We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wasted opportunity”
Review of Harry's Bar

Harry's Bar
Ranked #27 of 53 Restaurants in Cernobbio
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wasted opportunity”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Harry's bar has a great location on the lake but that is it. Overpriced and poorly executed food with surly, unhappy staff ruined what could be an excellent place to be. My experience was unfortunately echoed by many of the other customers there who complained of slow service and unremarkable food. In fact during the many times we passed by Harry's Bar after our experience I failed to see a happy face sat at the tables outside. Disappointing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 9HYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    144
    73
    49
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“not impressed”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

its ok to stop off on way to water taxi for cigar coffee and a drink but lack the style of Harrys bar in venice but its ok, i was personally disappointed but i would have a meal there ect

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lucky l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun place....great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our visit was during the textile expo & they were very busy but we were seated promptly at our reservation time& staff was very attentive. The food was great for the price. We will definitely be back. It's a great place to sit outside & enjoy Cernobbio.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DkyPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“good,...and pricey”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Location is very nice, right on the lake shore. Off cold-winter evening the outside seating can be nice. However, comfortable seating is offered in the closed veranda. Here I enjoyed Lombardia region dishes (cotoletta alla milanese was superb) with a certain degree of sophistication in the service as in the overall atmosphere. Good wine chart with moderate to high charges.
Price in the high range.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alfces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food. Big Prices. Insisted on extra tip - Ralph Massetti”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

So Harry's Bar was hard to hate. The food was great. We both (my Wife and I) ordered specials, which is a must in Italy. Wine selection was good and the atmosphere, although loud. was pleasant.

Here's the kicker though. When we received our check the Server stood over me and insisted on an additional tip. While I ALWAYS tip above the included service charges in Italy (and yes I confirmed the service charge was already in the total), this Server wouldn't take no for an answer. Even when I gave him an affirmative, he kept on about how the included service charge only covers the "free bread", which we know is not true, and he would not budge from the table until I complied.

We had a great dinner and the evening was too rare to derail so I compiled, but we wouldn't go back, simply based on the Server's manipulation of what I imagine he suspected as novice travelers.

That said, I expect this is a rarity and the restaurant does deserve credit for doing everything else right.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RMassetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Bar also viewed

 
Cernobbio, Lake Como
Cernobbio, Lake Como
 

Been to Harry's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing