We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance in a beautiful hillside setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
315 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Elegance in a beautiful hillside setting”
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Located on the grounds of a large former olive grove/mill on a hillside above Cefalu, the hotel was easy to find with a GPS, and ample free parking is available on site. The 4-story 50 year old building was reborn as a modern luxury hotel, deserving every one of its four stars and compared with other 4-star Sicilian hotels could be deserving a fifth star. The lobby, reception, and the lobby bar are pleasingly furnished with a glass wall opening onto a terrace and ocean view, inviting one to sit and sip a cappuccino or something from the bar.

Check-in was handled by Brooklyn born Camela, patiently dispensing information, speaking perfect English, as does most of the staff. Our room with a balcony that offered a beautiful view over the ocean and the old city of Cefalu was nicely furnished with a desk, wardrobe, king size bed with a firm but comfortable mattress, A/C with in room control, and a TV with Sky satellite service with channels in many languages. The floor to ceiling tiled modern bath with tub/shower combo provided ample space for one's stuff on the marble topped sink console. All was super clean, and quiet at night, even with the windows open. A demerit to the hotel for not having a service directory in the room, moreover, to turn the TV on or off requires a PHD.

The beautifully landscaped grounds with many mature trees, thriving vegetation, flowering plants and lots of quiet nooks with a table and a couple of chairs are a tranquil oasis in which to relax in quiet comfort. A nice pool area with padded chaises is available for the sun-worshipers, and finally housed in the rustic setting of the old olive mill is the hotel spa. The restaurant with elegant indoor and casual outdoor seating serves delicious meals from a daily changing menu. Breakfast is served buffet style with an offering that leaves little to be desired and includes a spread of pastries and baked sweets fit for a pastry shop display.

The hotel provides a shuttle bus service into the town and the beach allowing one to leave the car in the parking lot. It is not in an ideal location for those wanting a beach vacation, yet it is perfectly situated for a relaxing stay in a quiet oasis with easy access to the bustling old town or the train station for a 50 minutes train ride (6 Euro fare) to Palermo. Without question we would stay there again should we return to Cefalu in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    247
    65
    22
    8
See reviews for
131
410
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2010

If you're after a bit of R&R, then Paradiso is the place to be. Yes, it is a bit of a walk out of the town and yes, it is up a steep hill and yes, our planned excursion didn't exactly go to plan, but in the course of a week-long stay at Paradiso these are minor problems in the context of a lovely hotel, quiet, with a gorgeous pool, and we had a wonderful room (we went for a Junior suite to guarantee a bit of a view, but to be honest I think pretty much all rooms would have a bit of a view. Don't sue me if they don't). The bed was very hard, but we remedied this by putting lots of blankets under the bottom sheet which worked a treat. Breakfast was ample, and the help-yourself fresh orange juicer was a real bonus. We ate in the restaurant on the first night - good fresh food, with a lovely view off the terrace, but a bit pricey for what it was. They have a piano player every night, which is quite nice but for us by the end of the week we were a little fed up of it as our room was above the restaurant, even 2 floors up we still heard it! But mostly we walked into town for dinner and had some lovely meals, then picked up an espresso and a gelato on the walk home to 'get us up the hill' (rationalisation for the nightly bad habit). Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it if you're looking for a thoroughly relaxing holiday and are prepared to walk off all the delicious Sicilian food a little.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Cefalu was our first stop on a fortnight's holiday in Sicily and del Paradiso made a wonderful start to our trip. The grounds are really beautiful and a delight to wander around, with so many secluded places to relax for a while. The breakfasts were the best we had on the whole trip and it was good fun to make your own fresh orange juice. We had dinner at the hotel one night and that was also superb. The free bus was very useful for going down into historic Cefalu and was dead on time, for our return trip. All the decor was top-notch and it was good to see the massive steps being taken on green tourism. This hotel is in the same 'chain' as the Hotel Porta Felice in Palermo, which was of an equally good standard, so we will be staying in more of these hotels elsewhere in Italy in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth. TX
Level Contributor
261 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We loved Cefalu. It is relaxing, fun, and charming. So much better than staying in Palermo, We took an early morning train to Palermo (1 hour) and were back for dinner in the evening. . . easy to do. The Hotel Alberi del Paradiso is well-appointed, well-positioned, lots of free parking, a good 4-star choice especially if you have a car.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanam1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed 5 nights in this very comfortable and relaxing hotel. Our room on the forth floor faced the garden and the sea. Amazing sunset from the balcony/terass. The hotel in this very calm location will captivate you once you arrive. Everything from the natural stones wery well designed narrow and charming paths to the wonderful garden in different levels and the tasteful interior design make sense. The very service minded front office staff were very amazingly attentive and managed the English very well which wasnt the case everywere in Cefalu. We were mesmerized and enjoyed the natural setting the hotel was in. The hotel really flowed with beauty and grace. The rooms were clean and with style but as very often in sothern Europe equipped with very hard beds. With softer beds we would rank the hotel as 4+ on a 5 scale. The dinner were nice but definitely overpriced. Nice breakfast with FRESH PRESSED orange juice. GREAT. Free WIFI, Wonderful pool area in spectacular setting with a magnificant wiew overlooking the mediterian. Nice Spa with free tempered Jacuzzi outside inbedded in the very nice garden. Free shuttle bus to town and private beach with free chairs and umbrella and towels compensated the quite long way to town and beach, althogh the 15-20 minutes walk back after a nice dinner is well needed. Free parking close to the entrance. The bar and staff is very nice. This very relaxing atmosphere for a late drink is something to remember. Some recommendations to reach a top ranking are, 1. Softer beds. 2.Refreshments nearer the pool. 3. Extended shuttle picking up time in the evening. The latest shuttle tims was 19.00 back to the hotel. 4. Adjust the rice level for dinner and extend the menu a bit. This will definitely fill up the very nice restautant with its beateuful terass.
Finally. Dont miss the restaurant le Chat Noir and La Brasche. Ask the front desk to reserve a table.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
194 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

The grounds, terrace, common areas and pool are lovely. Our room had a balcony/terrace with retractable awning for maximum usability. Because the hotel is set on a hill above the old city, we had an incredible view of the old city, La Roca, famous church and the sea. This hotel had the best breakfast buffet (included) of all the places we stayed with a machine to fresh squeeze you own juice. The heat/cool system as mentioned by others does seem a bit crazy and difficult to adjust and our shower did have some mildew. However, overall this is a very good place to stay. It is also worth noting that this hotel seems to be really trying to be "green". The parking area is partially covered by solar panels. The hotel also has a computer for guest use.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
181 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Funky contemporary decor, hard to find and "15 minute" walk to heart of Cefalu is 35 minutes. AND, you feel like a mountain climber walking back. This is not the place to stay if your reason for visiting is old Cefalu.

Everything about this hotel is average or less. They should be embarrassed for the puny breakfast and the surly service that accompanied it. We liked Cefalu but we will search for a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 36 in Cefalu
710 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#1 of 36 in Cefalu
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cefalu
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#6 of 36 in Cefalu
78 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kalura
Hotel Kalura
#7 of 36 in Cefalu
695 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Hotel Baia del Capitano
#13 of 36 in Cefalu
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso

Property: Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
Address: Via Dei Mulini 18/20, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cefalu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Cefalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#4 Family Hotel in Cefalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alberi Del Paradiso is an ancient manor house, surrounded by lush gardens with large swimming pool. It offers a free shuttle to its private beach and the historic centre of Cefalù.Offering free Wi-Fi and air conditioning, all rooms feature decorated tiled floors and classic wooden furniture. Some rooms overlook the gardens, and the rooms on the higher floors offer views of the sea.The property includes a wellness area with sauna and massage rooms. You can work out at the fitness centre or enjoy a game of tennis on the courts.The restaurant at Alberi Del Paradiso serves local Sicilian specialities, including Slow Food products for breakfast. During spring and summer meals are served in the garden.This elegant hotel is located on a hilltop overlooking the town and the sea, a 20-minute walk from the centre. The free parking is sheltered by solar panels. The shuttle runs frequently, times vary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alberi Del Paradiso Cefalu
Alberi Del Paradiso Hotel
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing