We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Celle Ligure
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on way back from Rome. Nice hotel with good lift access to all floors. Rooms are roomy and modern but no air-conditioning.

Restaurant serves a limited menu with some choice but waitress did not speak english. Food is very good and well priced as is wine.

The problem with this hotel is it is across road from railway so it is noisy all night especially as you have to leave window open.

Not for the light sleeper

Room Tip: One on opposite side to railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveawdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    44
    68
    49
    52
See reviews for
52
103
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vandel, Denmark
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is located very close to beach and In the middle of the town. But the view is bad.
The room was acceptable . Parking is nearly a hell. The food awfull. The staff cannot speak english and was incompetent.
But the town and beach and the local people very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Celle Ligure hotels

3.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

for the first time in my life i was asked to pay 25 euro more if i want to use the air condition that was in the room !!!, the staff is not friendly at all,the breakfast is minimum i will never go to there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have visited this hotel a few month ago. The rooms suit one star hotel and prices. The toilets and other utilities were dirty. The personnel isn't frienldy and bearly understands english. If you are interested in being bashed around and in throwing your money down the drain, consider visiting it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
163 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night, having read previous reviews. As a result, we weren't expecting much. The room on the 4th floor was very average: clean and had everything we needed. It faced the railway line, so the view wasn't great. The trains weren't that frequent during the night and I didn't hear them, but my partner did.

Indeed, it seemed that there were no hotels on the waterfront (which is beautiful); they're all clustered around the railway station, so ideal if you're coming in by train.

If you're coming by car, there are only a handful of parks in the hotel, so you have to try your luck and hunt down a carpark outside. Go for a white parking spot, rather than a blue one -- then your time parking there isn't limited.

The hotel is well located, just a short stroll away from shops, restaurant and the beach.

The worst bit? The breakfast, probably the lousiest I've had anywhere. The previous reviewers were not wrong!

The best bit? The extremely friendly receptionist -- very welcoming and charming.

For €85 it was fine. Just don't expect much... and head down to one of the seaside cafes for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaselLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Booked at short notice, so not cheap. Good location - 150m walk to the beach. Managed to book a secure parking space by email. Bedroom was fine. A little noisy with road junction and railway station alongside. Bathroom primitive, but OK (hand held shower, with no screen or curtain). Breakfast very basic indeed: watery orange juice from a machine, tepid milk for basic cereals, warm, slightly rancid butter, instant coffee. We asked nicely and managed to obtain good cappuccini from the bar. If it were cheaper, I would stay here again, but go out for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side, away from the railway, should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJWSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
381 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

I've just returned from a 8 nights' stay at this hotel with my husband and 4-years old daughter.
Good points:
- ideally located, 150 mt. from the beach, the railway station and the playground
- rooms are spacious (ours had been refurbished a few years ago, it had a marble bathroom and the furniture was in good condition)
- affordable rates
- big and free parking lot just opposite the hotel
Bad points:
- catering is quite poor: we had paid for half board (breakfast and dinner). Breakfast is served near the lobby, tables are very small and the choice of food is quite narrow. Despite offering 3 different first courses and 3 different main courses, I would not say that the menu was satisfactory: portions are big but in the end you can only make a choice between pasta and soup. Serving staff was corteous but always seemed too busy.
- cleaning: the room itself was clean but the balcony had obviously not been cleaned for a long time. Floors in the common areas (especially in the restaurant) did not really appeared to be "spic and span".
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to families who need a quick access to the beach (as we did) and like a no-frills approach.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — catering
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Celle Ligure
0.3 mi away
Villa Adele
Villa Adele
#10 of 12 in Celle Ligure
3.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriana
Hotel Adriana
#1 of 12 in Celle Ligure
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Piccolo Hotel
Piccolo Hotel
#4 of 12 in Celle Ligure
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#6 of 12 in Celle Ligure
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#3 of 12 in Celle Ligure
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lorenzo
Hotel Lorenzo
#2 of 12 in Celle Ligure
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Federico Colla 55, 17015 Celle Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Celle Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Celle Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Celle Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing