We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, it surely not a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Club Costa Verde
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yes, it surely not a 4 star hotel”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Hi
I just want to back up some of the previoyus reviews.
This is not a 4 star hotel, more somewhere between 2 and 3.
You need to be able to speak Italian/French. All activities for adults and children is based on this.
The buffet food is OK, but not anything close to the Italian food experience you want to have.
You need a car !
This socalled water world you can access at extra cost is very small compared to what the kids are used to at other Italian vacation areas.
Greetings from Denmark

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danish_Greetings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    255
    161
    88
    64
See reviews for
321
168
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We have just arrived home from the Costa Verde, and i have to say, the hotel was amazing for what we paid. The staff are very friendly, and work ever so hard. The facilities are top notch, and there are always activities going on such as water aerobics, archery, yoga, dicos, dancing, live music etc.
All meals are buffet based. The breakfast includes halved hotdogs, scrambled eggs, and bacon, as well as croissants, bread, cakes, cereals and fruits. We were only on bed and breakfast, although we did go for dinner one night which was once again a buffet, for 20 euros each which was supposed to include a bottle of wine, which we never got, and ended up paying 11 euros for one.
The dinner varied from salads, fresh fish, roast meats and pasta which you could just help yourself to. We personally didnt eat 20 euros worth.
The Costa Verde is located about 5 minutes away from its own private beach which a free shuttle bus runs to ever 15 minutes. Its also about 20 mins away from the local town of Cefalu which is 3.30 euros return coach ride from the hotel. However, the last bus comes back at 7.30pm, and from then on your pretty much stuck in the hotel with the live music, and there is nowhere else to go from then.
We found that not many of the staff spoke English, except from a few who had studied in England before.

The hotel is contemporary, and very clean. Definitely worth a visit.
I would certainly return to this hotel again, just for the wonderful staff and service aswel as the beautiful cobbled streets of Cefalu.
Would just recommend something to keep occupied on the 2 hour journey to and from the airport!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halles182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Some of the previous reviews had valid points. It is a bit out of the way, no nipping to the village. We could not fault the food, a good choice of menu and plenty of it. Large clean rooms, linen changed daily. The entertainment committee looked about 17 and had little idea of what people over 17 wanted, their main task seemed to be to shout in the microphone as often as possible. Not many of the staff speak English, but if you tried to speak Italian it went a long way, our efforts, with the help of "Italian for travellers", were sometimes laughed at, but they did help our pronunciation, we came back speaking a little Italian. Our biggest gripe would be the tours, not value for money. We booked several, but the one for the Valley of the Temples was the worst, 48 Euro, on arriving there another 11Euro entry, then we were taken to a restaurant and charged 15 Euro for a very poor meal. On saying that, the Valley of the Temples was worth seeing, if you can get the cost down. We met nice people both staff and visitors.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is a hotel to be avoided at all costs unless you have hired a car, will tolerate two star standards (no matter what the place is billed as) and do not have expectations of the sumptuous Sicilian food described in the guide books. This hotel is in a totally isolated location some kilometres from the resort of Cefalu. A shuttle bus is provided by the hotel but at a cost of 3.3 euros return, departing and returning at infrequent times, the last one returning to the hotel at 19:30. This means that if you are unfortunate enough to be in this place on Bed and Breakfast only, you will have to go into Cefalu to find a restaurant and if you want to return later than 19:30 you will need a taxi (18 euros). The cold breakfast menu was a stodgy mix of croissants, stale bread, cakes, tinned fruit, cereals and yoghurt, the “hot” menu was frankly a disgrace : tinned and curling frankfurter sausages, strips of greasy meat intended to represent bacon and what appeared to be reconstituted scrambled egg in a dish of water. The lukewarm coffee was barely a saving grace. The dinners were edible but hardly a credit to a motorway service restaurant and the variety was poor. Some of the staff in the serving area (all men for some reason) were rude to the point of being offensive. The room we were in had a king sized bed but little else. There was no welcome pack, hotel manual, hospitality tray, kettle or adequate storage space. There was a television and fridge, both disabled unless you paid up and air-conditioning which apparently doesn’t start working until some date in June. To make matters even worse there was hellish loud music and demented shouting through a microphone in the area adjacent to the accommodation block, which went on until the small hours despite repeated complaints.
I do not recommend that anyone should consider staying here - apparently it was the first hotel to be built in the area, it should be the first one to be pulled down and consigned to history.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Miles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cefalu hotels

isle of man
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

This goes down as one of my worst holidays ever the Hotel is supposed to be 4 Star but i have stayed in better 3 star the breakfast is foul we had halved hotdog sausages every morning i lived on bread and jam.
The hotel is in the middle of nowhere its too dangerous to go walking due to heavy traffic and the shuttle bus which you have to pay for is useless for example if you want to go out for an evening meal in Cefalu forget it the bus last pick up is 7:30 pm the restuarants dont open until 7pm ! the rest of the service is so intermittent and far apart its useless so under no circumstances would i stay there Bed and Breakfast again as i was forced to upgrade for myself and partner to halboard at great expense otherwise we would have starved.There is no room service for food and the bar is supposed to serve food this is no consistent and the food is microwaved pizza and pasta if they can be bothered. We arrived at around 1pm in the morning there was no way to get anything to eat or drink and nothing in the fridges in the rooms and no kettle or tea making facilities!
There are only one or 2 people in the hotel who can speak English it is totally geared to the French and Italians.
Evening meals were ok once more people arrived (French )
The beach is a shuttle bus as well and is also intermittent.

we were put into a sea view room after moaning about the view of the wall at the back but then all you can hear is heavy motorway traffic which is bang next door to hotel.
Give it a miss and find one closer to town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fitzandindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I have to echo many of the sentiments mentioned by the other English speaking reviewers. We had this hotel on an allocated on arrival deal and it was not mentioned in our tour operator's brouchure.

The hotel was clean and the room of an OK standard with a reasonably good sea view however very few of the staff spoken any English. I had to use my very poor and rusty French otherwise we would have gotten no service at all. The staff where courteous but the English guests were largely ignored as far as activites or hotel facilities were concerned. Please note that I do not have the belief that everyone in the world should speak English but if the hotel is not geared for English guests then do not send us there. The French where well catered for in comparison.

This in not a four star hotel, no air con as we were informed this was because the season started the follow week and air con was not on until then. No tea/coffee materials in the room. The bar had a very limited menu and even that was on certain days of the week. I looked at the Aqua Verda park across the dual carraigeway at the front of the hotel, it looked fun but it was closed. Most of the other faciliies ware also closed during our stay 07/05-14/05.

The food in the hotel was of a poor standard I feel because cheap ingredients were used rather then the cooking. We travelled with our 3 year old child and after over two hour on the coach we had no refreshments on arrival late at night so we were very hungry in the night/morning. We were promised a luch time meal before we left at the end of the stay but were told on our last day that we where not allowed it!.

The location was poor. I can confirm what other people have said about the expensive taxis and irregular bus times. You cannot walk anywhere particulary with a small child as the roads are scary when walking.

Sicily is a beautiful place and Cefau is very nice but I feel that the way the operators managed this holiday, the way our guide performed and the hotel in general almost ruinned my little one's first holiday.

We will be complaining to the tour operator but no doubt the company line will be that you paid for allocated on arrival than that is what you got.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wolfo274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Just returned from our 3rd holiday at this Hotel - yet again we are amazed at the high standard of food, service and hospitality, the holiday was perfect from start to finish. The choice of food is superb and if you cannot find anything to your liking then you must be impossible to please! Staff go out of their way to please you, the very spacious Hotel is immaculate throughout and there are courtesy buses every 15 minutes to transport you to the private beach where you can also have your lunch. Superb entertainment every night, cheap bus direct into Cefalu if you require. Hopefully we will be returning next year and know we will have a fantastic holiday - Well Done Costa Verde !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawsons81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cefalu
4.8 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
1.5 mi away
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Hotel Baia del Capitano
#12 of 36 in Cefalu
333 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cefalu
444 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
#3 of 6 in Campofelice di Roccella
926 reviews
6.5 mi away
Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni
Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni
#2 of 6 in Campofelice di Roccella
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Costa Verde

Property: Hotel Club Costa Verde
Address: Contrada San Nicola, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Club Costa Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Club Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Costa Verde
Costa Verde Cefalu
Hotel Club Costa Verde Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing