We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

La Cantina del Porto
Ranked #45 of 420 Restaurants in Cesenatico
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

Very picturesque location on a quay in the middle of many other fish restaurants. Standard service. We chose cold mixed seafood to share which was huge and with lots of different fish, octopus,squid,calamari, prawns in shell etc. We followed this with mixed grilled fish again to share. Huge portion but fish not identifiable except red mullet and sardine so some explanation might have helped. Nice breadsticks,crackers instead of the usual dry bread! Overall ok - helped by the stunning location but would say slightly overpriced.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank kingclau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 547 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2017

Very good fish restaurant. We had the €38 four course menu which included a pasta with a fantastic seafood sauce and mixed grilled fish. Large portions served by an efficient, helpful , English speaking waitress.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaveNKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

This was honestly one of the best dining experiences we have ever had, to us it felt like the epitome of Italian hospitality.

We arrived a little later in the evening after browsing many other restaurants and shown to a lovely table for two. The place was full of locals enjoying proper family style dining. We ordered our meal somewhat in reverse, opting for pasta first followed by a mixed platter of salami and Parma ham. All of the food was perfect, fresh, and prepared with care.

The head waiter is what really made our evening special though, once he found out that we were from Scotland he said it was very important that I try his beer, which was indeed excellent! When it came to dessert the waiter told us what they had prepared, as the desserts change daily. There were three options which we had great difficulty in choosing between as they all sounded amazing. The waiter obviously sensed our dilemma as when he brought out our choices he brought all three desserts on a serving platter for no extra cost!

To round out the night we were offered complimentary aperitifs, consisting of limoncello, a banana liqueur, and a licorice liqueur, all of which were served in bottles that you helped yourself to. As we were the last ones out that evening we spent a little more time with the staff and shared a round of Italian schnapps to toast the evening.

We were only in Cesenatico for a short while and this was the last night of our trip, ever since then we have longed to return and visit this special little place again. Can not recommend this enough, you will have a great time!

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Saul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2015 via mobile

Due to many visitors we only found a table inside. Service was friendly but a bit rough. Plates with fish and other food were huge.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank FrankGeisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franca M, Direttore at La Cantina del Porto, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2015

Dear guests , thank you for your review. We hope that even though the restaurant was full, have appreciated the quality of our cuisine and our raw materials of excellent choice. Best regards, Franca & Staff Cantina del Porto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Picturesque environment: heart of the old Cesenatico, old canal, small keel-boats outside, Italian style and chic and no-imitate climate. Inside? Old tavern. Genuine style. With many historic and vintage artefacts and details. Feast for eyes and soul. Very climatic. For body, [stomach rather :)]? Perfect prepared fishes and sea foods. We've taken Fishes Plate For Two - it was perfect choice and same sea foods like starter.
The food was incredible. Ordinary fishes was prepared in absolutely amazing way. This supper was for us a great pleasure. Additional pleasure? The waiter. Amiable man ("20 years here in waiters") made a unforgettable show when disjointed fishes next-to our table. Earlier he arounded us on Cantina and told stories about artefacts and place. Very friendly and genial waiter.
If Y will be in Cesenatico in the evening - have to visit this place for fish supper.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina del Porto also viewed

Cesenatico, Province of Forli-Cesena
Cesenatico, Province of Forli-Cesena
 
Cesenatico, Province of Forli-Cesena
Cesenatico, Province of Forli-Cesena
 
Cesenatico, Province of Forli-Cesena
Cesenatico, Province of Forli-Cesena
 

Been to La Cantina del Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing