We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Bella Italia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bella Italia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is an exiting place. When you wake up every morning you go to your private balcony with an unforgettable view. You have 5 min walking distance to the hotel beach and 15 min to the historical town Cefalu.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Radoslaw K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    129
    103
    59
    30
See reviews for
98
153
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I cannot understand all the poor reviews for this 3 star rated hotel. Spent 4 nights there with husband and daughter on 4th floor (room 414) with great sea view in a spacious room with adequate bathroom. Fridge was included at no extra cost. Room and hotel was very clean. Old fashioned yes but not worn out!

We were given a table for our stay, food was good but not much choice. We were given two choices of starter and mains and you had to give your choices to the waiter the evening before. Waiters and all other staff pleasant enough. Was disappointed that the Blue Bar was closed during our stay (end of season). Visited the bar in the adjoining building where we had drinks, ice cream and pizza - this bar is frequented by the locals and is quite lively. Pleasant walk down into Cefalu either by the steps to the beach or on the main road.

Cefalu was wonderful so interesting a real delight to walk around. I cant wait to return - however next time we will ensure that we check out the trains are all running - our last day was a festival day and the train station was closed when we went for our train and so encountered a 120 euro fare to the airport. Rail travel is very cheap and a good way to get around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hop2it_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opole, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We've stayed in the hotel one week (15 - 22 September 2012).
Hotel was totally worn out. Horrible acoustic - forget if you want to have a good sleep - you hear your neighbours coming back around the midnight, you hear your neighbours waking up for breakfast in the morning. You hear the noise from all the toilets/bathrooms above and around you.

Food was of a very poor quality, not variated. Breakfast very limited - every day the same set, 2 different sorts of cheese, 2 different sort of ham, strawberry, peach jam, youghurt, milk, 2 sorts of cereals.


During dinner you you get "attractions" like local articst singing Elvis Presley or Eros Ramazzotti and Cher in one :)

Air-co was switched off 2 days after we arrived (hote staff said: end of the season).

The beach: dirty, with stones.

The hotel is situated very closely to the railway line but it's not at all
burdensome. On the contrary if you get the room looking out on the street you hear cars driving all the night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puwsioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cefalu hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

3 adults (twin & 1 single) h/board. Arrived late at the hotel at 11:30pm and we were left to find our own way to our rooms.After 20mins got help from the kitchen staff.We missed our first eveing meal,but in our rooms was a cold meat platter(nice touch).We found the food in the hotel was very good(open buffet for breakfast,day before menu choice evening 3 course meal
waiter sevice).There is a small fridge in the room.Very nice pool area and free carparking.The hotel is on a busy road junction and is very noisy.It was very hot,but weirdly the hotel switches off the air-con on 15th Sept,so had to sleep with the windows open.About 100 steps down to the narrow/long but very clean beach.Cefalu town is about 15 walk and is very pleasant with shops & restuarants.All-in-all a pretty good holiday,8/10

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the sea,its a bit more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJWBridgnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

holiday booked via newmarket holidays,hotel grading 3star. Only recommendation I can give is for the maid service,however, rooms sparce and 8 euro daily charge for air con, apparantly took effect from 15.09.12. trip 28/9/12-06/10/12. Phone in room did not have a dial tone. Steps to beach steep, cannot comment upon beach apart from lack of it. Bins in stair vicinity unemptied, broken glass strewn over walkway. 3 course eve menu was a hoot, pretentious and arrogant waiters,took on look of a school dinner hall, with full lighting on. Desserts were bought in and still frozen upon service to clientel. Upgraded to balcony and sea view, adjacent to balcony was trainline and balcony itself no more than 3 ft in width,no handle on outside of sliding door and room on 2nd floor, I view this a Health and safety issue. Nil toilet in lobby or pool area, I perceive this to make guests attend cafe area to purchase snack to be allowed use of toilets. Lobby area seating unkept with rips and tears in seating, not masked ,but, in line of vision upon first arrival. Nil daily entertainment and bar was two tables pushed together with a tablecloth over and two coolers, beer 400% mark up to supermarket and wine also, 3.99 euro supermarket and 13 euro per bttle. Sicily was wonderful what was seen, thankfully. Rep gave only minimal information as to daily trip itinerary, concluded in full day not taken advantage of, i.e beach stop, but, nil bather/towel etc. due to nil informed. I have had pleasurable experiences throughout my stays in Italy,however, this trip was a hammer house of horror, the hotel should be renamed 'fawlty towers' or may be seen in a future victoria wood episode. I think it is one for 'The Hotel Inspector' -UK television.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darlenelarger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were a group of 6 and stayed here on an 8 day Newmarket Treasures of Sicily holiday.

I would rate this 3 1/2 stars. The hotel rooms were quite large with nice balconies and sea views. No tea making facilities but no one bothered if you used a travel kettle as we did. The beds were firm but not uncomfortable. The shower was as good and had a lot of options. Soap and shampoo provided. We had no air conditioning as it was "out of season" - it was still 35 degrees in late September!!! We paid a special price of 40 Euros for the week (they did try and charge us 48 Euros) to have full air conditioning which was very effective and very quiet which suited my wife!!

Each room had a safe which was free and a fridge for your drinks etc.

The food was good but would not suit the fish and chips brigade as it was very much Italian based. and contrary to other reviews we found it hot enough although the plates were cold. The buffet meal on the Sunday was excellent but we did not find the food hot but most buffets are like this!!

The menu each day was Italian and very good with soup, some sort of vegetables/salad then pasta and a main course followed by a dessert which could be fruit, tiramisu etc. You chose your menu the day before from a choice of two for each course but the restaurant would provide an alternative if the suggested dishes were not suitable. No coffee or tea afterwards.

The gala dinner on Thursday was fantastic as it was of good quality with entertainment - we really enjoyed this night!!

Drinks were available but you had to go to a desk and collect and pay for them. 15 Euros for a bottle of nice red wine and 5 Euros for a 66cl beer. Breakfast was the standard Continental with bread, cheese, ham and other meat plus scrambled and boiled eggs. There also was a choice of three or four cereals.

The croissants and bread were fresh and plenty of butter and jams provided.

The only downside was that the hotel was a wedding venue and the noise from the wedding music went on to about 12.45am and our rooms were just above the wedding reception area. (No sleep until 12.45 on that night!!!) We only suffered this once but I believe during the summer there can be several weddings a week!!

Plenty of sun beds but they did not have cushions which was a little uncomfortable but there were plenty of alternative areas with chairs.

The waiters were very friendly but the reception staff were terrible especially an older man who was definitely in the wrong job as he had absolutely no social skills whatsoever.
Cefalu is a pretty town and easily reached by walking down the steps to the beach or walking along the main road (there is a supermarket about 7 minutes along this road which was very good for drinks etc.) Market (local not only for tourists) every Saturday near the cemetery.

The coffee shop was very good but be prepared for the unusual system of payng first then taking your receipt to get yor order filled. They were fairly relaxed about stupid tourist who did not comply with this but it couls delay your transaction.

We were told that Cefalu was very safe but we witnessed one attempted mugging(failed) almost on the Hotel premises but and the polce told us that they had had no problems all summer but had three attempted muggings in the last week.- perhaps as result of the 20% unemployment figure.

Check in and check out was fairly quick and apart from the airconditioning overcharge all went well. The hotel could do with better signage regarding where rooms are atc as it took us a little time to establish where our room was - we were given no directions. If the hotel could improve the reception skills I would have no hesitation in fully recommending this hotel.

Take a copy of your passport if you are over 65 as entry to most museums, venues is free if you are an EU National over 65. This saved us as a couple over 100 Euros in a week!!!.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and try and be away from the Blu Bar(the le sabbie doro section) in the high seas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NIRS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hotel clean and tidy, staff lovely, room good for how much we paid, location would have liked it a bit nearer Cefalu as only bars on premises, apart from the van in the garage opposite, food ok but not much choice, entertainment ok, yes we would go back.
Recommend the van in the garage, very good food, beer and chat!
Only complaints, distance from Cefula and too many steps.

Room Tip: Advise themprior if you have problems walking etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 36 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
1.5 mi away
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Hotel Baia del Capitano
#12 of 36 in Cefalu
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#7 of 36 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#1 of 36 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#11 of 36 in Cefalu
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro

Property: Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro
Address: Contrada Santa Lucia, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Lucia e Le Sabbie D'Oro Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing