We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Hotel La Giara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Giara
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
1 review
“Great place!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

This is a great small hotel! It has all the necessaties you'd want and its location is perfect for everything. It's a bargain compared to many othe hotels in this area. Very happy that we chose this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    58
    42
    19
    10
See reviews for
23
57
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Good basic 3 star hotel which is centrally located. Receptionists friendly, however always standing outside smoking. The only two niggles was the noise from both the street below and from other rooms and the bath/shower which was very deep and difficult to get in and out.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We spent 2 nights here. It was really hot, so the AC was great. There was Wi-Fi in the rooms which worked well. The street the hotel is on is really narrow. The hotel is just a few blocks to the Piazza Duomo where you can have breakfast with the Hotel's voucher. It's a pleasant square to sip your cappuccino and have the basic, 1 pastry, 1 juice and a coffee. Just a few blocks could also take you to the sea where you could swim for free (i.e. no chairs/umbrellas for rent). The balcony on the top of the hotel was available for us to have pre-dinner drinks one night. You have a great view of the Duomo and the sea. We stayed in Room 118 which was fine. The bathroom was a bit tight, particularly the opening between the shower and the edge of the sink. Some people may not make it. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TippyGirlTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Great location in old Cefalu. Clean and roomy. Spacious bathroom. Nice rooftop terrace. Staff was helpful and friendly. Cigarette smoke drifts into hallways.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed here two nights and enjoyed it very much. Decent sized rooms and bathrooms, with WIFI available in your room. No English channels on the TV, at least I could not find any. Has a rooftop terrace with good views. No breakfast at hotel, but for us they gave each a voucher to use at a close by cafe/pastry shop near the church which worked out fine. Not sure if they do that for everyone though. I cannot give a good judgement on price/value since we stayed here on a tour and never saw an itemized price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We chose this Hotel for it's location and it was perfect. The bathroom, however hadn't been cleaned, there was no WiFi as stated and the aircon kept us awake.... I think this place is a bit over priced for what we were given but the location is superb with excellnt views from the roof terrace.
We were aware of the fact that there was no car access which was a plus point for us...it's quieter at night and it's only a short walk to the seafront with ample parking...enjoyed Cefalu - highly recommended but wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petersharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We got the recommendation from lonely planet. But will be contacting them to let them know the staff AREN'T helpful. The bathroom is a safety hazard. There is a lift but the step as you get out of the shower is a killer. There was a problem with our booking and they were not at all helpful at this point no one seemed to speak any English at all.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VillaBianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cefalu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#25 of 36 in Cefalu
157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#12 of 36 in Cefalu
299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Al Pescatore
Hotel Al Pescatore
#31 of 36 in Cefalu
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cefalu
415 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro
2.7 mi away
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Hotel Baia del Capitano
#13 of 36 in Cefalu
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Giara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Giara

Property: Hotel La Giara
Address: Via Veterani 40, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Giara 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historical centre of Cefalù, a few metres from the beach, offers all facilities for an unforgettable holiday.Hotel rooms are equipped with private bath, hair-dryer, TV Sat, frigo, telephone, heating, air conditioning, free Wi-fi Internet access. Hotel composed of 24 rooms, is equipped with a lift and accessible to the disabled.Both small and well-mannered pets are welcome.From the hotel terrace you can enjoy an enchanting view. Here you can sunbathe in a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Giara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante La Giara Cefalu
Hotel La Giara Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing