We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in the apartment section - great family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riva del Sole Resort & SPA
Certificate of Excellence
sollentuna
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Stayed in the apartment section - great family vacation”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in apartment type B and it was plenty of space though not renovated lately. Apartment is functional with kitchen, shower and two bedrooms, small TV and seating inside and outside.

The area is quite big and sealed off for traffic so it feels very safe for kids. The beach is very nice and you get two loungers and a parasol reserved for the whole week which is nice.

The pool area is great for swimming and for kids to play. Adjacent is a play ground and they also had a childrens club at 10-12 and 16-18 which our kids liked.

The area has a shop a pizzeria/grill (ok to eat at), full restaurant which we didn't try, small supermarket, shops, mingolf and bars.

In the evenings there were song and dance for the kids which was very ambitious and the kids loved it.

Prices in shops, bars and restaurants were lower than expected in my opinion.

There are a lot to see in Castiglione della pescaia which is only 2 kms away. If you have a car it is also close to vineyards and interesting small villages in the tuscan hills. Massa maritimo was a good excursion only 30-40 mins away. Magliano and Montiano can we also recommend.

If you travel south and need a place to stop. Be sure not to miss La Parrina close to Orbetello, an ancient vineyard with hotel, apartments and nice restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment type B on the top floor. Ground floor might be better with kids. Apartments a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flindmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    275
    75
    38
    22
See reviews for
373
183
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I've been here twice with my family. We have stayed in the bungalow, so I actually have no idea what the hotel is like.
The bungalows are built in the 1950's, but has a pretty fresh look. I think they were renovated a few years ago.
The bungalows has two bedrooms, a kitchen, bathroom and a fairly large living room.
There are good space between the bungalows, so it's nice and quiet. The area is car free. Perfect for the kids. The fact that the resort is located in a forest, gives you a nice cool shadow on hot days.
Very nice swimming pool area, with a great playground for kids.
The beach is pretty crowded, but at least you reserve a umbrella for your entire stay, so you don't have to go on a daily hunt for a good location on the beach.
The beach itself has perfect sand.
The resorts has 2-3 restaurants, a small food shop and some other small shops as well.
The only thing missing is internet access in the bungalows. A bit "old fashion" to have to go to the reception to get internet access.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SolidBison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in the self- catering bungalows on site. Whilst the hotel is 4* I would suggest the self-catering accommodation is 3*. The bungalow was spacious with 2 bedrooms, sitting dining area, kitchen, bathroom and patio area. Our bungalow was a 2 minute walk from the beach which was super. The main hotel, spa area, bars, restaurants and swimming pool were about a 10 minute walk through a pedestrian area. Bungalow set in a pine forest. Kitchen needs updating but adequate fro self-catering. On site supermarket well stocked with a nice selection of cold meats, cheese and bread, fresh fruit and vegetables and everyday essentials. Pool fantastic. Beautifully safe baby pool in a shaded area. Spa pool, Daily water aerobics. Gym beside pool Play park and kids mini-club. Grass area in shade with bean bags to lounge on. Cafe selling tea, coffee, soft drinks, salads and ice-lollies available at the pool side. Evening entertainment, baby dance every evening which my children really enjoyed. This ws followed by an evening family entertainment programme which included dance lessons and disco, games night etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south are quiet and closer to the beach. Rooms 1 - 10 are nearer the swimming pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in the self catering bungalow for 1 week in July 2012. On the whole we had a very good holiday. The hotel and self catering apartments/bungalow have a 'village' feel. The self catering facilities are in a pinewood forest, are quiet with the exception of crickets. The majority of the area is pedestrianised, safe and well maintained. The Hotel facilities can be quite a distance from some of the self catering bungalows, so if you have walking difficulties or very small kids, it may be worth requesting a self catering bungalow close to the main hotel. The beach is absolutely beautiful, although the bar, toilets etc. can be quite a distance. Hotel entertainment is geared towards small kids only. Great pools and onside supermarket. Restaurant grill bar on site very poor. No air conditioning in self catering bungalow. Weekly towel and bedding renewal not adequate. Kitchen and external painting of properties requires updating. Hotel 4 star,self catering 3 star

Room Tip: Sleep quality would be improved by air conditioning and extra pillows. Fans only in the room, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barravore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We enjoyed two weeks at the hotel, using it as somewhere to relax and as a base to explore the local area.

We opted for a superior room as we were travelling with our 18 month old daughter and thought the extra space would be useful - while we were comfortable, I would not have liked to have been in a smaller standard room even if it had just been me and my wife.

The room and bathroom were well cleaned, although there were lots of tiny ants running around near the balcony door and from time to time elsewhere in the room.

The shower was TOO SMALL for a hotel of this standard - on several occasions I caught the tap, leading to a rapid and unpleasant change in temperature. The plumbing also needs updating as the shower temperature varied as if affected by others in adjacent rooms using hot/cold water.

The bed was two singles made up as a double as is often the case in continental Europe - for us, we prefer a proper double.

The hotel's spa, including swimming pools, is a very modern and well maintained facility - definitely the hotel's best selling point. There are three pools (a warm paddling pool for kids, a freeform pool and a proper swimming pool) so everyone's interests are catered for. Most of the time there were adequate sunloungers - the only time we thought the area was overcrowded was over a bank holiday weekend, when we suspect a lot of non-residents use the facilities - we were there early June before the holiday season had really kicked off so don't know what the facility would be like later in the season.

The animation team deserve a positive mention - they were very friendly and were great with kids and also organised some adult activities, but never with any undue pressure to join in.

The breakfast was a good choice of fruits, cereal, pastries cold meats etc, well presented and fresh. Food at other times was good and the service was excellent but we felt lacked variety, so we chose to eat out a lot of the time.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bad_u_turn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This place exceeded my expectations and we did not want to leave. The hotel is comfortable and quite and really provided a great experience. It is very kid friendly, but not kid noisy. I will go again next year. We loved the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Great place, not pretentious, but comfortable, relaxed and incredibly quite at the beginning of June. The beach was nice and the service very good, the warm swimming pool was great for the late afternoon, since it started to be cloudy and the sea was too wavy, the spa was even better to conclude our day. Rooms are not the most luxurious type, but have everything and are perfectly clean, the only problem is that the service apparently do not understand the meaning of the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door. It happened both days of our stay and since we were there to recover and relax it was not nice to be awaken by the room service. I hope it was jut bad luck, apart from this I strongly recommend the place and would go back there tomorrow, if I could.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliviero80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castiglione Della Pescaia hotels
5.1 mi away
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
#3 of 5 in Punta Ala
642 reviews
6.4 mi away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#2 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
336 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roccamare Resort
Roccamare Resort
#14 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Gallia Palace Hotel Relais & Chateaux
6.4 mi away
Baglioni Resort Cala del Porto
1.6 mi away
Hotel L'Approdo
Hotel L'Approdo
#8 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva del Sole Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva del Sole Resort & SPA

Property: Riva del Sole Resort & SPA
Address: Localita Riva del Sole SNC, 58043, Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Castiglione Della Pescaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#2 Spa Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
#5 Family Hotel in Castiglione Della Pescaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva del Sole Resort & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the magic Maremman pine forest on a surface of 27 hectares, directly by the seashore and with a private beach of 600 meters. This is Riva del Sole, a pearl of the Tuscan Maremma. The complex is situated right in heart of an area that offers exceptionally interesting aspects on landscape, history, archaeology and culture. 4-star S Hotel, that is the very expression of the best hotel traditions of Tuscany, composed by 156 rooms, all with A/C, satellite TV, telephone, safe, minibar, hairdryer and all with balcony or terrace. The WiFi service is available in all public areas. The 3-star Residence is composed by 182 apartments divided in 3 different types: two-room apartments in two story buildings, three-room apartments and one-room studios on one level at the ground floor. Private beach, Rasena SPA with 3 swimming pools, one of which, with seawater and the beauty & massage center, tennis court, five aside football, water sports, 2 jogging paths (1250 mt snd 1500 mt), minigolf, ATM, shops, supermarket, restaurant, pizzeria, bar, wine shop, tobacconist, newspaper stand, hairdresser, first aid center, pharmacy, launderette and bicycle rental. Fully equipped conference rooms for meetings from 10 to 270 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Riva del Sole Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Del Sole Resort & Spa Hotel Castiglione Della Pescaia
Riva Del Sole Resort And Spa
Riva Del Sole Resort & SPA Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing