We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stopover near Como”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Terzo Crotto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Terzo Crotto
Ranked #4 of 12 Cernobbio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stopover near Como”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed for one night on our trip to Tuscany. Very conveniant and pleasent place to stay. The room was quite simple but adequate. The restaurant is top with a good kitchen and as a bonus Paolo, the senior waiter who is born to be one. Very nice patron as well. We specially enjoyed the wine, the Crapulano, from the region Pavia near Milan. We bought six bottle to take home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RvanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    61
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
95
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Terzo Crotto for three nights mid September and Sergio, his family and Paulo made us feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Sergio arranged transport for us from the airport at less cost than a taxi and as we arrived quite late at night and did not want a full meal he came up with a light meal that was just right. Breakfast was plentiful and taken overlooking the gardens which were a perfect place for us to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. The hotel is in a quiet location but within a few minutes walk of the ferry and local restaurants. We had a lovely time and plan to return next spring to meet up again with Sergio and Paulo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cilla808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

A brief two day stay during this year's Italian Grand Prix at Monza with a bunch of Pistonhead friends. Good bits:- location, views, hospitality and welcome, breakfast, nice gardens, parking, host/staff and prices. Not so good bits: beds are a bit hard, but that's all..... Sergio has a great place to stay here, and I'd recommend it to anyone...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Restaurant attached/part of hotel excellent with meals well presented and good value.
HOWEVER
Hotel is supposed to be non-smoking in all public areas (see their description) First two nights were fine however on 3rd night they had a function for local businessmen. Noise from this function carried on, excessively, until 3.30am with patrons smoking below our room, meaning we were unable to sleep. Residents of the room next to us smoked heavily and the smell entered our room. In the morning we asked to speak to the manager (does not live on site). When he arrived we explained the situation and indicated, tactfully, that we believed we should not be charged for the last night. He started abusing us and in fact swore at my wife. He threatened to call the police and carried on in a totally unacceptable manner shouting at us even after we paid our account in full. He was quite obviously hung over from the previous night. He claimed it was up to us to stop his guests smoking. Under no circumstances would I recommend this hotel to anyone under the present management.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Magere1_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Restaurant attached/part of hotel excellent with meals well presented and good value.
HOWEVER
Hotel is supposed to be non-smoking in all public areas (see their description) First two nights were fine however on 3rd night they had a function for local businessmen. Noise from this function carried on, excessively, until 3.30am with patrons smoking below our room, meaning we were unable to sleep. Residents of the room next to us smoked heavily and the smell entered our room. In the morning we asked to speak to the manager (does not live on site). When he arrived we explained the situation and indicated, tactfully, that we believed we should not be charged for the last night. He started abusing us and in fact swore at my wife. He threatened to call the police and carried on in a totally unacceptable manner shouting at us even after we paid our account in full. He was quite obviously hung over from the previous night. He claimed it was up to us to stop his guests smoking. Under no circumstances would I recommend this hotel to anyone under the present management.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titchfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Myself and a group of friends stayed at this hotel whilst attending the Grand Prix in Monza.

Sergio and the whole team where fantastic hosts and made us welcome from the moment we arrived (when they shuffled the car park around for us) to the moment we left.

The hotel is very good value for money, I would recommend it to anyone planning on visiting this area of Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Fantastic stay at this hotel.
The location was perfect for enjoying the lake and excursions into Milan and Monza
Plenty of parking for all five of our tour group.
Good, clean rooms and an excellent breakfast to start the day.

We will be going back.

Thank you to Sergio our host

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cernobbio hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Giardino
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#4 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#3 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta
0.1 mi away
Regina Olga Hotel
Regina Olga Hotel
#7 of 7 in Cernobbio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terzo Crotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terzo Crotto

Property: Hotel Terzo Crotto
Address: Via Alessandro Volta 21, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terzo Crotto 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Terzo Crotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terzo Crotto Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing