We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly beautiful location overlooking Lake Como, great gardens, Service. Truly memorable.”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
498 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful location overlooking Lake Como, great gardens, Service. Truly memorable.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed for several days at Villa D'Este and it was truly a wonderful experience. The location is perfect, on the western shore of Lake Como in Cernobbio. Its grounds extend up the mountain, including these fascinating gardens, sculptures, and a man made replica of Roman ruins made by the original owner's wife to keep her General husband amused. It's a bit of a hike up there, but the views and photos from up there of the Villa are stunning.

The food in the Veranda restaurant is excellent, and the breakfast buffets are very extensive and quite good.

The room had a balcony overlooking Lake Como, and a separate room in a suite arrangement. Very spacious, with a great balcony to sit on, overlooking the floating pool on the lake.

Music in the evening on the Veranda, a nice bar, I could go on and on. A truly special place.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the Queen's Pavillion, with a balcony on the water side. The others aren't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzzzdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,027
    132
    56
    23
    12
See reviews for
221
611
28
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you are willing to splurge a bit to enjoy lunch in a superb setting, I recommend the terrace at Villa d'Este. The service is very professional albeit a bit brusque and the food is very good. At the end of your meal, you receive lovely petit fours to enjoy with your coffee and they bring out fresh cotton candy for the children just for the fun of it! Just expect to pay for the privilege (about 100 euros per person). After lunch, enjoy a stroll around the beautiful gardens which are normally closed to the public. A wonderful souvenir of our stay at Lake Como!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parisfornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Perfect places still exist in this world. I don't think that you can find better place on the lake Como; it is superb, but cosy and lovely. Rare combination. One of the best places to enjoy nature and hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DmitriMsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Villa d'Este is a very special place, far more than a hotel. Every view and every turn has a special surprise. Everything was so perfect, it's difficult to express. Villa d'Este also has an understated elegance in it decor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We have just returned from four wonderful nights at the Villa d'Este and I will never forget the experience we had!!!!

We had booked a junior suite, and when we checked in it was well after midnight, I was not that happy with our suite and speaking with reception the next morning they sorted everything out with no problem whilst having a couple of different options. We ended up with a fantastic suite in the Queens Building with a large terrace which was exactly what I wanted!!!!!! Thank you to Christiano at reception for his excellent service.

Breakfast was wonderful every morning looking at that view, what a way to start the day!

We ate twice at the Grill which was great and the service was very good.

We were travelling with our 9 year old daughter and not once did we feel that she was not welcome!!!

We hired a charter boat to take us to Bellagio which I would highly recommend.

The village of Cernobbio is absolutely gorgeous, some cute shops, had my hair wash and blow dried at the hairdressers, and some great restaurants.

The grounds are breath taking. Just to be able walk around and take it in makes you feel like you are visiting the grounds of a famous landmark, which I suppose it is??? Security does stop anybody but guests from coming to just have a look, which does make it very private!

Yes, it's expensive but this is not a hotel the Villa d'Este is an experience!!!!!

Room Tip: If you afford it a suite with lake views and a large terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

There is no place in the US, or few in the world, which can match the elegance, history, and location of this remarkable Hotel. It simply oozes luxury and classic style. The lake views and gardens/estate grounds are beautiful. While the grandeur of the hotel takes you back to the centuries of its celebrated history, it's in great condition.

Our room was on an upper floor (318) and had a wonderful lake view. The buffet breakfast is great, but we found ourselves simply opening our windows for the lake view and and enjoying a continental breakfast in our room, and repeating for cocktails or a glass of wine at the end of the day.

The Grill and the main dining room serve great choices and the service is impeccable.

The complimentary minibar is stuffed with snacks and many beverage choices and replenished on demand. Room service is quick. We never waited for ice more than 5 minutes.

Villa D'Este is very expensive, but I have to admit worth it.

Nearby Cernobbio is a charming little village with water taxi service to several other stops on Lake Como. The city of Como offers very little upscale shopping and for the most part has not much charm. But Bellagio is 180 degrees literally and figuratively speaking.

Room Tip: Upper floor, lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel, such a treat! We stayed here for our honeymoon as couldn't have been better... Even thought it was over €1,000 a night it was well worth the splurge, felt very special... Breakfast was amazing!!! And wow the views, in the evening it was lovely relaxing on the terrace listening to the piano... The building is stunning!! And the walk up through the hills is a lovely way to start the day. You can hire a boat to go to the near by areas, which were all wonderful. We did a day trip to Milan but looking back wish we had stayed put. Will be returning! Sister hotel in Florence villa d'masa is also amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lydie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,016 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
12.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
811 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
751 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Property: Villa d'Este
Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing