We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Gaia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Gaia Hotel
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

The view from our room was one of the most beautiful we have had.The breakfast was very good , the decor was
very interesting . The
prices of the beverages are over the top but if money is not a problem then this hotel is a must for you. The
main shopping street is only 5 minutes from the hotel and it has everyshop. Woman could want. The shower in our
standard double room was 5 star. It was expensive for us but worth the experience. It had a 6 star ambience
and was lovely to work around. I think this is the most beautiful hotel in Cefalù and we will possibly return
, we met a couple who had returned 3 times so this says something. I do not think you will be disappointed
although you will be a few Euro less.

Room Tip: The view from our room was one of the most beautiful we have had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    102
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
51
161
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed for three nights in this small hotel which is located accross the road from a fabulous beach and about 800m from the old town which is a pleasant walk along the seafront passing many vendors. We had an upstairs suite with a large balcony overlooking the beach with wondeful views. The room was large and very comfortable and clean with a state of the art shower cubicle which takes some time to fathom how it operates. The breakfast is a self service affair and is adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful. Free parking is available about 100m from the hotel. Overall a very pleasant experience and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAPPLEBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed for two nights at Villa Gaia in September 2011. It is a good small hotel with a good location. The room was nice with a view of the sea. The location is a mixed bag. In terms of closeness to the beach, i give it excellent marks - the beach was just across the street. There were other hotels (Riva del Sole and Astro) on the same street that were closer to the central city.

The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was a nice size. Taking a shower felt like getting into a space capsule. The shower was high tech and had jets from about any area imaginable, but I never took the time to figure out how the contraption worked. The room was very clean with a nice sun deck. They were in the process of demolition an removal of the eyesore swimming pool.

The breakfast was on the spartan side. They did have a machine that allowed do it yourself hard boiled eggs. Too much trouble for me, and besides, I like mine cold. There was plenty of coffee and pastries.

Room Tip: Room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyranno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Villa Gaia is set about half a mile from the old part of Cefalu, a great location for access to the sandy beaches - it has its own private beach which was very pleasant. Rooms are an above average size with all the trimmings that you would expect from a hotel of four star rating. The gold plated sink, spa shower and electric shutters added to the luxury of the room.

The only draw back is that there is no swimming pool and I am thinking that perhaps this hotel is more geared up to the business versus holiday guest.

All in all, we stayed just two nights as we were moving on elsewhere. I would consider staying again should I ever return to Sicily and require a quiet spot in a very comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poppyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Had 1 night here in Aug 2011 on a 10 day driving tour of Sicily.
Very good location, being about 20m from the beach. Room was a good size, with the best shower I have ever seen in a hotel, it had lots of water jets you could turn off/on to "massage" you! The staff were friendly. Had breakfast on the terrace at the front of the hotel, which was nice since it was VERY hot in Sicily.
They gave us a remote control for the entry gate for the secured car park which was about 80m down the road. After unloading outside the hotel, I parked the car in there and had no problems. Hotel was about 10 minutes walk along the seafront to the start of the old town.
Cefalu was great, probably my favourite place we stayed at in Sicily, just wished we'd had another night there.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gareth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam Valley, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Stayed for 3 nites & Giorgio the manager couldn't have been more accommodating. Being the off-season the 1st room we reserved was a little too small.....no problem, we upgraded to a suite. Breakfast was sufficient as it had the traditional Italian meats, cheeses, pastries, coffee.
At that time of year the dining option wasn't available. Housekeeping was excellent & the bed comfy firm. Especially awed by the "space capsule" multi-functional shower & the beautiful marble floors. Since we had a top floor wrap around balcony, the sea view was relaxing. Pleasant walk into the town of Cefalu with a lot of sidewalk vendors.

Room Tip: suites have balcony & sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doubletrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

would definitly stay here again. great location ,service,rooms ,marco and all the people were very helpfull

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank favarabrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#11 of 35 in Cefalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#6 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#1 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astro Suite Hotel
Astro Suite Hotel
#4 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gaia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gaia Hotel

Property: Villa Gaia Hotel
Address: Via V Pintorno, 101, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
#8 Family Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Gaia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delicious structure that faces the sea front of Cefalu, near the historical centre , The Villa Gaia Hotel, elegantly restructured in 2002 and inaugurated in 2003, is a magnificent opportunity for all those people who love convenience, luxury and practicality. It has by 12 rooms, of which three suites, elegantly furnished with the purpose to contribute to cheer the stay of the guests of the hotel, all endowed with exclusive services and of technological system of last generation. In spring and summer it's possible to have breakfast on the characteristic terrace with a fine view on the sea and on the ancient Arab-Norman town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Gaia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gaia
Villa Gaia Hotel Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing