We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great 4 of 5”
Review of Hotel Kalura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kalura
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were kindly greeted at this hotel and immediately found out that it is basically 100% german guests. With that out of the way, this hotel is in a very good location outside of the city of Cefalu. There is a quick bus you can take to the city center, but if you're looking for the city feel, this is not your spot. Hotel Kalura had a very nice private beach (concrete platform) which was incredibly relaxing. The natural rock formations contributed with an exotic feel. The restaraunt was very good for all three meals, which you'll likely dine at for all three. We took at 10 euro cab from the train station and a 10 euro cab to the center of the city. I won't stay here again, but I'd recommend it to any couples looking for a relaxing, quiet, and clean stay! The hotel stay was very friendly and always helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 769 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

For the price of this hotel I was expecting a lot more. We had an outdated and old fashioned room which looked nothing like the photo on the website. The room was poorly cleaned during our stay and they never changed the bed sheets. However the worst part of the room was the bed, it was terribly lumpy and so uncomfortable both me and my partner ended our stay with bad backs! Breakfast was average with poor quality produce and bad tasting coffee which considering we were in Italy was totally unacceptable. The best part of Hotel Kalura was the private beach which whilst it was concrete was beautiful with clear blue sea and a helfpul attendant to hand out sunbeds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniela j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Kalura the final evening of a two week stay in Sicily. This was a splurge hotel for us and we were not disappointed. The hotel has a resort feel to it as it is just outside Cefalu central, and has all the amenities of a resort. The rooms are amazing, the private beach is perfect, and the dining room has a beautiful view of the sea. The staff is courteous, and speak very good English. I especially appreciated the free parking. We will definitely stay here again when visiting the beautiful city of Cefalu.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BassoII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location - Superb views - excellent staff (especially the 3 waiters during the day time) - lovely ambience - stylish pool area - secluded beach - fine sized rooms - good aircon.
JUST BOOK IT!!! You will not be disappointed.
Cefalu town has super restaurants, fine shops and some of the best Gelato in Sicily.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lightfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

A typical resort offering holidays in Cefalu. It is on its eastern part, a 30 min walk from the town. It enjoys a privileged access to a nice beach at Kalura bay. The facilities are a bit 80s. The rooms are basic, no thrills, a bit worn out. Poor breakfast (especially if you stay there several days). Nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomaszsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've just returned from a holiday in Sicily, where I spent my first 2 nights at this hotel in Cefalu. The hotel is beautiful and we were upgraded to a better room for free of charge. The room we were given was a family room which was clean and had the necessary facilities, my only slight criticism is that the air con did not seem powerful enough for the entire room. The hotel grounds are exceptional, with a perfect large swimming pool and some really breath taking views. I found the staff really helpful and cheery and the breakfast was amazing, with such a great choice of food.

I have travelled to a number of hotels in Europe, the US and Asia and can honestly say that this is one of the best and I will definitely return.

Access to the beach was a real positive for me as it gave me a chance to practice my snorkelling skills and was a nice way to end the day.

I found the staff really friendly especially Angelo the waiter, I only wish that we tried the food in the hotel as the vista was wonderful.

It is a walk into town and on a hot day it seemed quite a walk, but on our way back we got a taxi for €10.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stu26England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel has excellent facilities and a good sized car park at the front. The main hotel is built on top of a rock outcrop and overlooks the bays in either direction. We stayed in a room called Lipari which is situated beneath the main hotel and off the steps down to the private beach. This location gave us a feeling of privacy and peace and quiet.
The room was very generous in size with a very large double bed in an area that could be separated from the rest of the room by a curtain. There was also a double sofa bed that could also be used. As well as the fridge there were two rings that could be used to heat food.
The bathroom was also very pleasing.
Breakfast was provided in the main part of the hotel with an option to sit outside on the terrace if you wanted to. All tastes were catered for on a buffet style but there were no shortages of food.
We walked into Cefalu each evening which took about 30 minutes. We would have hopped on a bus to return but the last one leaves Cefalu at 8.30 pm however there were no shortage of taxis that cost 10 euros.
The private beach was stunning for swimming with options to hire a canoe or scuba diving.
The only negative thing I can say is that at lunchtime the staff in the bar need some help as it takes far to long to get a drink or a snack.
We stayed for 3 nights and both felt sad to leave and wished we had booked longer at this hotel.

Room Tip: Lipari is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petez324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
3.5 mi away
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Hotel Baia del Capitano
#13 of 36 in Cefalu
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#4 of 36 in Cefalu
112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#3 of 36 in Cefalu
757 reviews
1.2 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cefalu
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalura

Address: Via Vincenzo Cavallaro 13, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
#10 Family Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range: $128 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kalura 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zimmer im 2 Stock ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kalura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalura Hotel Cefalu
Hotel Kalura Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing