We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel”
Review of Hotel Santa Chiara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Santa Chiara
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently as part of Newmarkets Classic Italy tour and we enjoyed every moment of it. The hotel is so friendly, clean and comfortable although it is the only hotel we have stayed in with a balcony off the bathroom.The food was good and plentiful and the staff, who are all multi taskers were so helpful. We paid thirty euros for a safe key and received the full amount back when we returned the key, therefore no charge, how unusual is that. We can certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the hotel for a partial view of the Tuscsan Hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldham3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank-you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We are very happy that
you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you again one day.
Best wishes
Paola Corvi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 125 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good food, Good service.
Ecxellent service. Nice room.
.had a twin bedded room On Therese 3rd floor.Friendly staff at Therese restaurant and Therese reception.. Not so happening with online noe lift at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEI160349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Ms Bergen,
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel, we apologise for the technical
problem with the lift that day which had been overloaded with suitcases, our
mechanic repaired it the same day. We wish you well for the future and hope to
see you again someday.
Best wishes
Paola Corvi
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a Newmarket tour. The hotel is of a reasonable standard but is obviously suffering from the recession. The bar ran out of popular drinks on the second night, these were not replaced so you drank what they had left at prices higher than average even for a hotel.
The staff were eastern european girls who worked extremely hard and were alway cheerful even after working long hours. Rooms were of a reasonable standard and cleaned daily. Our room had a grill over the window which did nothing to improve the ambience and did nothing for the view which would have been lovely. Food at the hotel was " italian rustic " which took some getting used to but it was plentiful and served efficiently and cheerfully by the aforementioned girls. The hotel appears to cater for coach tours but this was no bad thing and they coped well with a lot of guests especially at dinner time. Set in a nice area but with very steep uneven pavements which makes it unsuitable for people with walking difficulties.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DENNIS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay in our hotel, we will endeavour to improve where possible notwithstanding the current economic climate in Italy. We welcome your opinion and have now removed the pigeon barriers for the summer.
Paola Corvi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here during a Newmarket Classic Italy holiday. Had a twin bedded room on the 3rd floor with en-suite bathroom with shower over bath. Shower didn’t fit its wall bracket so getting it to point in the right direction was a challenge! Room was reasonably clean but looking a bit jaded. Couldn’t get the air-conditioning to work but we really didn’t need it as we were able to leave open the large window with sun shutters which was much better. Window overlooked a side street so no traffic noise but was woken one night by a drunken women singing badly. Hotel lift elevator is very small.

Couldn’t find the swimming pool but we wouldn’t have had time to use it anyway as these coach tours keep you very busy.

Meals are taken in one of the large dining areas. Food is plentiful but pork in various guises appeared on the menu far too often. Waitress service was excellent and provided by a friendly team that served with a smile and a laugh which made up for any other of the hotel’s shortcomings. A fun, friendly hotel and yes we would go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiltshirerambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thanks for writing his opinion
We will try to improve and will be a pleasure to host you again in our hotel
Best Regards
Paola Corvi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 as the second hotel in our Classic Italy tour with Newmarket Holidays. The bathroom floor never got cleaned. I asked for an extra pillow but none came. The air conditioning had been switched off the day before as it was now autumn. Not enough staff in the restaurant. We had a long wait to be served. Very basic continental breakfast provided. Evening meals were mainly non-Italian which was disappointing. Plenty of pasta but that was it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeithRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Respond to his review is easy…….
When a customer is not satisfied with anything luckily he is not credible ...........
I'd be curious to know the price of your journey, as includes everything written below.

Your opinion would be a help for us and for our customers but you should write things that are true, after analyzing objectively your trip


2 waitresses served your group and are sufficient (you don’t have a la carte menu)

The motors of the air conditioning does not start if the outside temperature is 17 degrees.

Today is October 23 is already October 14, we turned on the heating

Continually bring pillows, hangers in the rooms ....

The attention of the waiter to hygiene and cleanliness is exemplary

During your stay of 4 days, for example, you eat:
4 types of soup
4 kinds of pasta
(you have a choice in the main course)
Fish with vegetables
Pork with vegetables (escalope and steak)
Veal with vegetables
Cheese omelets with vegetables
Ham omelets with vegetables
Swordfish with vegetables
Tuscan cheese with vegetables
Wednesday appetizer with a buffet of 3 types of salads

Tuesday Thursday and Friday: Salad Buffet with 7 trays of different vegetables raw and cooked

Every night a different dessert on Wednesday sweet wine included and on Thursdays fresh fruit

And about Buffet Breakfast you can read other answer……..

Flight return

Tour Manager

Coaches available for all days, with loading and unloading luggage

Excursions Rome Florence Napoli (I’m not sure) Assisi etc ......

Before writing must reflect ......

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spent 4 nights at this hotel on the second part of Newmarket "Taste of Italy" tour. Queues at only lift so took ages to get to room with luggage. Room on first floor quite good compared to stories from other visitors. We were out early every day on trips (two days extra early due to unforeseen strikes by Italian workers). Breakfast - no hot choice at all. Cold boiled eggs, salami, cheese, bread, rolls, cereal, fruit juice (yuk!). On first day, we were given list of food available for dinner for next 4 days and had to choose main course (choice of 2!) for next day. Some sort of beef stew (which was re-hashed next day on salad/veg table). Germans left Wed morning and Danes arrived Thursday morning so, consequently, on Wed evening us Brits had lettuce, tomato and grated carrot as our veg choice, it said "salad and choice of veg" on menu sheet but waitress said "no, not tonight"! That particular night my husband had chosen a knuckle which was, literally, a bone with meat, sliced mushrooms and the "salad". Pasta dishes were good. Dessert one night was a slice of pineapple (middle not even taken out)! No tea-making equipment, again, is it the norm in Italian hotels, so pleased we packed kettle etc. at last minute. The staff were brilliant, one lady seemed to pop up at all times of the day and night, doing every job! Queues at bar as only one member of staff - yes, that lady again! Wash basin was never cleaned, shower door fell off last night. Pavements and front of hotel uneven, and hotel located on steep hill. Would not go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5DoreenR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear customer,
In general, group travel have advantages and disadvantages. The biggest advantage is the attractive price (transport, excursions, the hotels) but .......... when 50 people (with 50 suitcases and 50 bags) come all together at the hotel I think it is normal to wait for some minutes in front of the elevator (our hotel has 3)………it is normal, wait at the bar when 50 people come out the restaurant for a drink or a coffee.
We are a 3 star hotel and give adequate services to our class, if you want you can choose in the catalog travel in 4 or 5 stars hotels.
There are those who would want to pay the price for a holiday in a 1 star hotel, and stay in a 5 star hotel
Question: Is it possible??
So dear guest, these are the menus that you had during your stay, (these are the same for all guests English, Danish, German and so on………)
Who will have the time to read can judge:
1 dinner (the day of arrival you don’t have a choice)
Lentil Soup and
Pasta with tomato and bacon
Beef stew with potatoes
Daily garnishes with vegetables
Salad Buffet
Dessert
2 dinner
Appetizer
Pappardelle with truffle and
Lasagne with meat sauce
Main course, please choose:
OO Tuscan knuckle with mushrooms or
OO “Porchetta” with selection of Pienza Cheeses
With: vegetables au gratin
Salad buffet
Dessert: Cantucci biscuits and Vin Santo (sweet wine)
3 dinner
Timbale of rice and
Pasta with sausage and saffron
Main course, please choose:
OO slices of veal with a chopped tomato topping or
OO omelette with ham
With:
Daily garnishes with vegetables
Salad Buffet
Dessert fruit
4 dinner
Potato Soup
Pici pasta with tomato souce
Main course, please choose:
OO Porc grilled steak or
OO Roasted Swordfish
With:
Daily garnishes with vegetables
Salad Buffet
Dessert

.. I forgot this is our breakfast buffet:
milk hot and cold, coffee, tea, chocolate, cereals, muesli, yogurt, boiled eggs, white and brown bread, cheese, ham and salami, fresh fruits, plums in syrup, brioches , rusks, tart, marmelade, honey, butter, 2 kinds of fruit juices, mineral water,

You are right about the sidewalks...... are not our owned and we protested ...... hope that next year will be OK ...... Come you and see them?
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We travelled to this hotel with Newmarket Holidays at the beginning of October 2012. ( "Discover Classic Italy)".When we arrived,we had to wait for AGES to use the pathetic 4-person ( or 2-person with luggage) lift.Our holiday brochure stated that the hotel rooms were air-conditioned, but there were no such rooms in the building ; the air-conditioning had all been removed and the grilles blanked off .No joke if your room is on the 5th floor ,with no balcony or proper window ,and is stinking hot ,especially after driving up all the way from near Sorrento.Dinner ("beef stew" !) was just about palatable, but bland and boring ; over the next 3 days it got progressively worse, ie no gravy ,no sauces ,no herbs ,no spices, no recognisable "Italian Cuisine " ( and we LOVE Italian food ) at all . Our room was never hoovered,and there were cobwebs on the walls , and the shower extractor fan didn't work.By the third day,the hotel had filled up with Danish and German tourists ,and chaos reigned supreme in the overcrowded dining room ,where the few non-English-speaking staff struggled to cope ,and we were kept waiting for our " Port Grilled Steak " ,which in fact was a salty Pork chop with no gravy or vegetables. Three Star Hotel ?? You must be joking ; we have never been so let down or disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid the Fifth Floor ; the rooms appear to have been converted from staff acomodation ,presumably i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paolacorvi, Direttore at Hotel Santa Chiara, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Customer our hotel has everything you could read in the brochure.
The menu offered meet 90% of customers
The lift can accommodate up to four people
Air conditioning is working perfectly
Our waiter plans always have great reviews about the cleanliness
The extractor fan in the bathroom is centralized and technologically advanced super silenced.
For the structure and the services offered w are an excellent three stars.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chianciano Terme hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#17 of 82 in Chianciano Terme
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#2 of 82 in Chianciano Terme
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Ricci Hotel
Villa Ricci Hotel
#11 of 82 in Chianciano Terme
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
#9 of 82 in Chianciano Terme
3,145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#14 of 82 in Chianciano Terme
995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perugina
Hotel Perugina
#8 of 82 in Chianciano Terme
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Chiara

Address: Via Dei Colli 50, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Price Range: $51 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Chiara 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Santa Chiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing