We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riva del Sole Resort & SPA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a fortnight in August 2013 and had a marvellous time. The room was nice and clean, the service excellent and the food .... delicious! The resort is nicely situated in the pine wood just by the sea and offers a lot of activities. It is clean and tidy and feels very safe.
It is also easy to make trips to other cities, as several buses stops just outside the resort. Bikes can be rented as well. I do hope this was not the last time we stayed at Riva del Sole Resort & Spa!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have nice terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 740 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent a week at Riva del Sole in August 2013. We found the resort nice, relaxing and very well managed. Overall a good place for a family holiday. The whole resort was very clean and tidy and felt safe, the location by the seaside, shaded by pine trees is also very nice. We found the staff efficient, polite and helpful, especially at the restaurants. We went for the half-board option and enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffets and dinners. Some reviewers have complained about the food but we found the food very good (Be warned, the dessert buffet table is very tempting, you are likely to put on weight..but who cares, it's holiday!) , there's lots of choice and the service was mostly top-notch. Also very child-friendly in terms of availability of high-chairs. We had a standard room on the ground floor with two extra beds (a bunk bed) for children and found the room to be quite small. You need to be organised with your luggage etc. Luckily there are cupboards and wardrobes for storage. The ground-floor rooms have a direct access to a shaded communal garden. There's a little table and two chairs outside for you to sit on, though there's no privacy as the people next-door will be sitting just two metres from you...The beach is very clean, nice white sand, relatively narrow with just 3-4 rows of sunbeds. Unfortunately during our stay the waves in the sea were consistently strong even on non-windy days and very strong when it was windy, so it wasn't suitable for actual swimming, especially for small children so we ended up spending most of our time in the swimming pools. The pool area ( though smaller than it appears in pictures ) is really nice, and perfect for all the family. Keep in mind that if you want a sunbed by the pool in a consistently sunny position thoughout the day (some areas by the pool are always shaded by the pine trees) you will need to go in early. Reserving sunbeds with towels is officially forbidden but seems to be widely practiced.
One thing that was bothersome during our stay was the presence of wasps practically everywhere: On the beach, by the pool, in the garden, and especially in the restaurants. This problem might be beyond the control of the management but it's something anybody who is allergic to wasp stings should be aware of.
Overall a really nice and relaxing stay in a family-friendly, clean and well-managed environment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a very good stay @Riva del Sole for the third year foralmost 3 weeks. Relax and Care are guaranteed and you can enjoy all the available activities for the whole family. I particularly liked the gym and the sauna, as well as the tennis courts but also the minigolf and the windsurf centre with my son and friends. The restaurant is nice and the service is very good, especially Andrea from the restaurant (!). My wife also appreciated the care of the room waitresses and the latin american dances at the evenings. The beach is also well organized, even if the sea during the middle august week was not so clean this year. Maybe it's worth while a check by the coast autohorities to understand the reason of some brown spots and foam in the water. The animation for youngs should be improved, in order for 12-15 aged to meet eachother in a easier way through some more frequent organized activities. The pizzeria is also very nice.
Particularly appreciated the social media activation this year where you could have some advices of activities and tourism around the place.
It's perfectly located near the beautiful Castiglione della Pescaia that you can also reach by bike or in a 5 minute car ride but also very nice sightseeing can be made all around. This year we've been to Vetulonia and Parco della Maremma (fabolous!).
Improvements: SKY back, Ferragosto dinner was better last year, lock in the sauna, more wardrobe in the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fulvio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

It was our first time and we loved it! This is an amazing location and the hotel is just perfect. We considered our stay as value for money and we look forward to returning very soon. We definitely recommed this hotel to all sorts of clients, as it suits varied purposes (families with kids, couples).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savvas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Firstly, this is my 3rd visit to the resort, and I really love the area and the comodity of the resort. There are so many wonderful things about the resort especially for families. But I was also a little disappointed with some of the new things. There is no longer sky in the rooms so no longer can your children watch shows they desire in english or any other original launguage. The rooms are small, but i knew that before going and need some updating. The free internet never worked. The resaturant was great! the pool is wonderful and the beach service is nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teneil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Ah sheer bliss to book in, dump the baggage and head for the Med!!!

Well appointed rooms, fabulous restaurants, family entertainment and a gorgeous beach - no need to say more really...

But that it was a fabulous 3 night stay in a really family orientated environment which immediately set us at ease. Travelling as we did, grandparents with a family of four including 2 small children, is no mean feat - but having hotel , restaturant and grounds staff with an understanding of the needs of family counts for so much more than one would initially imagine!!

Relaxing was on the cards - no better way to do so than on a pristine white beach with umbrellas and loungers provided.

A terrific way for any family to holiday!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with doors opening onto a shaded garden - perfect way to start and end your day!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Riva del sole have everything you need for à perfect and relaxing holiday. The team behind the entertainment and miniclub where fantastic with the children. We really had the best stay during our two weeks!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simmande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castiglione Della Pescaia hotels
2.1 mi away
Roccamare Resort
Roccamare Resort
#12 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
411 reviews
6.4 mi away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#2 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
359 reviews
5.1 mi away
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
#3 of 5 in Punta Ala
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
La Bussola
La Bussola
#4 of 5 in Punta Ala
132 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#1 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
338 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gallia Palace Hotel Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva del Sole Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva del Sole Resort & SPA

Address: Localita Riva del Sole SNC, 58043, Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Castiglione Della Pescaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#2 Spa Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#5 Family Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
Price Range: $197 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva del Sole Resort & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the magic Maremman pine forest on a surface of 27 hectares, directly by the seashore and with a private beach of 600 meters. This is Riva del Sole, a pearl of the Tuscan Maremma. The complex is situated right in heart of an area that offers exceptionally interesting aspects on landscape, history, archaeology and culture. 4-star S Hotel, that is the very expression of the best hotel traditions of Tuscany, composed by 156 rooms, all with A/C, satellite TV, telephone, safe, minibar, hairdryer and all with balcony or terrace. The WiFi service is available in all public areas. The 3-star Residence is composed by 182 apartments divided in 3 different types: two-room apartments in two story buildings, three-room apartments and one-room studios on one level at the ground floor. Private beach, Rasena SPA with 3 swimming pools, one of which, with seawater and the beauty & massage center, tennis court, five aside football, water sports, 2 jogging paths (1250 mt snd 1500 mt), minigolf, ATM, shops, supermarket, restaurant, pizzeria, bar, wine shop, tobacconist, newspaper stand, hairdresser, first aid center, pharmacy, launderette and bicycle rental. Fully equipped conference rooms for meetings from 10 to 270 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Riva del Sole Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Del Sole Resort & Spa Hotel Castiglione Della Pescaia
Riva Del Sole Resort And Spa
Riva Del Sole Resort & SPA Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing