We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Old-fashioned charm in picturesque surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned charm in picturesque surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I confess I've only ever stayed at this lovely historic hotel on business (conferences), but over the recent years that means I've probably spent 15 or so nights there. It is in a beautiful setting by the shores of Lake Como and has delightful grounds in which to wander breathing in the clear air. It is quiet and peaceful. The style is old-fashioned grandeur, with sweeping staircases, high ceilings, ornate cornices, frecoes and paitings and rich upholstery. The rooms (suites) we have had are all very spacious - more walk-in showers would be welcome though. The fitness centre is said by those who have used it to be up to scratch and the spa certainly is. There is an indoor pool and an outdoor one more or less on the lake istelf. Try the pasta dishes in the Veranda restaurant. It's not cheap, but it is good value - and that can be said of the whole hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    105
    52
    21
    12
See reviews for
176
522
22
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Villa dÉste for our 20th wedding anniversary. The staff made everything perfect. We received an upgrade to a suite and great service.
I would definitely recommend October a th perfect time to go. The sleepy town and few tourists make it absolute bliss.
We took a lake tour on the hotels boat. It as really great to do it i a small group and get ots of inside info about the amazing mansions that dot the lake shore.
We're already planning to go back next autumn.

Room Tip: It's an expensive hotel so I would recommend spend a little extra and getting a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortugueseFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had the privilege of spending six nights in October 2012 at this Grand hotel. The rich history alone makes this a special place. Contributing to our wonderful experience was the perfect weather and our gorgeous room. The grounds are gorgeous with lots of walking and hiking trails. The on-site gym facility is newer and is well equiped. The staff were ALL very courtesy and professional. We enjoyed daily walks into the small town of Cernobbio. We also traveled by water to the town of Como on two occasions. Another treat was to take a two hour boat ride up the Lake to Bellagio and soak in the beauty of the lake and the Villas along its shore. This is one of those hotels that should be on everyone's "bucket list"...... a very special place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different since the Villa was originally a private residence. A junior suite o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonnative97317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

we had a suite it was beautiful... gorgeous view i had a fall at the station and the hotel was excellent translating letters organizing everything i was so thankful.
we will return, just love it.
janet fielder

Room Tip: try a suite in the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great location. The building is very nicely furnished, in the Empire style. Service is top notch. Very private hotel & far from the road. There is a feeling of grandeur, of quietness in a luxury's world. The room is nicely furnished, bathroom is great also with a jacuzzy bath tub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robotrenegade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is marvelous. Taste luxurious living. Immaculate rooms, pressed linen sheets, service at your call. Feel the history that charms each room. Bring your wallet but savor the indulgence. Explore the easy life on the lake. Tour the lie towns by shuttle boat. Plan your return.

Room Tip: Each room is different. We enjoyed our stay in the Queen's Pavilion. Our suite had 2 marble ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

It's all been said down below - after experiencing Villa D'este, nothing else can live up to it. I used to wonder, what is it about this hotel that makes people rave about it so much? In short, it is the exquisite service - the staff are so friendly, they make you feel at home. Villa D'este really has the right balance of formality and ease.

The history of the place speaks for itself - Kings and Queens have stayed here aswell as Hollywood greats. The aristocratic pedigree of this place shines through aswell as its more fun loving nature. The interior of the hotel is often like being in a museum, there are so many fascinating paintings and drawings depicting its great history. The gardens and grounds are vast and impressively manicured. There are many trails which offer spectacular views of the surrounding area.

The rooms are all unique and look out on to a fabulous perspective on the lake. The breakfast is sumptuous in a way so many other hotels cannot match. The concierge service is second to none. The location of Cernobbio is delightful and easy to get access to the lovely city of Como.

It is my number one priority to return to this beautiful inspiring place. If you stay here, you will see why.

Room Tip: a lake view room in the cardinal's building is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
13.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 31 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Property: Villa d'Este
Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing