We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not feel welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Club Costa Verde
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Clean, nicely decorated, air conditioned and well maintained rooms.

We had the all inclusive package which was little more over full board than a limited drinks package. There was a minimal choice of drinks - liqueurs but no spirits and tasteless local alternatives to soft drinks. The bar staff were unfriendly as indeed were the reception staff. I'm not entirely sure whether this was because we weren't paying - and therefore really tipping for drinks - or because as other reviewers have mentioned the whole place caters towards French and Italian speakers.

The food was buffet style for all three meals. Breakfast was mostly continental with a limited selection of hot food. Lunch and dinner were essentially the same with a large selection of antipasti, pasta and meat/fish. The food was tasty but repetitive. We were a party of two and on day two had another pair of English speakers placed at our table. This wasn't entirely unwelcome but we didn't have a choice and I imagine some people may prefer their privacy.

The hotel was very easy to get to in our rental car and there was ample parking. The area was beautiful and the local town of Cefalu is packed with lovely bars, shops and restaurants.

Overall I had a great holiday but it was let down by a mediocre hotel experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davewindslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 721 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

The holdiay may have a disabled chair access but it is not buggy friendly. A minimum of six steps getting in and out of the hotel. Entertainment is not in English although they did try with the annoucements after I complained to Thomson. The kids club was a none starter. The staff where all teenagers who only spoke afew words of English at best. For every session they took the kids to the water park down the hill. There was no way I was going to leave my 4 and 5 year old there. Food was basic but fine. Again they did not cater for children at all. This is a lovely hotel if you are adults and not interested in the entertainment but for a familly with young kids it was a complete non starter and real dissapointment.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a low floor garden view. You will get the airconditioning unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We enjoy our family vacation in Costa Verde, Cefalu very much. The staff is very nice and helpful (we asked for a birthday cake for our son). Food was very fresh and all variation of seafood, pasta, salads, steaks.....
Animation team make a very good job every day! Hotel has a private beach - very clean.
We fully recommend hotel for a family holiday.

Room Tip: rooms with not a seaside view are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VillaSiestaSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

While this hotel has good rooms, friendly staff and a wide variety of food in the buffet restaurant, British visitors should be aware of the following:
The majority of the hotel's guests are French and all entertainment is in their language.
The beach is only accessible via a courtesy bus because a main road separates it from the hotel.
The timings of the courtesy bus to and from Cefalu do not allow an evening out in the pretty and welcoming town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCRldn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it was relatively cheap in the area and got good reviews on food, accommodation etc.
When we arrived, we noticed we had two single beds, instead of 1 double bed. The receptionist (who was not at all friendly) said it would be sorted out, and a few hours later we had a double bed. No complaints there (except for the unfriendliness of the receptionist).
We arrived in the morning, so at noon we were hungry but we had booked breakfasts and evening dinners only. We were led to believe by the description on the website that the hotel had a few restaurants/places to eat a little snack. Not so! We could only eat at the restaurant for a fixed price of 20 EUR per person. We did, because we had no other option. In the restaurant, the weirdest thing was the eating concept. We were allocated a table for the rest of our stay. Nothing strange here, but we had to share the table with 3 other couples! The restaurant was full of big round tables, seating 8, and everyone just had to sit where they were told. Needless to say, this was not something we were anticipating. Every mealtime, from then on, was just eating quick or hoping we were alone at the table.
Our stay was not all bad, of course. The biscuits at breakfast were delicious, and the pasta's were always tasty (everyday more or less the same, but tasty). Plus ice cream every evening. Always a treat.
We rented a car for 5 days and then we were a lot more relaxed. We went sightseeing in the area (or even further) and only used the hotel to sleep and eat. For this, the hotel is perfect. I cannot tell you anything about the animation, simply because we did not participate in anything they offered.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a quite room, otherwise you'll hear the animation at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Costa Verde for 2 weeks returning 7/7/2013.This is the worst hotel we have stayed In. We have been to Italy many times[fantastic]and many other countries in Europe. The
hotel is very isolated ,nowhere to go for a walk, motorway at the front of the hotel.Free courtesy bus to the beach which is clean and the beach games were really good with lots of fun. Evening entertainment was only French/Italian , we complained to reception. told them Guiseppe should say British people not English ,we, are not all English, he said it once. The food was a lot of repeats ,the so called bacon at breakfast was disgusting more fat than meat. The bar staff were very rude to Brits. The hotel could do with a total refurbish as its dull and dismal .Not for British holidaymakers THOMSON should take it out there brochure .DON'T go there!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: There aren't any as the lifts are terrible 2 for 380 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 3BBM4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've been twice in this hotel, and I'll go again this year. Who is crazy enough to watch the 'Godfather' land, do not miss it! This is the real Sicilia! If you like the octopus, the squid do not be shy! The wines are really good for dinner after a long walk through town. Never mind that your room you see the mountain. The service is very good, but unfortunately the staff only speaks Italian, or French. Unfortunately, the animators who are very young and inexperienced, a little despise those who do not speak Italian and French, and English only. It is certainly wrong! Points are the rooms I expected. There is no disappointment. This is Sicilia! It's not important! Who cares it's not like the Radisson Hotel. Why not here on vacation. If you're hungry and you just paid for half board, all right, go into the city by bus is cheap, buy at the convenience store, and resolved at all. The store is cheaper than if you order a lunch at the hotel. It's not worth what it contains. Not everyone is a millionaire! The sea is beautiful, very wavy and gritty, take a bath shoes!
I suggest everyone who likes a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Hotel Baia del Capitano
#13 of 36 in Cefalu
358 reviews
4.8 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
3.6 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia e le Sabbie d'Oro
3.7 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cefalu
473 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Kalura
Hotel Kalura
#8 of 36 in Cefalu
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Costa Verde

Address: Contrada San Nicola, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range: $124 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Club Costa Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Club Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costa Verde
Costa Verde Cefalu
Hotel Club Costa Verde Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing