We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience”
Review of Hotel L'Approdo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel L'Approdo
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Recently stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Great location, close to the beach and to the bustling nightlife/ restaurants but for a supposed 4 star hotel have to say left leaving a little disappointed. Its not particularly cheap for what you get especially at peak time of year but the staff were friendly enough and the communal areas were to an ok standard (although not really to my taste) but our superior bedroom was really very basic with poor furnishings. Admittedly we had a great view of the port and much appreciated and needed the AC but the rest of the room experience was very much underwhelming and was very much like stepping back into time say the 70's or 80's. Breakfast which was included was also very unimaginative and poor quality. To be avoided really. Would I stay here again? Probably not. Would I come to this town again? Most definitely but stay somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank 1879fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 469 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Well, you get here for location, right on the corner to the beach, 200 m away from nightlife action, the food is ok, breakfast a bit sparse and like in a lot of hotels in Italy they love this chemical orange juice, do not know why.

So its location, its not food, and its not the noise you get all over in the house, at night its the street, in the morning its the breakfast room on rooftop, nice, but noisy, and its the rather thin walls and doors that will catch your sleep.

So when you go there, cut the night short, noise is of little issue then!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel to base yourself during a visit to the beautiful Tuscan coast.
The staff was wonderful and went out of its way to make our stay comfortable.
The hotel is steps away from the many restaurants and shops of this lovely town and near the waterfront as well. The rooms are clean and comfortable, many with terraces overlooking the port where you can relax with a glass of wine or breakfast delivered to your room. The free WIFI internet service was a big plus. Unfortunately I did not get a chance to eat at the hotel's restaurant but other guests told me it was delicious. There is a cool wine bar next door where you can sample the region's many wonderful wines. This is Tuscany at its best and that's saying a lot.
We really loved our stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace so you can have your breakfast in your room as you watch the boats go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dolcedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The location is superb, close to a wonderful beach and the old town.
The receptionists are professional and friendly. The rooms are clean, quite big and has a small balcony.
The breakfastroom has a wonderful view to the old town.The food is good so you can really enjoy your breakfast.
You can say that the facilities are oldfashioned but that is nothing to complain about. It was not a surprise.
I will absolutely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiaNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

An OK hotel neas the main attractions. As soon as you enter the door you are received by a big oyster type shell with colorfull light effects inside. Once in the lobby you step back to the seventies. Any time soon you will meet Farrah Fawcet and the whole Charlie's Angels troup. The hotel staff is nice and the rooms quite outdated. Anyway we had a good time. Keep in mind the rooms are noisy, or better say, you can get noisy poeple as room neighbors.

Room Tip: The rooms can be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fermal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Staying at the Approdo was a wonderful experience.
The staff is lovely and very helpful, the rooms were impecably clean and the location is wonderful, very close to the beach and in short walking distance of the beautiful old town.
I loved the food at the hotel, good breakfast with a beautiful view of the town walls, , delicious antipasti and mains for lunch and dinner. However, the highlight of my eating frenzy were the weekly sea food and farmer buffets! The best Maremma has to offer.
I do fell there´s space for improvement, the air conditioning, for instance, worked ok but could be modernised and more efficient.
Completely recomend this hotel. Oh, don't miss the free pre-dinner snacks and the Sunday prosecco evening!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilgrantenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Very difficult to park here! If you can't park out front, keep going straight, through the roundabout and then into the parking area straight ahead. The hotel staff was nice and the hotel was clean. But, the bed, furnishings and layout was very dated. I would not recommend coming to the city at all in March, as there are not many things to see or do. The hotel is in a good location though. All shops, beach, sights are very close to the hotel.

Room Tip: No idea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank INARUSH_CHAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castiglione Della Pescaia hotels
6.6 mi away
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
#3 of 5 in Punta Ala
669 reviews
5.1 mi away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#2 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
357 reviews
6.7 mi away
Gallia Palace Hotel Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#1 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
337 reviews
3.8 mi away
Roccamare Resort
Roccamare Resort
#12 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kinda
Hotel Kinda
#10 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Approdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Approdo

Address: Via Ponte Giorgini 29, 58043, Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Castiglione Della Pescaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
Price Range: $97 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Approdo 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place for a truly wonderful holiday in the beautiful town of Castiglione della Pescaia: this is the 'Hotel L'Approdo' standing in a panoramic position overlooking the Tuscan archipelago, with its Mediterranean pinewoods and its enchanting medieval hamlet. And it's not only perfect for a beach holiday, for a family or for a couple, but also as a starting point to go and explore all the lovely places in the Tuscan Maremma area as well as the Isles of Elba and Giglio. The hotel has 48 comfortable bedrooms, well furnished with all mod cons; some enjoy a panoramic view and some can offer you larger accommodation for families. Buffet breakfast which, in summer, is served on an evocative panoramic terrace. Its spacious restaurant serves delicious meat and fish dishes, often with entertaining theme evenings, and gluten-free food is also available. Moreover, in summer, children can enjoy shows specially put on for them , their own play room and free bike hire. Small pets are welcome. In addition, for sport and fitness, there is the Sport and Wellness centre, 13 km away, at the La Principina Farm, where you can - for free - make use of the room for floor exercises, gym, sauna, Turkish bath, whirlpool bath, and outdoor swimming pools. So the Hotel L'Approdo and Castiglione della Pescaia are eagerly waiting for you so that you can enjoy an unforgettable holiday, in the name of nature, sun, sport and well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel L'Approdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Approdo Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing