We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Ricci Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Ricci Hotel
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“LOVELY HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel when visiting Tuscany on the Travelsphere holiday. The hotel is clean, nicely furnished, and lovely to stay in. The hotel staff are attentive and pleasant. Overall the holiday was a fantastic experience (made great by Jonathan Clarke, the Tour Representative) but I found on occasions that the dinner menu was slightly lacking and did not always provide me with the taste of Tuscany that I was expecting. Overall though, I would definitely stay in this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freddy01726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel V, Responsabile reception at Villa Ricci Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your review and for your kindness.
We are pleased to welcome our guests and take care of them and we are happy if your holiday can remain in your hearts.
Our Restaurant offers many Tuscan specialties, but the menu changes every day and often there are international dishes, to better respond to all tastes.
We hope to see you again in Tuscany
Best wishes
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    298
    120
    50
    11
See reviews for
108
367
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here with Travelsphere and the hotel and staff are lovely, our room was a standard with balcony and it was worth it for the wonderful view of the valley and old town, ok a few roof tops too but not a problem. The spa pool was wonderful and a great way to relax after a long day on one of the excursions, well worth investing in the robe and slippers for the week at 10 euro's, the spa treatments available sounded good and other guests told me the massage was excellent.
As others have commented the only thing that let the hotel and holiday down was the food and the regimented dinner timings and seating arrangements, we did feel a bit institutionalised in the strict 7.30 dinner and "please keep to the same table" request, also being part of a group we were almost segregated from other guests. Food was plentiful and we never felt hungry, but also never felt that we had had a proper taste of real Tuscan food (sadly the desserts were always a disappointment), the salad really wasn't inspiring and by the end of the week seemed quite tired.
Another huge vote for Fabio the Travelsphere tour guide, he was friendly, helpful, organised and made the holiday for many of us with his amusing anecdotes and vast amount of knowledge of the area and Italy and the Italians themselves. If I could book him for every holiday then I would travel a whole lot more.
Position of the hotel was not a problem as we were able to take a range of excursions, the old and new towns are both close by so for the type of holiday we had booked this was an excellent hotel choice (apart from the food) and I would recommend it to others wanting to tour this area of Tuscany.

Room Tip: Pay the supplement for a room with a balcony and ask to overlook the valley and old town. Single ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EsmeWx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile reception at Villa Ricci Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guests,
thank you for nice words about the Hotel and the staff.
It 's true, our spa is always appreciated and it's an unforgettable experience for our guests!

We are sorry that you didn't like the food. We always offer menu that can be appreciated by different people and every comments of our guests is always useful to improve our offer... we'll better satisfy your tastes the next time!
See you soon for a new holiday to discover the 'treasures of Tuscany' and the delights of our Spa and our Restaurant!
Regards
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay and the staff were very friendly, eager to please and to help. Everywhere was clean and comfortable and we had a large bathroom with a bath and a shower. The air conditioning did struggle with the heat (it was almost 40 degrees at times) so sleeping in the heat was a bit of a problem. There were fantastic views from our balcony (we'd asked for one in advance and got one without paying any extra - probably because the hotel/tour wasn't full). Well worth it because you could just sit out there and enjoy the view. The hotel also had a roof terrace but we didn't use it because it was so hot during our stay (even the locals said it was quite warm). We used the hotel's own spa, which offers a wide range of treatments and is a lovely bonus in a 3 star hotel. The food was good and plentiful and most people could find something they liked, although there were only 2 choices of main course at night. Dinner could run to 6 courses if you wanted it to (salad - soup - pasta - main - dessert - fruit) so most people were more than happy.

The town is rather remote (takes over 2 hours to reach Florence) but the coach was cool and we enjoyed the tour guide's chatter about Italian culture and life. Special mention must go to Travelsphere's tour guide (Fabio) who was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. We now understand Italy so much better!

Room Tip: It's worth getting a balcony with a view if you can - even if you have to pay for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eliza184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile reception at Villa Ricci Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guests,
thank you for your review and your kindness.
This period was really hot and it's very strange, in Chianciano usually in summer there is cool and windy. We are pleased that you could appreciate the beautiful views from your room though it was very hot outside.
The beauty of the landscape is one of the most exciting features of our land! ... And the evening, after long walks, our Spa is a very relaxing experience.
We wait again to Chianciano, with a milder climate, to know more about Tuscany ... and relax in our Spa.
Kind regards
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel has obviously been added to over the years, with some rooms connected to a building next door by a glass walkway.
The Hotel itslef has all the basic ammenities, was clean & bright.
One thing I was dissapointed with was the food. In a country renoun for its excellent cooking, the 'set' menu each night not to everyones taste. We were also asked to stay in the same seats for each meal, which made it almost like being back at school, particularly as we were travelling as part of a group & you were therefore 'stuck' with the same faces for every meal! Could be good or bad, depending on your circumstances, but I was there to mingle!
It's 10-15 minutes away from shops & restaurants & the upstairs rooms to the rear of the building , with balcolneys (expect to pay a premium for these rooms) gave some great views over the rooftops to the hills beyond.
If you haven't got a car or on a coach, it's not close to 'anywhere'!

Room Tip: 2nd floor to rear of building. No's 538 & 539 are two of the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel V, Proprietario at Villa Ricci Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Andy,

thank you very much for your review and for your beautiful photos.
It 's very important for us to know the opinion of our guests and it's a pleasure to improve our offer to make our guest's stay more pleasant and relaxing.

We are sorry that you did not appreciate our food. Every night, also for groups, we offer soup and pasta, a choice between two second dishes, vegetable buffet, fresh fruit and dessert, but any guest can ask for different dishes.
As regards the arrangement at tables, we kindly use to ask to stay in the same seats for each meal with own drinks (because drink are not included). Our restaurant is big and allow to everyone to change seats every day can creates some troubles about the organization, but we are always gladly available when a guest asks to change seats.

Please, remember: don't hesitate to ask... it's a pleasure for all the staff help our guests with attention to all their wishes.

Chianciano is a small town in the heart of Tuscany, between Val di Chiana and Val d'Orcia, a good location to exploring surrounding territory, using public bus or renting a car. Chianciano offers interesting walks to discover the old town, with its monuments and the panoramic views, a very interesting Archaeological Museum and the Museum of Art for an intense artistic experience, thermal parks to spend a day in total relax. The staff can offer a lot of information to discover our territory.
Inside the Hotel you'll find the Holistic Wellness Center 'La Mano Madre' to regenerate yourself, wonderful also after days spent visiting nearby artistic cities Siena and Florence.

Thanks again to your review, every opinion helps us to improve!
Best Regards
Simonetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the management and staff very friendly and eager to please. From our balcony we had beautiful views particularly of the old town. Our room was clean and comfortable with a large bathroom. We would recommend that guests pay the supplement for a balcony - well worth it. In our opinion Travelsphere have selected a gem and we must also compliment them on their tour manager, Fabio who was very knowledgeable with a brilliant sense of humour.

Room Tip: Room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eileenf19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel V, Proprietario at Villa Ricci Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Eileen,
thank you for choosing our hotel and for your kind review.
We are really pleased that you have enjoyed our structure.
It's a great satisfaction for me and all the staff to know that our guests have spent an enjoyable stay.
Best Regards,
Simonetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We also went to this hotel with Travelsphere and we totally agree with BJP in her assessment of the facilities,food and prices, our room was very comfortable and clean the only downside being a small bathroom but it was adequate. We enjoyed all our meals and the friends we were with, who are vegetarian had some lovely food specially prepared by the chef which I sampled on a couple of occasions. One of our friends had a broken ankle just prior to our trip and was still on his crutches but nothing was too much trouble for our fantasic tour manager Sara, she was also was amazing with her knowledge of everyting there was to know about the places we visited. The only downside to our holiday was the distance between the places we visited, having long coach journeys to and from the main cities but the countryside is very picturesque to see. The old town is worth a visit the veiws are stunning across the valley. Thanks again Sara for making our holiday so enjoyable. Linda

Room Tip: Second floor corner room was nice to get the sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lancashirecherub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed here with Travelsphere. The hotel is family run and the staff and owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The furnishings in the hotel public rooms were cosy and comfortable.. lovely to have some soft squishy arm chairs and sofas to relax in after a hard days sightseeing.Although we didn't use the spa we heard that it was very relaxing and enjoyable. The hotel is within walking distance of both the old and new town but after a day of sightseeing we we were quite happy to relax in the bar. Bar prices were very reasonable 1.50 euros for cappuccino and a bottle of house wine at dinner 10 eurosOur room was a good size with a balcony and everything we needed including a fridge, safe and a shower as we had requested and the bed was comfortable. We found our pillows too hard and asked for some softer ones which appeared immediately. I would like to offer the hotel some constructive criticisim regarding the food. Firstly the food was plentiful, freshly cooked and speedily served. However .I agree with a previous review about the orange juice at breakfast. It was more like an orange drink and not my choice. However other than that breakfast was fine for us and I'm sure if we had asked we could have had something cooked. I think the salad buffet could be improved compared with other 3 star hotels we have stayed in There was not a lot of choice or variety.. it was the same every night. It could have been improved by adding other vegetables or rice salad, pasta salad,maybe some cold meats, sweetcorn etc. or other Tuscan specialtiesAlso there were only two choices of main meal and no choice of desert. We really didn't like having to choose our main meal the previous evening it felt a bit like being in hospital, although maybe its to stop guests having to wait for their meal or stop food being wasted. Maybe this is common practice in Europe but we have never come across it before and we like the anticipation of what is to come! There should definitely be a desert table with a few choices.
Marina our tour manager was really great. She was always cheerful and enthusiastic and made the days really enjoyable.This holiday was a 45th wedding anniversary for us and we had a cake iced in blue l and a present wrapped and presented with a blue rose for sapphire which Marina organised as well as a card signed by everyone. The places we visited were fabulous and although we were quite a distance from Florence and Pisa we got to see miles of lovely Tuscan countryside.
I may have given the hotel food a bit of criticism but we would certainly return and this holiday was everything we had hoped for.We met some very nice people who we hope to keep in touch with. So thank you Marina for EVERYTHING. Barbara

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BJPengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chianciano Terme hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
#10 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#18 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#15 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Del Buono Centro Benessere
Hotel Del Buono Centro Benessere
#16 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#3 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lory
Hotel Lory
#4 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ricci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ricci Hotel

Property: Villa Ricci Hotel
Address: Via Giuseppe di Vittorio 51, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ricci Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Ricci Hotel, located at Chianciano terme, is the perfect solution for your vacancy or business trip.The Mencarelli family welcomes you since three generations trying to make your stay an unforgettable experience.Close to the historic city centre and the Chianciano Spas you could spend your holiday in our spa treatment centre, use one of the three conference rooms for your business time and taste the best dishes of Tuscan and national cuisine.The ideal place to regenerate body, mind and spirit enjoying a wonderful landscape in the Tuscan countryside.The rooms are furnished with all comforts and free wi-fi connection.We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Ricci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing