We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Neighbours”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santa Barbara
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Noisy Neighbours”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

After finally finding the apartments found that the place was very clean. The 2nd bedroom was quite small, but for 1 night it was quite adequate. Cefalu is a gorgeous little town, and to get into town you would need a car. The only issue was that the walls between the apartments are very thin, and can therefore hear everything going on next door and upstairs. Our issue was that our "neighbours" decided to start cleaning and washing up at 2am, and didn't stop until 6am.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallymali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

We stayed a week in Apartment C with our 2 children The apartment is on ground level, beside the pool and spacious, with intermittent internet access.
You really need a car to get around but it's a short drive down to the harbour and back route walk into town along the rocks beneath the lighthouse. Otherwise parking and traffic in town awful. A walk into town would take about 20 minutes but along some busy roads.
The apartments could be noisy, and there is a notice that the pool can only be used between 10-12 and 5-7. Fortunately this was not enforced during the time we were there.
An enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Liked — Spacious accommodation, pool
  • Disliked — Could be a bit noisy
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank willowEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santander, Spain
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2008

An excellent group of apartments on the top of a hill with excellet views over the sea (first and second floor). Near the city center and about 2 km the beach. Small but confortable and clean pool. All are very clean. Website with real photos, and good and fast comunication. Completly apartmets with aconditionating air. The personal are very kindly and work excellent. The bus arrive beside the door, but the timetable isn´t good.
For familys are the best.

  • Liked — the localitation and services
  • Disliked — indication to arrive not clear
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SDRfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2007

We cut our stay short due to awful weather! which was a shame because Cefalu is a great base and Sicily would have been great in the sunshine!

As for the apartment....very clean and modern and within easy reach of the town on foot (10-15 mins to old city). Our 2-bed 2nd floor apartment was VERY small but had all we needed. Pool VERY small as well but luckily our 2 children were the only ones to brave a swim in the bad weather. The Holiday Lettings website advertised a microwave and dishwasher, we didn't have either of these.

We would stay again.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgewater59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2007

We stayed in the top floor apartment for 2 weeks in September and had a great time.

This apartment is up 50 stairs but the climb is worth it as it has a huge terrace with an amazing views of the harbour and out to sea. The apartment would be a little small for 4 people as 2 would have to sleep on the sofa and the only bathroom is through the double bedroom.

I would recommend a car as the walk down to the beach and town is fine, but walking back up is not as easy (especially with a buggy!)

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

I

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuggyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

Nice but fairly small 2 bedroomed apartment with air conditioning.Stayed for 1 week and overall would recommend these apartments.You will need to drive into town as they are situated high up on the outskirts of the town.They are set in a residential area so expect occasional grafitti and litter but there was no evidence of any undesirables in the area.The Santa Barbara website is a bit of a con as they have used wide angle photography to make the rooms and the pool look bigger than they are. The pool is only 6 metres long so it can get crowded if a few families use it at once.There are only 7 apartments so its never crowded. There is colour TV (No english channels), 4 gas hobs, small microwave/grill and 2 - 3 balconies to each apartment when on the first or second floor. The owners speak good english and are on site every day in their office.
If you dont have a car stay well clear of these apartments as the 30 minute walk from town would be a killer in the summer heat.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank scotsken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

Rented the topfloor apartment for one week, 7-14th of July. Rooms and bathroom clean, airconditioned - although a little worn at the edges, which definitely is a minor thing. Terrass fantastic - 40 m2 - and with a stunning view to the sea. Staff very friendly and helpfull - pool and garden kept in spotless condition . Do not expect pristine surroundings as the complex is in Cefalu townarea - but the location is in fact quiet, residing in a local residential area.

Cefalu requires a car - you can walk - but the best stores and markets are downtown - and downhill!

Apartment definitely a good experience and we would like to return sometime.

  • Liked — Great seaview - spotless pool and garden - nice big terrasse
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tourist
Hotel Tourist
#18 of 35 in Cefalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Al Pescatore
Hotel Al Pescatore
#31 of 35 in Cefalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Palamara 1868
Villa Palamara 1868
#10 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
0.8 mi away
Villa Gaia Hotel
Villa Gaia Hotel
#13 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#7 of 35 in Cefalu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara

Property: Santa Barbara
Address: C/da Santa Barbara Via B 6 no 4, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
Hotel Class:1 star — Santa Barbara 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing