We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #68 of 263 Hotels in Cervia
Stockholm, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had once again a wonderful time at lovely, family owned hotel Excelsior. Very nice personnel, very good food and lovely surroundings. Cervia is a lovely village at the beach. Peaceful and beautiful with lovely walks, a train station from where you can go to for example Rimini, San Marino, Ravenna and Bologna. We can strongly recommend the hotel and Cervia! The hotel is really good value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele T, Owner at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Elenor,
Thank you very much, you're really so kind...!
We hope to see you soon in Cervia for your next holidays at Hotel Excelsior.
Best regards from the entire Excelsior team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    35
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
67
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allerød
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We will be back, as we did this year. Family atmosphere and a fantastic service. We are a family - 12 persons, grandparrents, daughters, son in law and grandchildren from 4 to 18 years old. We all enjoyed ouer stay. Food, rooms, pool and the staff, all of it were perfekt.

Best regards from " The Hansen family"

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hexcelsior, socio/legale rappresentante at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Hansen family,
thank you very much for choosing Hotel Excelsior for your holidays.
We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially that you found good food, excellent service and the staff friendly.
We look forward to welcoming all your family again for your next visit to Cervia.
Best wishes from the entire Excelsior team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay in the hotel.. The room with a balcony was nice and clean. Food was great and lots of choices at breakfast buffet..The pool was perfect with the relaxing warm water. It's just a minute walk away from the beach. I also enjoyed going around with their bicycles.. All the staffs are friendly and easy to approach including the owners.. I must say that we were treated like a FAMILY.. Exceptional hotel, food, service and people..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chattyvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Uppsala Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Family atmosphere, lovely food, clean rooms and a fantastic service.

Room Tip: Rooms to the see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elenor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I've been to this Hotel a lot of times, actually for a seasonal weeklong work in the city nearby, but also a perfect excuse for a short holiday. First thing which impressed me is the kindness of the owners, i've been living in Italy for 5 years and i've never met such gentle family like them. The foods are delectable, always abundant specially breakfast. Courteous staff, always available to help in a friendly but professional way. They have complete facilities, clean and comforting rooms with very relaxing pool area, and just a few meters away from the beach and shops. Can't wait to be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oddhdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed there for a few relaxing days.
The atmosphere is cosy and relaxing, far away from the big cold hotels that usually rise on such places. The ownership was always friendly and careful to our needs, and the service always precise and on time.
Our room was tidy, clean and spacious, the bed was comfortable, the wardrobe capable enough, with the plus of the safebox to lock our valuables during the days spent at the beach. The floor was quiet and we could sleep very well even if the room was faced on the roadside. The bathroom was functional and complete, with towels changed everyday if asked.
The parking space was almost full when we got there but there's plenty of space around and along the way that leads to the hotel, so no particular problems on this side too.
We hadn't a chance to use the swimming pool as we spent our days on the beach. They have an agreement with one of the "bagni" owners to use the changing rooms on the beach, useful when having kids... Nonetheless, they have a nice big pool with extendable cover to use with bad weather

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marshall0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Hotel Excelsior offers you a perfect holiday whether you travel alone, with friends or family. The hotel is family managed which gives a very relaxed but still very professional atmosphere. The staff is always smiling, polite and helpfull doing their outmost to give everyone a pleasant stay.
The rooms and other facilities are spotless clean and looked after in every detail. And every year the owners renovate or add some new features to the hotel, which already includes a nicely heated pool, sauna and steam bath. If you prefer the beach you can get their in very few minutes, just go out of the hotel and turn right and you are almost there.
If you are on a diet, then the hotel might not be the place for you, because you are sure of gaining weight how much you try not to. Not because the food is unhealthy but because you cannot stop eating all the delicous courses the chef will put in front of you for every meal from breakfast to lunch to dinner, but seriuosly isn't this a part of being on holdiday enjoying life in good company, good food and good wine?
If you need something more than relaxing by the pool or at the beach, you will be able to visit the hill sides, take trips to Rimini, Ravenna, San Marino, Venice and Florence. Or just go shopping in nice boutiques or at the local market every Thursday (a personal favorite of mine) During the summer season there will also being additional evening markets with local produces.
All together I can do nothing but recommend a stay at this fabulous hotel - and after visiting more than 40 years how can I be wrong?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piuzza_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cervia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#58 of 263 in Cervia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosenblatt
Hotel Rosenblatt
#16 of 263 in Cervia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#64 of 263 in Cervia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#71 of 263 in Cervia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#135 of 263 in Cervia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#126 of 263 in Cervia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Viale Roma 104, 48015, Cervia, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ravenna > Cervia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 263 Hotels in Cervia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing