We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no way 4 star”
Review of Hotel Cristallo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cristallo
Ranked #33 of 81 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Reviewed July 15, 2011

STayed here for the last 4 days of a week long trip with Newmarket (7 CITIES TOUR). Hotel looked quite nice from outside and the communal areas, but disapointing beyond this. Food was dreadful especially the Tuscan soup where you had to eat it with a knife and fork if you dared!. Restaurant was in the basement and rarely opened on time keeping guests hanging around and never an explanation or appology as to why we had a room at the front of the building so had plenty of traffic noise and people noise as there was no double glazing. sheets were not changed at all and towels changed just twice, had to ask for extra pillows which we got but without pillow cases!. Had a fridge in the room but it was dirty looking. room was dark and gloomy and shower door leaked everywhere. bathroom floor was never swept either. there is nowhere local to go to, no shops etc so for this reason i think its location is poor. I cannot understand how it's achieved a 4 star rating. much better places than this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: don't take no for an answer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bhindi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 236 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

Recently stayed in this hotel as part of 7 cities tour with Newmarket. The hotel was clean and comfy. Food was typical Italian style - not to every bodies taste but we enjoyed it - especially the typical tuscan meal - the soup was gorgeous! Our room was fine, had fridge and balcony. I thought the air conditioning did all that was needed between 2pm and 12 so no complaints. The staff were friendly and helpful and I would stay here again if in this area. Only problem was the shower - quite small and when everyone was using it the temperature changed significantly so need to be careful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheel3468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Our Cosmos tour was great, but this hotel leaves much to be desired in a holiday resort, in my opinion. Our room was dark and dreary with no balcony ('you didnt request one' was the reply to our query. Well I didn't see a check box marked 'balcony' or I would have done! The bathroom was tiny compared to that of others in our party...and then I discovered that others had a fridge too which we didnt have! No air conditioning AT ALL as it doesnt go on until 1st June - even though the temp was up to 34 deg some days. Havent they heard of climate change? The food was mediocre at best and one night we were served a FRIED CHEESE SANDWICH for our main course...no kidding!! not what you would expect for a hotel evening meal I think? the pool is underneath a concrete overhang, so full marks to the photographer who took those pics! But the guy behind the bar serves the gin without a measure attached so its not all bad!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac7612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Stayed in this hotel and throughly enjoyed the food and old old charm of the place. The downside to this hotel is the pool (not very inviting) also we were on the top floor with no balcony and a window you could look out off if you were a dwarf. The location is good and if you stay here ,make sure you visit the old town ,well worth the walk with splendid views and typically Italian

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathleen33_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The hotel is located on a hill and the rear of the hotel has a good view of the new part of chianciano, Tuscany. The town is full of Hotels with Spa and wellness centres. When we arrived most of them were closed, or appeared to be closed. Not that we wondered around the town. That much. As the world cup was on still and Italy were still in the competition. The town was dead till after the match had finished.

The room was clean, reasonable décor and furniture and there was a balcony. The food was too a good standard and the staff were helpful and friendly enough. The down side for the hotel is the pool, as it is located below street level, so therefore a lot of stairs are involved and there is a large over hang terrace which blocks a lot of the sun during the day. Of course there is a lift for those who want a more leisurely journey to the pool.
The pool was cold, very small and the photo’s on the web site must have been shot with a wide angle lens !
The air con is turn off at mid night and is back from about 2pm in the afternoon

The dinning room is located in the basement and very roomy. Other rooms in the hotel are the lounge area which are exquisite and the bar which is area is pleasant enough, but does has a large balcony. There is even a snooker table to entertain you, that is if some other hotel guests have not got there first !

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tysonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

On arriving at this Hotel we found that the air-conditioning was not working in our room we had to complain 3 times before we were given another room.The air-conditioning in this room did work but not that well "better than nothing we thought" so I went to return the keys for our original room to reception.Whilst there I noticed a sign which stated that the air-conditioning was only switched on from 14.00 till midnight !!!!!! I was astonished at this having gone to all the trouble of getting another room so we could have air conditioning that worked we discovered that the hotel policy was to turn it off at the very time when the guests in the Hotel needed it on, when they were in their room, not during the afternoon and evening when they were out. I asked politely if we could please have it on at night and was met with resounding "NO"
After a very uncomfortable and mostly sleepless night I asked again and was told "NO" asked to speak to the manager"NO"again, asked again the next day another resounding"NO"
So if you like a Hotel with rude unhelpfull uncaring staff and laying awake at night in dis-comfort and dis-belief staring at a fully functional air-conditioning unit that has been switched OFF then this is the Hotel for you personally I would prefer a park bench.
APPALLING!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank gordon1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

First of all, i'd like to mention that I stayed in this hotel for only one night in the middle of highly intensive bus-trip over Europe, and what's not less important this was my first travel abroad.
During our bus-trip we stayed in several hotels, and this one left the most pleasant impressions.
I can't say anything about its location, as i only spent a night there, and in the morning our bus was waiting for us.
What i can say is that it has nice single rooms (small but quite cozy), breakfast was a buffet-type very similar to breakfasts we had in other hotels (breakfasts in Europe always seemed small for me =) but as i've read in many other reviews, this is typical for European breakfasts in hotels).
Not much detail to remember now, but very pleasant overall impression.
Hope this helps someone =)

Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
1  Thank Miu_Minsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chianciano Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Excelsior
#26 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#17 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
#10 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Ricci Hotel
Villa Ricci Hotel
#11 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gaia
Hotel Villa Gaia
#8 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#1 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristallo

Address: Viale Lombardia 35, Chianciano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 81 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Price Range: $104 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristallo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top class, newly-built hotel, owned by a family who have been hoteliers for generations, boasts a central position commanding breathtaking views, near the spa buildings. The hotel has a lift linking it with lively Piazza Italia, large and welcoming rooms with bath and sitting room, balcony, air conditioning, telephone, colour television and piped music. It has spacious halls, reading and games room, bar, meeting room, swimming pool and garage. Service is to the highest standards. The Hotel Cristallo's renowned cuisine bases itself on wholesome food (various types of meat, poultry, wine, food, oil, honey and vegetable produce). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Cristallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing