We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and special”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

One of the great hotels with service and quality reputation that is well deserved. There must be an army of people behind the scenes that makes everything appear seamless and perfect. For example you never smell food cooking or see laundry or food deliveries. You're never disturbed in your room by service workers. Bed linen is real linen and changed every day. Yes, wildly expensive for some things (€120 blow dry, boat hire 5 times the price of the village) but otherwise you get what you pay for. Beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clontarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We ended our 2 weeks of vacationing in Italy by spending 3 days vacationing with the Italians in the true lap of luxury. What a spectacular contrast this hotel provided for us road weary travelers. The service is amazing.
The setting is just stunning, and we could hardly pull ourselves away from the pool set IN the lake.
The hotel arranged a boat tour to Bellagio that was delightful. Don't miss it. The drinks and dominos at sunset were enhanced by the gentleman playing piano in a tuxedo outside. Just
delightful in every way.
The only comment I have is regarding the actual food. It's expensive which is to be expected. However, for the price some of the lunch items were not that good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melody m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

For me one of the best places on earth! Sometimes not the best weather but grate position and fantastic place to relax. Fantastic food. Nice swimmingpool. Desserts are n.1. The little castles over the hotel are very nice for jogging

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrTim67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have never experienced a hotel simultaneously so supremely luxurious and incredibly relaxed and friendly. I don't expect I ever will. Every luxury resort should aspire to be this wonderful. The closest thing I've ever experienced is Sea Island and Sea Island lives solidly in the shadows of Villa D'Este. Every architectural and decorative detail is French opulence with the perfect amount of restraint. The staff is perfectly trained and both sophisticated and friendly. The guests are equally chic. Well dressed, well mannered and understated. I could have stayed here forever.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chele32789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We enjoyed our evening meal at the grill in a lovely setting and very attentive staff,it was a gorgeous experience.We enjoyed it so much that we decided to come back on the following lunchtime for a bar type snack before driving to Milan for our flight home.I ordered the beef sandwich which was extremely disappointing as it was presented on white bread.My wife ordered tomato salad with mozzarella which was also disappointing as the tomato was hard and unpleasant and tasteless.One thinly sliced hard whitish tasteless tomato,1 sliced ball of mozzarella and a sprig of basil and some green blobs which we think were dressing.My son ordered ham and cheese toastie which arrived cold and he had to re order.I don't believe this was up to the standard expected of a 5 star hotel .My daughter however had spaghetti carbonara which she enjoyed.The 4 bar meals plus several bottles of water and 3 coffees came to around 90 euros.Not even the beautiful views made up for our disappointment.

So in conclusion we had a return visit which sadly was spoiled by a poor bar style lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel has this rare quality to join together luxury at its best and very open and friendly atmosphere.
The site, the view, the building, the rooms are exceptional. This is transcended by the unique ambiance of the villegiatura.
Service is really at its best, never seen in Europe.

Room Tip: The Villa provides a jogging map which is actually an excellent guide to discover the whole site. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloetbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I can only comment on the experience of visiting the hotel for a day nothing else.
But this is one of those dream hotels that is frequented and has been frequented by the rich and famous; and it really is easy to see why. From Bette Davies to Presidents etc.
Steeped in the amazing history including it once being owned by the Princess of Wales (not Diana!) but Caroline of Brunswick (yes, I had to look her up too).... this hotel is just one of those places that you cannot begin to question the cost; it is simply about the experience of doing something out of this world if you are lucky and fortunate enough to be able to do so.
I of course would love to stay at the hotel, but at E450 starting price per room (or it could be per person?) and I think that may be out of season, it is over budget, sadly for me!
But if luck should change I would go back there and book myself immediately into any room; the cellar, I really wouldn't care... it's that good. There is every spa treatment you can think of... indoor swimming pools; outdoor swimming pool within the lake etc.
The scenery is breathtaking. Everything is about opulence. The staff are amazing and the restaurant a huge hit with my husband and I. Prime seats next to Lake Como... which isn't too difficult as there are many seating areas and different restaurants/bar areas. But expect to part with at least between E80-100 per head at lunch! Starters are about E20-25+; mains anything from E30,00+
It's just one of the those places that either you are fortunate enough to be a regular visitor and good for them too. Or if like me, if simply want to experience the grandeur for even a couple of hours then you will not be disappointed.
There is no pressure to eat lunch. You could simply pop in for coffee... but you will want more, believe me.
.

Room Tip: I woudl put excellent for everything if I could but as a none-resident guest that would be cheating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,132 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
838 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
896 reviews
15.0 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range: $648 - $1,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing