We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small hotel in Lake Como” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great small hotel in Lake Como”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a nice little boutique type hotel in the middle of the action. Walk across the street to the lakefront, beautiful location! Room was very nice, bathroom was updated and adequate. The staff was super nice, very helpful with any questions we had. Breakfast was good, just enough. Train station not too far. Overall, a memorable stay.

Room Tip: I had a great room with a small balcony overlooking restaurant. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaMCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBERGO_CENTRALE, Direttore at Hotel Centrale, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review, for me it's very important to know what our guests think about of the hotel centrale, so I can give all the time the best service to all our guest.

In the certain that I can have you here again like our best guest, this to have personally the possibility to give to you a little present

have a nice day

Giorgio Dugoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    101
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
76
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I have to rate this hotel. I got a single room with a double bed. It wasn't very spacious, but it made up for that with it's charm. There is a restaurant in the lobby area, and the staff for the whole place was terrific. They spoke English very well...I is very close to the lake. There are hop on and hop off buses you can get the tickets for at the lobby. Unfortunately it was raining and I never saw the bus before I left. This is a very family friendly establishment. Highly recommend!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SassyArmyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBERGO_CENTRALE, Direttore at Hotel Centrale, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
dear friend, I thank you for your review, is easy for me to respond to this review, what can I say ..... what we try to do is to give our customers the opportunity to spend a few days in a youthful and informal , our boys in the restaurant speak English and our menus are translated into 3 languages​​, and most importantly ....... do an excellent cuisine.

I hope I have the chance to have her as our guest, so you can personally greet and give her a small gift.

a warm greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cislago, Italy
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a great unpretentious hotel in the center of Cernobbio, about 200 m from Lake Como. The rooms have been refurbished, the bathrooms have been redone and updated from plastic shower stalls to large real porcelain showers. The staff is young and friendly. The restaurant is really good--even when I am not staying at the Hotel, I have never been disappointed. There is private free parking for guests of the hotel and clients of the restaurant. The beds are large and comfortable. TVs are new flat screens with great reception and international channels. There is alot of action on the weekend, you must book in advance. I've been staying here on and off over 6-7 years and I have to say that this hotel only gets better.

Room Tip: Stay on the backside, not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbaraGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBERGO_CENTRALE, Direttore at Hotel Centrale, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review, I appreciate that every year you come you find that we have made some improvement, for me it's very important to know what our guests thimk about yhe hotel centrale and if you find something to change or to modify please I want to have some suggestion from you.

Hope to have here again like our best guest/friend and have personally the possibility to give to you a little present.

have a nice sunday

Giorgio Dugoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for work .
I booked on internet. Expensive for the rooms. Staff not friendly. Only receptionist ok. If you went for breakfast after 9:00 the staff was angry. They have restaurantand it is noisy at night from it. If i go to Cernobbio again I look for another hotel with more facilities, service and not angry staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
551 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Albergo Centrale is the happening spot in Cernobbio. In their restaurant, you will find hotel guests and all the local neighbors celebrating, dating and enjoying. We were staying at the hotel across the street when we landed at the restaurant and moved to the hotel. It's clean, easy and fun. Location is excellent for walking 6 minutes to the Ferry or easy bus or taxi to Como.

It is small and quiet in Cernobbio with terrific shopping and wonderful restaurants. You will find it very quiet if you are coming from a big city. The one way traffic through the town makes it even more different from the push of the other cities.

Room Tip: I prefer the back side of the hotel so as not to hear the restaurant during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stylelust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBERGO_CENTRALE, Direttore at Hotel Centrale, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your marvelous review, I'm happy that you found a place, and in particular the persons who work inside the ALBERGO CENTRALE, that feel you the atmosphere and the happiness of our guests, here you can enjoy your stay in Cernobbio. Hope to see you again here and welcoming you like we usualy do......like a friend.

Take care

Giorgio Dugoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

A great base for visiting the sites on Lake Como.An easy walk to the ferry stop.The hotel restaurant had a lively atmosphere. Nice staff and reasonable prices.
We thought Cernobbio was a good touring base- not as busy as Como itself, but within easy reach of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBERGO_CENTRALE, Direttore at Hotel Centrale, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you dear Guest, our intent it's to make feel the guests who stay in our hotel like at home, with a friendly staff and an informal atmosphere and at the same time have a good quality of the service and a good food in our restaurant. As you have told the albergo Centrale is a perfect place were stay a couple of day and visit our Lake.

In the hope to see you again, i thank you again to made your review, because it's very important to know what people think about us and in case made some improvement

Take care

Giorgio Dugoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Went to bologna last week! Stayed here and had a great time in Bologna, a truly wonderful city. A nice breakfast and the hotel is right next to san nettuno piazza, which has a great hustle bustle to it. If you take a right and a left from the hotel you get to independence road, and from there, I recommend going to Zamboni, studentville. Great city and a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: 4th floor and a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBERGO_CENTRALE, Direttore at Hotel Centrale, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
dear guest thank you to made your review but I think to do it at the wrong hotel, we are in Cernobbio not in Bologna.

thank you again and hope to see you in your next holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
0.2 mi away
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#6 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#4 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regina Olga Hotel
Regina Olga Hotel
#7 of 7 in Cernobbio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.1 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 33 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Property: Hotel Centrale
Address: Via Regina 39, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Centrale is a completely refurbished three star property built in 1906; a turn of the century villa located in the picturesque setting of Cernobbio on Lake Como 50 meters from the lake front. The hotel features 33 modern rooms equipped with free wifi, air-conditioning, central heating, direct dial telephone, private bathroom, satellite TV, minibar, safe, hairdryer, and bathroom amenities. 22 Classic Rooms are located in the two storey 19th century villa and 11 new Deluxe Rooms are situated in the newly restored wing, originally featuring one of the oldest travel inns in the centre of Cernobbio. Hotel services include, a large complimentary onsite car park, bar, meeting space up to 60 seats, 24 hour reception. Hotel Centrale is located 10 minutes from the A9 “Como Lago” highway exit, 40 minutes from Milan Malpensa Airport and 5 minutes from the Swiss border. Nearby legendary villas such as Villa d' Este and Villa Erba to name a few are at a few minutes walking distance. The hotel is an ideal stop over when visiting the area’s beautiful landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Centrale Cernobbio
Hotel Centrale Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing