We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“just had lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“just had lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were treated to lunch here by our boss in the UK, a day trip to Milan and lunch at Villa d'Este. The weather was perfect, the setting is magnificent, lunch was beautiful...take a walk around the grounds and get some lovely photo's!...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyddfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    105
    52
    21
    12
See reviews for
176
522
22
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Villa d'Este was wonderful from the first moment we arrived till we reluctantly had to leave. The staff are so friendly & helpful & treat you like royalty. The hotel grounds are spectacular & well worth devoting plenty of time to wander around & take them all in. Both restaurants served excellent food, all in all our stay was a very memorable one & one we hope to do again in the near future

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are more expensive but the garden view rooms also have a great outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnfromoz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Villa d'Este really is worth every penny you pay. The hotel and grounds are jaw dropping. Our room was very spacious and luxurious. The service is great. The amenities are wonderful. It is a small fortune to stay but you will not be disappointed. It delivers in every way as it should. There is a reason it is famous.

On another note, the food is overpriced so plan on dining out a few times if staying. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, but it is included in the room rate so no worries there.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Executive Double which was very spacious and luxurious. Plenty or room for two and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Property was beautiful as I expected, grounds excellent, but rooms were very simple, I would say cheap, quality of bed was poor, rooms were very small and poorly decorated, in room I felt like 3 star hotel, spa was great but pool was floating and I couldn't use pool, felt sick, it was little windy so pool was moving too much. Main restaurant was great, but food at Grill was average.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruzannaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Villa d'Este is a grand old Hotel that everybody should be lucky enough to enjoy. The location, grounds, rooms, service and food is all top of its class. At dusk on the lakefront patio we had wonderful drinks listening to the most amazing piano....brought my lady to tears.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDBrooks92660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

First, the property is amazing and the fine dining restaurant is vey good, but not superb. However, if you prefer extreme formal dining and staff constantly pouring a tad more wine, then you will love the service. Much of the setting for drinks and dinner is set to see who is dining and not turned out the windows for the incredible views. We dine and eat at both 5 star hotels and Michelin rated restaurants, but here there is a new level of pretense.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KipL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My third time there and I always hate leaving. Classic old school european luxury. Everything is top notch from the suites to the food. Awesome location, just over the border from Lugano and set on beautiful Lake Como. During our stay, Billy Joel was there and put on an impromptu piano playing concert for a group of us. Rent a boat on the lake and go have lunch down at one of the little lakeside restaurants. A place everyone should visit in their lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
13.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 31 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Property: Villa d'Este
Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing