We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Gorgeous, Spectacular Hotel & Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, Spectacular Hotel & Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is the most gorgeous property in the area, and Lake Como is equally gorgeous. The hotel grounds are immaculate and worth expoloring. The hotel and community certainly has the laid back feel that you would expect from your Lake Como vacation. The food was excellent and the pool floating in the lake was absolutely unique. It felt odd walking on the deck of the pool and feeling the sway of the lake water. The pool was a little chilly, but luckily it was ninety degrees outside! Villa D'Este was everything I wanted for my Lake Como trip, and I don't have a bad thing to say about it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LawOnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    116
    55
    23
    12
See reviews for
197
552
25
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
TEXAS
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Has to be the best hotel we have ever stayed. The staff is A ONE. Can't beat the view of the lake.
The pool is a real treat.The food was a mix of Italy and Swiss. It is a don't miss it place. I could go on and on, but could never be able to say enough. BUD CARTER

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BUDCARTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Villa d'Este is a truly magnificent property on the shores of Lake Como, Italy with it's own suspended swimming pool which is unique in itself. The staff are so well trained in hospitality, are always friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the Queen's Pavillion with views of Como in the distance and overlooking the suspended pool.
The gardens are magnificent, the choice of restaurants varies from casual to elegant. Watching steam ferries travelling the lake from Como, Cernobbio and onto Bellagio is entertaining and a rare sight.
It's like stepping back into history but with all modern amenities and facilities one could ask for. It's been three years since our visit because we are always travelling and stay in other beautiful properties but Villa d'Este together with Hotel du Palais, Biarritz, France are our favourite European hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadsince73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My visit this time was during the fall season and just a few weeks away from the hotel closing for the winter, and what a wonderful time for a visit if you like to have the place to yourself. There was a group from a well known financial institution conferencing there, and I am guessing it was a end-of year celebration for the best of the best financial analysts!

This late in the season we were able to have a lakefront junior suite for an amazing price, a room we would not even consider during the summer season for the reasons of price and availability. Our room was literally fit for a king with two balconys overlooking the lake and main entrance to the Cardinal building. The decor was VERY old world - red velvet, silk, and brocade, with gold leaf and chandeliers everywhere, not really my style, but it was certainly like living in another world - a fantasy world. The bathroom was floor to ceiling black and white marble.

We enjoyed most of our meals in the two dining rooms mainly for convenience, in addition to not wanting to leave this beautiful location. You will find a few restaurants just a short walk into town, with a couple of shops here and there, but you will find that you just want to sit and stare at the lake or explore the lovely grounds. We enjoyed the walking trails behind the hotel, which includes a full spa facility and indoor tennis courts. The chef's garden was delightful as well, and with "fall in the air" the landscape was beautiful as well. The weather was in the high 50s and perfect for exploring.

I am looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room and go off season for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Villa d'Este is probably the most exciting hotel i have ever been! You live in 'history' not present, heaven not earth. the whole experience, from the views, rooms, service and even the shower was out of this world. I highly recommend this hotel. Don't miss to walk in the fabulous gardens attached to the Hotel, and if you are lucky you will dine with George Clooney at the hotel restaurant, we were not!
One small comment though, the food was not up to the whole divine experience! But, this did not affect us at all...

Room Tip: Ask for top corner rooms, you will have great view from the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver_Zeitoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
307 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have to think that this is perhaps one of the most beautiful settings for a hotel in the world. My husband and I took our teen daughters here and they were in heaven taking pictures and drinking it all in. Comfy adjoining rooms had gorgeous marble bathrooms with all the amenities expected. My husband had all his shoes polished nightly over the course of our stay and they came back wrapped carefully in felt bags. This is just a sample of their attention to detail. Amazing work out facility and the concierge arranges for reasonably priced cars, so no reason to not go through them. The food is delicious, and yes, expensive, but that's to expect here. And oh what breakfasts! A spread on the buffet unlike any other. Belgian waffles, fresh salmon, crazy good chocolate croissants! Yes, I will come again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the more main hallways can be a little noisy. Avoid rooms facing the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreytuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

A close friend of mine invited our family to join his for their annual vacation to Villa d'Este. That was 3 years ago, and it is now a luxury that my family is unwilling to live without. First, breakfast is part of your stay, and I dream about it all year. It is amazing. An example of their attention to detail was they used to have apricot donuts, but this year when I noticed they were gone, I inquired. The hotel actually held a meeting, made them for us, delivered them to our room, and had them on our breakfast table for our entire stay. Perfection. Every July I will be there.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 892 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
13.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Property: Villa d'Este
Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing