We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable...”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
monaco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievable...”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We recently married here and found Villa D'Este simply amazing. The hotel and the surroundings are breathtaking particularly on a beautiful day. The staff were generally helpful with the wedding preparations although there is not a lot included by the hotel for the celebration itself. They give you contact numbers but you have to organise it yourself. On the day of the wedding the staff were very helpful and accommodating. Food and service fabulous! Rooms could be updated without losing their charm but this is easily overlooked as soon as you step onto your balcony (particularly if you have a lake view).

Truly amazing place but the budget is not for the faint hearted!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieAW_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,027
    132
    56
    23
    12
See reviews for
221
611
28
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Villa D'Este is just lovely!! The ambiance is from a time long ago. It was so nice to finally visit this historical "gem". The natural beauty of the lake, gardens and mountains in this magical location is beyond breathtaking. The service was impeccable and the food was delicious. The sounds of Dino Siani, the pianist will stay with me forever - so very enchanting. I hated to leave but I will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milandede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

If you miss staying here you really have missed something extraordinary.

First of all, Villa D'Este has an old world charm and craftsmanship that is breathtaking. The grounds, gardens, sculptures, mosaics are amazing and immaculately kept.

Second, the staff, to a person, could not be kinder.  From the moment you arrive, you feel as if you are a guest in the home of an extraordinarily gracious host.

Third, they have so many nice and welcoming touches.  The breakfast that they offer guests daily as part of the room rate is wonderful, in both the selection, quality and ambiance.  You are greeted in your room with a chilled bottle of Vino Spumante.  There are fresh flowers daily in both your room and your bathroom.  Cookies were delivered to the room with a lovely note from the General Manager, Danilo Zacchetti. Nightly, with the perfect turndown service, they not only replenish anything you have used in your room, but they leave you mineral water and heavenly chocolates.  They have a wonderfully talented man playing piano nightly on the outside lake terrace that adds to the romance of this magnificent hotel.

Forth, the food is indescribable.  The first night, tired from travel, we ordered room service and discovered they have a pasta of the day, in our case pasta with clams.  It was superb.  Whatever you do, do not miss eating dinner in the Veranda Restaurant.  There is no doubt that I will remember the meal always.  The originality, the flavor pairings, the presentation, the service were all truly amazing.  They do require jacket and ties, but there is no unpleasant attitude here or anywhere on the property.

Some people have pointed out the cost.  I would start by saying that it is commensurate with other places of this caliber and what they provide is far more.  I love to travel and travel extensively.  Someone told me this is one of the best hotels in the world.  I could not agree more.  Treat yourself to Villa D'Este.  You will not forget it.     

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We returned again this year to Villa d'Este and were once again very impressed: A wonderful setting on the water with views all around, attentive staff and well-appointed rooms. We found that the food (in both restaurants this time) was more interesting and better tasting than in the past. As for our dog: she is always treated well by the staff, can swim in the lovey blue water near the boat dock and gets a 'dog amenities package' each time we arrive. We truly enjoy this hotel and feel that it will always remain a special place worth paying a bit more for.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingwithdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
378 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Undoubtedly one of the great hotel experiences in the world. The dated furniture and general old world charm is not for everybody, but this is also good news. It guarantees a fantastically sophisticated and stylish crowd. Great that the dress code is enforded. Easily accessible from Milan airports or by car from anywhere else. Beautiful Italy at its best.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

As noted, the setting is fabulous. We drove to the entry and had to look for someone to assist us and guide us to check-in. Off on the wrong foot ... Checked in then was introduced to the $30 egg salad sandwich for lunch. I expected expensive, but this just took things too far. Checked with the concierge about things for us to do in the area (with our 15year old son) ... it was like he hit the replay button on a recorder, and that was all he cared to provide us with. Didn't ask us any questions ... didn't really give us much to go on ... but that's ok, we've traveled plenty and found our own way and fun, so did just that, mostly away from the hotel ... I just expected more from a hotel with this reputation. I didn't once hear "How is your stay going?" etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Duck1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Take someone you love. On our first morning I woke up to gasps from my girlfriend. She is not asthmatic nor is she prone to gazing at the wonder that is early morning me. She was stood at the entrance to the balcony of our suite genuinely moved by what must be one of the most beautiful of hotel locations in Europe. Everything about Villa d'Este is really very good but the location and the service are stunning.
The view from the lake facing rooms in the main hotel building across the water to the village and mountains opposite moves from a lilac tinged sepia in the morning to the most vivid Italian palette in the early afternoon and slowly back again. Do not settle for any other vieweven if it means taking in a lodger.
In the morning the hotel is gently nudged into a shuffling action by staff who seem honestly happy to be there with you. They give the lie to the idea that wonderful service needs either to involve belittling formality or intrusive chummyness. You may be royalty, you maybe the guest of a Mr G Clooney house party you may be a well heeled touritst passing through. All will be treated with an elegance and ease not seen since Mr Gatsby's last shindig.
Remember to take an evening wardrobe pitched at the Scandanavian Royal Wedding Reception end of the market, not because you will be looked down upon if you don't but because you will rue the loss of an opportunity to waft and glide through drinks, dinner (and to be honest more drinks) to the accompaniament of a gentle collective contentment radiated by your fellow guests.
Few experiences like this remain in the world. The Orient Express probably. A balloon ride over the Masai Mara maybe. Christmas at Claridges possibly. Take someone you love and tell them that you do when your there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank No0dle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,016 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
12.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
811 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
751 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Property: Villa d'Este
Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing