We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent luxury resort in a refined historic setting”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Villa d’Este is a renown five star resort in Chernobbio, on lake Como.

The main villa was built in 16th century by a Catholic Cardinal, who acquired the land from a monastic order, whose monastery still stands in the gardens. Since then the ownership passed between several renowned aristocratic families including the Pino spouses, Caroline of Brunswick, and it was briefly rented by a Russian empress.

The villa was reconstructed several times and therefore boasts the finest art and architecture from the five centuries of Italian history. Its considerable gardens are also a work of art, comprising many unique landscape patterns and over five centuries’ old trees.

On the hill side overlooking the lake there are what appear to be the ruins of an ancient fortress. Yet these were artificially constructed in 19th century as a gift to General Domenico Pino, famous for his role in Spanish and Russian campaigns during Napoleonic Wars, to represent the scenery he was fighting on.

The hotel actually comprises several villas, with two major buildings that house most guest rooms and a few smaller dwellings to be rented as private villas.

All rooms are designed distinctly from one another. Most are decorated with antique furniture and valuable art. And of course many offer the magnificent views over the lake. Most standard rooms are relatively small, but those of the junior suite type and beyond possess the true aristocratic grandeur.

The main restaurant offers traditional Italian delicacies, prepared to among the best standards in north Italy, and indeed in the world. Their head chef used to cook for Pope John Paul II. Indeed, in my experience their risottos were probably the best I ever tried.

Such magnificent historic appeal and the modern luxury are combined in an extraordinarily pleasant setting on lake Como. For these reasons, Villa d’Este became a favourite of many rich and famous individuals.

This sophistication comes at a price, and a rather considerable one. The junior suite would set you back about a 1000 Euros a day in high season. Nevertheless, a few days vacation here is probably worth the money. And if can’t afford the stay, it’s still worth visiting the outstanding restaurant, which will also permit exploring the brilliant territory of the villa.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank constantino3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

823 - 829 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2010

Amazing expereince. Exceptional property, staff and environment. The floating pool, borrowed boat to travel to Belagio. It simply can't be better than this. We love to travel, and enjoy the best of the best. This is one of the few places in the world which we plan to return. If you can do this, try to pull off a visit here, as it will be an effort in creating a memory of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJHanold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

The Villa D’Este was voted the ‘Best Hotel in the World’ sometime recently apparently, but I am not entirely sure why – for me there are others of this genre which do this better. We stayed at the very end of the season & perhaps thats why I was not overwhelmed, but although the hotel is very nice, and in a fantastic location, I was hoping for more than it delivered.

The breakfast buffet was OK – the restaurant was partially closed both in the morning and evening (I think because the hotel was not full), but I was surprised that tables were being dragged around behind us and waiters shouting to each other whilst the breakfast was ongoing. We also ate in the hotel in the evenings and although the food was fine, it was most definitely not excellent. I also experienced the worst Martini ever in the bar. Our room was reasonable, with a good view over the lake & mosaics.

However, I see other people give it excellent feedback, so perhaps it was just when I visited. The hotel was about to close for the winter, and I certainly got the impression that they could not wait, which was a shame. I would advise avoiding the end of season, and perhaps it is better during the summer. Overall, I was disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sparklerhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

This was my fourth trip to Lake Como and I love it more and more each visit. The hotel is so beautiful and everyone is so lovely. We always stay in one of the lakeview Junior Suites and it's perfect -- nice and roomy with lots of seating and a perfect balcony overlooking the lake. The service is always perfection. The concierge is so helpful and takes care of everything before we get there. We usually eat breakfast in the room but this trip we went down to breakfast and it was amazing- so much to choose from it's overwhelming. The restaurant at the hotel is one of my favorites anywhere - everything is always perfect and so beautifully presented. This is the perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

The Villa d' Este is one of the most amazing places you can visit. The location is very special, the rooms are great, the gardens are superb and make sure you walk around in the different marked routes. The facilities are great. The personnel immaculate. It was really what we expected it to be and more.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cconst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

It came as no surprise to me that Villa D'Este was voted the number one hotel in the world in 2009!

I last stayed here 19 years ago with my mother. It was fantastic then, and is fantastic now!

Everything is superb with this hotel. From the friendly check in staff, to the pro valet, to the professional wait staff, and to the food. Our suite overlooked the lake and was above the hotel. And what a view! Unobstructed! It was all red and large enough to play soccer inside! It was spotless and comfortable.

The facilities are excellent for Como. The indoor pool, gym, beautiful gardens, and of course, the infamous floating pool. Staff are attentive and unobtrusive.

Food was of a high standard. Breakfast is plentiful with a nice buffet spread. Lunch at the informal area by the pool sported the best club sandwiches this side of California. And dinner by the lake in the formal restaurant is one of the most romantic in the world!... What always amazed me was the sweet classical music that wafted up to our balcony and encapsulated us at dinner as the sun was setting. Is anything more magical than this?

Go, go, go! Even if this means you have to foresake part of your retirement or bonus, just go! You won't regret it. It is truly one of THE grand hotels in the world. A must do!

ps: and don't forget to rent the private boat that takes you around the lake (the nice boat driver has been with the hotel for nearly 40 years!)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Titillator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Having stayed at the Villa D'este it makes most other hotels pale into insignificance.
The setting on the lake, the floating pool actually on the lake, the breakfasts on the terrace and the most attentive staff ever make for a truly memorable stay. Excellent retaurants great food and service facing one of the most beautiful lakes in the world - what could be better?
The attention to detail is excellent and the professionalism of the staff is way above that normally encountered in top five star hotels.
Yes it is not cheap - in fact is it very expensive. However if you want the best and are prepared to pay for it then go stay and enjoy.
Only criticism is the lunch time pool menu - ordered a chicken sandwich that quite frankly for the cost
would have bought a meal elsewhere, was poorly produced on plain bread with just a few crisps on the side. Could well have been better!
However, overall this hotel is one of the world's finest and we hope to return again to enjoy once more.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickylionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,132 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
893 reviews
8.7 mi away
Filario Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range: $635 - $1,100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing