We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riva del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riva del Sole
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Cefalu
northern kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Spotlessly clean, beautifully located on the beach. Our room faced the ocean, had a balcony, was spacious. The beach is beautiful sand. We were there in April, so the season was very early, which may explain the minimal breakfast.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face away from the beach. Some face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonostudente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    102
    53
    29
    13
See reviews for
54
159
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Good location in a beautyful town. The room we had was big enough for two people and the beds were ok. But the breakfast was poor, mostly paistries. Really rude management. The deco is dated and the hotel is overpriced. Don´t stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellinor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
87 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

The hotel is a great position: beachfront, very close to bars and restaurants and to the city center. Yet, it is easy to reach and park your car. Stayed in a quadruple room and it was big enough and clean. Breakfast was tasteless: you had to order extra for scrambled eggs or omelettes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulista1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stopped at this hotel and selected it because of its location right on the waterfront. The hotel had a small paved parking lot adjacent to the property which was filled, but the reception staff lead us to a unpaved lot, 50 meters west of the main entrance. We obtained a room on the second floor, facing the water. Overall the hotel and the room was clean, organized and fully operational; however it just looked and felt old. The elevator was small and slow, but it worked. The furniture in the lobby and our room looked old but well maintained. Once in our room, we noticed that the bathroom was "raised"- one had to step up to get in the bath, and step down when returning to the room. This was unusual and we made a mental note to ourselves to be cautious during the night. The Wi-Fi connection was free and pretty good throughout the hotel and on the balcony. Breakfast was decent, with a few cold cuts and cheeses and italian pasteries, bread, coffee and juices. Nothing too impressive. The hotels location on the waterfront and a very short walk to the old town tourist area are the main attributes. This is a fine hotel for a couple of days but not more.

Room Tip: I think they charged a few extra euros for a ocean facing room - its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goodinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of a week visiting other areas of Sicily.The hotel staff were very welcoming with easy car parking and assistance with luggage a bonus in the modern era. The room was fine [we opted for a more expensive sea facing room] Comfortable bed,good wi-fi connection and little noise from outside were all pluses. Only disappointment in the room was the lack of hot water in the shower . Only other negative was the limited breakfast-lovely location in the garden area but lacking healthy cereals. As others have noted, location is great -opposite the beach and close to the old town. Cefalu is a gem with a beautiful old town full of good restaurants and shops. The beach is very good -it was still very warm and the sea was perfect for both serious swimming and "paddling". The hotel was generally good and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Front,beach facing rooms on the first floor are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miklisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much in spite of some of the negative comments below being true. Optimal position opposite the beach, 2 minutes walk from the old town - maybe 5 to the duomo. Good parking arrangements. All that stops me giving 5 points is the feeling, expressed many times below, that they (the owners) don't really want you there and that as long as you are there, they want to rip you off. The 'extra's for breakfast include fresh orange juice at 3 Euros!

Room Tip: If you like spending time in your room, you need a sea view. The 'garden view' which we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanDare_SN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is right across from the ocean. We had a room with a balcony and wonderful ocean view. When I tried to book with the hotel, they wanted me to take the 1/2 board but we wanted to be free to explore in town so I reserved on booking.com and got a much better price with only breakfast included.

The rooms were very nice but the air conditioning isn't great. The staff was amazing! We looked forward to going to breakfast, not only because there was a great selection of food but because the staff was so charming! We were hesitant to book it because of some of the reviews we read but other than the air conditioning not being great (which is normal for Sicily), everything was wonderful!

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the main town which is filled with delightful stores and wonderful restaurants. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa_in_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#11 of 35 in Cefalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#5 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#1 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astro Suite Hotel
Astro Suite Hotel
#4 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kalura
Hotel Kalura
#7 of 35 in Cefalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riva del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riva del Sole

Property: Hotel Riva del Sole
Address: Via Lungomare G Giardina, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riva del Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riva del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Del Sole Cefalu
Riva Del Sole Hotel
Hotel Riva Del Sole Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing