We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly hotel with good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cristallo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cristallo
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“friendly hotel with good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

when we went to Hotel Cristallo we found a friendly and helpful staff. We had a clean big spacious bedroom. Also a big dining room and each night we had delicious food (a lot of food!). And yes. this is rated as 4 stars... I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mistolin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    72
    48
    15
    19
See reviews for
22
104
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
littleborough
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I knew that, going to Italy, I would have no problem enjoying the food, but I certainly didn't expect so much. Each night, plus Christmas day lunch, there was a table d'hote menu. It didn't matter what you chose they brought you everything - over five courses - and it was all good! The only downside was that I had a single room and I would have like more space. But the rest of the hotel made up for it.

Room Tip: Much better views from a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shakerLittleborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

All the hotels in Chianciano are old style spa hotels as this is and was a famous spa resort. Its lovely to go back in time to the hotels with large chandeliers, big spacious bedrooms and relaxing areas with its own spa, which adds to its charm. . .Friendly and helpful staff. Big dining room catering for lots of groups as well as private guests, 4 - 5 course meals every night and occasionally music nights. . We even had a gala night with tuscan speciality foods, too much to eat though! When I read some of the reviews, I wondered if they sayed in the same hotel as us, unfortunately you cant please everybody. . .The air conditioning is on between certain hours which wasnt a problem as we were out most of the day and was on when we really needed it. .Overall a charming airy friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms best at the back as a little traffic noise at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancingQueen855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Rated as 4 star by Newmarket Holidays - why?? Poor food, very different menu served to the tour group. Biggest complaint is that the aircon is centrally controlled and is switched off between midnight and 1400 hrs. If you are at the front of the hotel you can't have windows open either as the road is too noisy. Our compliants could not be dealt with by the managing team only by the owner who wasn't there. No shower curtain for over bath shower so the bathroom got soaked. The wellness centre was closed and has been for some time going by the dust.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JennyKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chianciano Terme hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Lovely Decor and spacious room very friendly and helpful staff however lots of outside noise from other hotels in the area.lovely tradition food even if choice limited all staff seemed very friendly and welcoming and happy to help

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We must have been there the same week as Trevor H but ours seemed to be a much more pleasant stay. We too were upgraded from the Plaza and we heard from some of their guests that the furniture was a bit "iffy". However we had no problems with the room whatsoever. The bed was large and comfortable, the room and bathroom were quite big and we always had plenty of hot water. The evening meals were good althought the desserts could have done with a bit more variety. We had a typical Tuscan special meal on the last night which was extreley good. Breakfasts on the other hand left a lot to be desired. Where was the fresh fruit salad and fresh yogurts ? I didn't want a full English just a bit more fresh stuff. The hotel itself has no information readily available although Reception would provide a street map. Chianciano Terme is a quiet town with expensive clothes shops and with just a few bars. The bars were reasonably cheap. This town is basically a place to rest while you are touring Tuscany. Every day is a trip for 1 to 2 hours to Siena, Florence, Rome etc. so by the time you have had dinner you are very tired.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MRWoody001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Newmarket "upgraded" us from the Hotel Plaza shortly before arrival for reasons known only to them. It transpired it was more of a downgrade. Recent critical reviews reflected our experience. To be fair, we were lucky and got a room with balcony at the rear (only half the upper floor rooms have a balcony at all). It was spacious and clean but the beds were old and in need of replacement. The shower cubicle was tiny and the hot water supply was on several occasions non-existent. The air conditioning was not switched on at all in 7 days despite temperatures in the upper 20's. The management are either trying to reduce global warmiing or save on electricity as lighting everywhere was also at a bare minimum. Food at breakfast and dinner was boring and basic - a variant of pork most nights. Staff were too few in number but helpful.The resort is not very tourist orientated with too few bars and mainly expensive boutiques which seemed to cater for affluent locals. It is about 2 hours by coach from Forence and Sienna and nearby attractions are few.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are good but noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chianciano Terme hotels
0.7 mi away
Miralaghi Hotel
Miralaghi Hotel
#81 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Excelsior
#25 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Plaza
Grand Hotel Plaza
#34 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alexander Palme
Hotel Alexander Palme
#37 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capitol
Grand Hotel Capitol
#39 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Albergo Le Fonti
Grande Albergo Le Fonti
#30 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristallo

Property: Hotel Cristallo
Address: Viale Lombardia, 35, Chianciano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristallo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top class, newly-built hotel, owned by a family who have been hoteliers for generations, boasts a central position commanding breathtaking views, near the spa buildings. The hotel has a lift linking it with lively Piazza Italia, large and welcoming rooms with bath and sitting room, balcony, air conditioning, telephone, colour television and piped music. It has spacious halls, reading and games room, bar, meeting room, swimming pool and garage. Service is to the highest standards. The Hotel Cristallo's renowned cuisine bases itself on wholesome food (various types of meat, poultry, wine, food, oil, honey and vegetable produce). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cristallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing