional noise from the cafe bar accross the street, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

In central Chianciano so shops and restaurants close by. Take a bus (10 mins) for 2 euros return to the old town 'Centro Storico' for great views of the surounding area. You have to buy the bus tickets from a tobacconist and buses run every 15 minutes. Only disappointment with the Hotel was the food - breakfast poor but coffee good whilst dinner was hit or miss. Bar prices reasonable and a nice terrace for smokers.

Room Tip: Extremely quiet hotel so all rooms shold be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TonytheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chianciano Terme hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Milano
Grand Hotel Milano
#14 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Le Fonti
Grande Albergo Le Fonti
#28 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#17 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gaia
Hotel Villa Gaia
#7 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#3 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Excelsior
#27 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno Chianciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno Chianciano

Property: Hotel Moderno Chianciano
Address: Viale Guido Baccelli 10, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 81 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moderno Chianciano 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Moderno Chianciano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing