We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mille Grazie Sergio!!”
Review of Hotel Terzo Crotto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Terzo Crotto
Ranked #2 of 12 Cernobbio B&B and Inns
Saratoga Springs, NY USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Mille Grazie Sergio!!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Just got back from Lake Como yesterday and couldn't wait to write this review. Had a wonderful time at Terzo Crotto with my wife and three children. My youngest daughter became fast friends with Sergio's beautiful little girl. Sergio, Paolo and Lisa made us feel at home during our entire stay. We attended a business conference at Villa D'Este and at the end of our conference a colleague of mine extended his stay and Sergio was able to get him a room at the last minute! The rooms were the perfect size and immaculate! The restaurant was fantastic and I am now hooked on Steak Fiorentino as well as Sergio's cappuccino's. The location is great as well, tucked away in a private residential setting. This was my second time in Lake Como and my next visit will include a stay at Terzo Crotto.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    63
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
20
98
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Cernobbio is a nice town with some cafes, boutiques and restaurant. The hotel is small (only 8 rooms) but the room is spacious, clean with fresh sheets, towels and proper quilt. Nice bathroom too. The only thing is that the curtain was very thin, Im one of those who sleeps comfortably in a dark room.

Although there is no view of the lake from the window, there are ample free parking spaces which is unusual to this area. The restaurant is very cosy, with a nice fireplace and high decorated ceiling. The waiter (a middle age gentleman) was very accommodating in a sense that he made my order (Dinner meal) just exactly how I wanted it, it was actually not in the menu. He was very pleasant to talk to and made some jokes with us. The breakfast buffet was more than enough to tackle the day's hectic sightseeing. I would recommend this place and would like to come back again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLynn049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhead, NSW
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Within an hour of crossing the border from Switzerland we were warmly greeted by Sergio on the front steps of his beautiful boutique hotel. We hadn't booked but he and Lisa went out of their way to rearrange their last room to accommodate us. We enjoyed the hotel so much, the friendly feel of the place, the wonderful restaurant with the open fire and the hosts' hospitality, that we stayed three nights. Our room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast offerings were delicious, the coffee supurb. Lisa gave us some helpful tips for seeing the local area and also made some phone calls on our behalf to assure a day trip to Milan was properly booked.
Sergio and his staff have a great recipe for success in this beautiful part of the world and I look forward to returning to Hotel Terzo Crotto. I can highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Inside a beautiful garden in the middle of Cernobbio stands a lovely 100 years old building . The owner, Sergio, has restore this place to its former glory. In the ground floor is the restaurant with the same name, the reception and a small room for the breakfast. At the first floor there are 8 rooms for the hotel and in the basement is the wine cellar. I think that the major income is from the lovely restaurant ( see the review for it ) but they give a very warm well came to the customers of the Hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast has everything you need to start your day. Able free parking space, something that you can not find in Cernobbio. It is 10 minutes drive from exit Como Nord of the motorway Milan-Chiasso , so it is a perfect overnight stop for travelers from or to Italy. Walking distance to the boat for Como or excursions to the lake. Very reasonable price for the location. Only one negative think. If in the restaurant they have some celebration, because is very popular to the locals, then you can hear the music until 24:00. I don't know if some rooms had not this problem. Also I don't know how will be during the summer because there was not A/C in the room.
If you visit this area this hotel is highly recommended, at least not during a hot summer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grigorisdim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2011

My wife and I had never visited Cernobbio previously, but we will return again just to stay at Hotel Terzo Crotto. Make no mistake, this is no ordinary run of the mill hotel. This place is based on a strong ethic of customer service, superbly led by Sergio and his team. It has a strong sense of traditional Italian family values and we were impressed by the comfortable accommodation and the beautiful garden and lawn area.
When travelling, we often choose not to eat at the place where we stay, but thankfully on this occasion due to fatigue, we dined in the hotel restaurant where Paolo and his staff attended to our every need. We cannot remember enjoying such a fantastic meal as we did here. The antipasto, range of delicious specialty dishes, fish, pasta and desserts were magnificent and the wine list exceeded expectations. It was evident by the number of local residents eating in the restuarant that the Hotel Terzo Crotto was respected for its food, wine, hospitality and location. Each morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast with a freshly made capucchino. During our 3 week trip through Italy, we ate out every night in cafes and restaurants in places such as Comogli, Siena, Lucca, Positano and Rome and yet our best dining experience was in the restuarant at the Hotel Terzo Crotto. What more can we say! If you are visiting the magificent area of Lake Como, Cernobbio, Belaggio etc, then make sure you make an effort to experience this hotel. You will not be disappointed and Sergio and his team will treat you like family. Jane and Tony Australia

Room Tip: we stayed on the 1st floor in a double room, which was accessed via stairs or a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeandtony2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
1,278 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 635 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This hotel brings the traveler/tourist all they can wish: Comfortable spacious rooms, good service, nice, caring people, a good restaurant on-site and, very important, ample private parking space in the middle of Cernobbio. The only point we were a bit taken aback over was the fact, that the windows in our room had no curtains, only shutters. As these shutters were of the "half open" type, we could not get the room as dark as we could wish at night. If we go to Lake Como again we will certainly choose Hotel Terzo Crotto again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hendrik_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

My wife and I recently got married in Cernobbio, and we held our Friday night dinner at the restaurant of Hotel Terzo Crotto. The room looks like a banqueting hall and is absolutely beautiful. The food was outstanding and nothing was too much to ask for the staff. In fact they were so kind ot us, that they had their waiter Paolo translate at our civil wedding at Cernobbio town hall! The owner Sergio is a great guy and has an excellent sense of humour. The rooms are excellent value, given how expensive the region is, and I would thoroughly recommend staying here if your looking for a sensibly priced option in Cernobbio.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairview2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#2 of 7 in Cernobbio
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
1,280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#4 of 7 in Cernobbio
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Giardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terzo Crotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terzo Crotto

Property: Hotel Terzo Crotto
Address: Via Alessandro Volta 21, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cernobbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terzo Crotto 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Terzo Crotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terzo Crotto Lake Como/Cernobbio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing