We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW! Above and Beyond”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

After carrying out lots and lots of research this hotel kept coming up with such fantastic reviews, so I decided to book a 3 night getaway for my Fiances Birthday. Before doing so, I emailed the hotel asking for information on a taxi from the airport, help with making my Fiances birthday special and the possibility of a last minute wedding, would you believe. Within no time at all the lovely Rosamaria had answered all my questions, I had no doubt that this was the hotel of choice. We took a bus from Palermo airport to Palermo city centre and then a train from Palermo to the town of Cefalu (which is stunning, with great restaurants) this took around an hour and a half in total and then a taxi to the hotel from Cefalu which was only a 10 minute ride.

Upon arrival this is where our amazing 3 night getaway started, and it is thanks to four people. Rosamaria (where nothing was ever to much trouble and she always had a smile), Carlos and Daniele who are the the waiters (again nothing was to much trouble, even organising lunch on the roof terrace) and the Manager who after asking where we could purchase sun tan cream, told us that he'll let us know, only to then have a knock at the door to discover that he actually went out to buy it for us as a gift.

The Hotel itself is immaculate, the room was fantastic, swimming pool was cold but refreshing and the roof terrace gave incredible views over Cefalu and lunch was also delicious.

Just some advice, I would put a little extra in your budget for taxi's into town at 15 euro one way, but it would be well worth it.

Overall an amazing retreat and a massive thank you to all of the staff mentioned with a special thank you to Rosamaria for making our stay extra wonderful. We can't wait to come back.

Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estateagent1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    99
    51
    17
    10
See reviews for
60
159
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for a weeks holiday, I did look at the feedback on trip advisor before we booked here, I have to say we were not disappointed, the hotel and staff were without doubt made our holiday, the receptionists wee helpful and friendly spoke very good English, the waiting staff were equally as good, I have to single out Carlo from the restaurant who was one of the best waiters I have ever experienced, it is such a joy to see the profession being carried out with such passion. The rooms were clean and comfortable great views form the balcony. all in all a wonderful stay and we will be going back next year. If you do chose to stay here the essential thing to do is book a car to get around, we never but would certainly do so next visit. we would like to thank the entire hotel staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
243 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The friendliness was apparent from the initial phone call to the reception, through to the welcoming smile upon arrival. It continued throughout our stay and we felt that they really appreciated our custom. Lovely room overlooking the pool. Excellent cleanliness and maintenance. Easy parking and just 1KM from downtown Cefalù.
Definitely a hotel to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mompy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a week at the end of September 2012. Clean well kept hotel, pleasant rooms superb views from balcony. Breakfast buffet was fine with a fair range of items. The staff was extremely helpful and spoke great english! The bar and restaurant was excellent and so much food to choose from!! Hope to return!

Room Tip: Rooms are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonleoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elvas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel was a very good choise. located in a very quiet place, wonderfull view from the terrace. agreable swiminng pool. facilities to a privete beach. the rooms are nice and confortable.
in a car its 5m. to the center of Cefalu.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatriz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two weeks this July. The hotel was very clean and airconditioned. The breakfasts were excellent and the evening meal in the little olive grove also good.
The staff were really helpful and friendly especially RosaMarie the receptionist and Daniele the pool barman. All the staff from cleaners to waiters were very very good.
Our room was clean and airconditioned with balcony and distant sea view. We stayed away from the pool area so area outside our room was quiet.
The swimming pool is medium sized but very nice. They have tennis court too.
The hotel has a private rocky beach about 50 metres behind the hotel...no one ever there so if you dont mind the rocks its great. Also There is also a shared sandy beach about a ten minute walk away where the hotel has a roped off area on the beach that it shares with other hotels.
The hotel is about 5 kilometres away from Cefalu. Ideally use this hotel if you have or want to hire a car. Plenty of parking. Getting into Cefalu is okay as there is a paying bus about 5 times a day. The hotel offers a shuttle service but you need to book in advance and the times are limited, but its free. A taxi to Cefalu should not cost more than 15 euros. Always ask the price first because if you dont they use the meter and it will cost 20-22 euros !! This hotel is definitely better suited to car users but not impossible otherwise. There is a fab roof terrace on the third floor with panoramic views all over the sea, Cefalu and the mountains. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the swimming pool...much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have stayed in Baia del Capitano for three nights last week. The place is incredible: the rooms are very comfortable and are cleaned every day, including the change of all washing supplies; the stuff is extremely welcoming and you'll never pass by anyone without receiving a smile and an Italian greeting. The hotel is located around one km from Cefalu city centre, where you can easily get by car or taxi and also they have a shuttle bus transfers during the day. We have also been recommended Vecchia Maria as a restaurant when we asked where to eat at the reception and we were not disappointed! Maljk, a bar on the Rivera, was also a spot on place for cocktails after the dinner. The hotel has two private beaches near by: the rocky beach was just 2 minutes walk literarily and the sandy beach is 5 minutes away. I wouldn't say it was sandy/stoney beach but the stuff there made sure that you are able to get on a sandy part in the sea without problems by building a path of some sort. As an alternative, you could try the beach in Cefalu itself - it looked extremely nice in the evening but I don't really know how busy it is during the day and what is the boat interference in the area. We had breakfast included in the price and were also very happy with the quality of food and service. We also asked if we could have our breakfast half an hour earlier the opening time, since we had to go to the airport, and that was also resolved without any hassle at all. If you are looking for a place in Cefalu, Baia del Capitano won't disappoint you!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umniaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 36 in Cefalu
713 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
2.3 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cefalu
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#6 of 36 in Cefalu
78 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro
2.2 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#1 of 36 in Cefalu
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia del Capitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia del Capitano

Property: Hotel Baia del Capitano
Address: Contrada Mazzaforno, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cefalu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia del Capitano 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic four star hotel with Mediterranean design, that can guarantee a "wonderful stay" for a couple's romantic getaway, a "relaxing holiday" for families with children, a "dream wedding feast " for bridal couples . The hotel offers its guests a stay of pure sea, thanks to its private beach of fine sand, but also the rediscovery of nature, thanks to the private access to the cliff. For those who wish to only enjoy the Sicilian sun, the hotel has a swimming pool surrounded by olive trees. The restaurant offers a rich and abundant intercontinental breakfast, light lunches to continue to enjoy the sea and also theme dinners to rediscover the Mediterranean cuisine. For those who love relaxation and tranquility immersed in nature, the hotel offers an efficient shuttle service just outside of Cefalù, and organizes excursions to all places of interest in Sicily as well as offering all of its facilities for a pleasant stay, from a large parking area protected from the sun to free Wi-Fi. It's time to find out how special we can make your holiday in Cefalù ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Baia del Capitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Del Capitano Cefalu
Baia Del Capitano Hotel Cefalu
Hotel Baia Del Capitano Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing