We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th anniversary splurge!!”
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our two nights here were well worth every penny! Our room was upgraded to one with a lake view...delightful. As if that wasn't enough...we were surprised with some chilled brut and delicious dessert treats for our anniversary. I am sure many people who stay here are used to the impeccable service, grounds, amenities and other extras associated with a five star hotel. We were not and enjoyed everything.

We took a train from Venice to Como and then the water ferry to Cernobbio. The ten minute walk to the hotel was pleasant. The concierge was helpful in helping us figure out howvto go to Bellagio for the day.

Breakfast was excellent including fresh squeezed orange juice, an omelet bar, amazing pastries, fresh breads, cheeses, meats, fruit, yogurt, etc. Something for everyone! The entire expetience was well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rnmph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my 7th visit to Villa d'Este - it is my favorite hotel in the world. It is so beautiful, the service is so perfect, the setting is gorgeous... I could go on and on. We go once a year and this year happened to fall on my birthday. We didn't say a thing about it but on my actual birthday, we came back to the room and a bottle of champagne was waiting for us with a birthday card from the general manager. They ask for your passport when you check in and I'm assuming they got the date from that. This is the kind of service that is incomparable. They are always lovely and so happy to have you at the hotel. We stay in one of the top junior suites overlooking the lake. The restaurant is always a highlight of the trip. The only drawback is leaving.

Room Tip: 221 and 232 are my favorites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

From arrival to departure, our stay was perfect. We enjoyed every single thing. The staff, service, property, gardens, even the shampoo and pillow placed chocolates are beyond compare. We arrived on Easter Sunday to find the most beautiful public room prepared with chocolate sculptures, ice sculptures and live chicks. The entire Easter extravaganza was lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BingoBubbaMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were to stay in Milan for @ weeks , so we were looking for weekend getaways. Lake Como was our first weekend tin Italy this year. We have always visited Italy in Summer but this time we were apprehensive. Lake Como, Villa D'Este which we decided totally based on Tripadvisor reviews. It was a perfect place. The hotel was out of the world. From the time we entered the gates of the Villa we were treated with so much care. The hospitality was awesome. The staff is just so good, they make you feel special every minute. Our room was great. We had dinner at the Verandah, and also at their fine dining restaurant. A superb experience!!! Will definitely go back!!!

Room Tip: We were at Room 135 and it was great. I am sure all rooms are!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinodinigupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Incredible not to be offered/served just a simply sweet to accompany a 9 € cup of tea!. The pretended superiority of an old fashioned hotel&its lounge bar shows its really decadence, whilst new business ideas for the restauration and vacational world crop up around every day with freshness and energy. Stop the absolutism!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
20  Thank Elba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is an exceptional place and it's small wonder that it hosts, every year in May, the most elegant and exclusive of the world's events for classic cars, the 'Concorso d'Eleganza Villa d'Este'. The fact that this Concorso was founded in 1929 confirms that this was already one of the most luxurious places to be and be seen by the glamorous crowd of that era.
Nowadays this splendid hotel has lost nothing of its classic charme; it is, if possible, even more elegant and luxurious then before. Service is excellent and the style of every detail is peerless. It is, obviously, not cheap; but if you decide to allow yourself a few days of unamended pleasure, you will find here a small corner of Heaven. Recommended to anybody who appreciates the finer things in life and has the knowledge to savour every moment of a holiday here....

Room Tip: The rooms with a view on the lake are very much sought after, but are also, of course, the more expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefanopasini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

There is no place like it. The hotel itself is breathtakingly beautiful, the chandeliers are out of a dream. The lake view and floating swimming pool are exquisite. The cocktail lounge is stocked with all you could ask for. The restaurant is out of this world. Try the homemade pistachio ice cream with whole pistachios in it. You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Obviously those in the main building with a view over the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbaraGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,117 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
883 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range: $611 - $987 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing