We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel set on a quiet private beach, and outstanding sea views.”
Review of Hotel Kalura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kalura
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Cefalu
Certificate of Excellence
Rescue, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel set on a quiet private beach, and outstanding sea views.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and just stayed 4 nights at this excellent hotel April 28- May 1, 2013. After a very long flight from California, U.S.A. (22+ hours) this was the perfect getaway to unwind, and enjoy the beautiful views from our 5th floor room that had a nice balcony. The hotel is located about an easy 20 minute walk from the town of Cefalu. The hotel grounds allow you to find the prefect hideaway to have a nice quiet time with your love one. There are lots of little nooks overlooking the sea at the hotel grounds to enjoy a nice quiet escape. We had room 508 and it was very nice. The hotel breakfast was just outstanding. The best we have ever had in our 3 previous trips to Italy. It is very quiet and relaxing at this hotel. The staff was excellent and met our every need quickly and with a smile. You will enjoy your stay at the Hotel Kalura.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    288
    103
    36
    23
See reviews for
139
405
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was keen to find a hotel that offered a flavour of Cefalu, and indeed Sicily. Let's be clear, Hotel Kalura is a generic, European style hotel and owing to the German management, a lot of the information about excursions, classes available etc is in German and not always available in other languages. There was practically no evidence of Sicilian culture.
It is also worth mentioning that the hotel is situated some way out of Cefalu itself; a coastal path leads directly from the hotel to Cefalu and is a pleasant walk, taking around 30 minutes in total. A bus stop is also situated directly outside the hotel, although we didn't find the service to be very regular.
If you are looking for a place to relax, however, that has a lot of amenities on site (including pool, sports facilities, dive school, private beach, restaurant, bar etc). and you aren't particularly seeking Sicilian culture, then Hotel Kalura could well be worth looking at. Whilst there, I utilized the dive school to hire snorkel mask and flippers, and found the staff at the school to be friendly, professional and helpful and keen to ensure that I got as much from my snorkeling experience as possible.
However, customer service in other parts of the hotel was at times lacking. We stayed for 4 nights and changed room half way through our stay due to a faulty air conditioning unit, which was noisy and disrupting our sleep. An older gentleman on reception was nothing short of rude when we reported this. Other staff, however, were more forthcoming and ensured that we were able to transfer rooms as quickly as possible.
Due in part to the distance into Cefalu, we also ate several meals at the hotel restaurant and were not disappointed. The buffet breakfast offered a good selection of European options, although the way it was arranged was a little haphazard and it was easy to miss some of the options; be sure to have a good wander around first!
There are some aspects of the hotel which are outstanding; the view across the bay from the restaurant/bar/patio area is spectacular and if you have a young family, there were plenty of facilities on site; in addition to a splash pool, there was a children's playground. Bikes were also available for hire. The private beach is also great, particularly if you want to snorkel or dive; the rocks harbour all sorts of interesting sea life!
However, the lack of Sicilian culture, the at times lack of customer service and the fact that the hotel does look a little dated, mean that we have given Hotel Kalura 3 stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_sh0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The location of the hotel is superb because of the stunning views. Breakfast on a nice and sunny terrace with this view, who could ask for more. The hotel has a swimming pool but it is a far better experience to swim in the crystal clear sea in front of the hotel. In half an hour you can reach Cefalu, a very nice village, by foot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdriaanaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
729 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Despite being out of season and all the hotels in the area being on strike, the hotel honoured our booking and were really welcoming. The room had a stunning sea view which would be even better in the summer. The breakfast was lovely and the owners were really helpful with recommendations and directions. You can walk to the town easily, along a sea road in about 15 minutes. A lovely stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hotel Kalura has a lovely area for swimming and sunbathing that allows you to plunge right into the crystal clear Mediterranean from a concrete platform. For those preferring a beach there is a pebble one next to the hotel as well.

The view from the balcony is absolutely astonishing. Would say it is a must to pay extra for a room with a sea view as the other rooms faced the parking which would bring down the overall impression of the hotel.

Rooms as such are a bit out dated and not very cozy but functional. A word of warning if service of staff is important for you – this is non-existing and staff on several occasions boarder lined rude. Also a minus for charging 5 EUR for pool towels. A last comment to take into account is that the hotel is a 30 minute walk to town.

What brings the hotel up is the location and view. Never had a more beautiful view from our balcony.

Best –Views, Swimming area
Good – Breakfast
Not so good – Staff friendliness (or lack thereof)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheSymmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I like how much we got for low price we paid, breakfast was good but seved outside on terace on sun even better. Bad thing is that Wifi was not available in the rooms, there is not clasical shower so water goes all around toilet. Furniture is a little bit outdated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalmatiner021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Arrived expecting two beds, got one, and were immediately upgraded to a suite with not only two but three beds and two bedrooms, two terraces, and changing room. Awesome! And at no extra cost. As a swimmer, I was eager to clammer down the stairs to the jewel of a swimming cove which included rock formations worthy of a serious sketch. So I swam. And I sketched. I rose at dawn, passing the yoga class, down to the sea, swam way out and looked back at Hotel Kalura while floating on my back, taking in the pink sky and warm water. Travel perfection. I ignored the bar and restaurant in favor of charming places in town, even though the setting of the restaurant on a huge terrace overlooking the sea is wonderful. This is a big hotel...I was expecting something smaller. But I was able to find intimatcy here in spite of the hotel's size. Nice Yamaha grand piano (unlocked) in the lobby. Played a bit...beautiful instrument. Service professional and friendly. Clean enough for me, that said I'm not the type to check the corners.
IMPORTANT: DO NOT MISS THE BUS SERVICE TO TOWN WHICH IS AT THE ENTRANCE TO THE HOTEL. It stops running too early (about 8pm) but otherwise provides easy transit to the city provided you write down the bus schedule from the sign posted at the bus stop. If you get stuck in town and don't want to walk back (about 30 minute walk), it costs $12 to get back. Worth it in my opinion and I love to walk. Final comment: the cove is so lovely for swimming that snorkeling groups show up her for their "classes", and also scuba divers. Don't expect alot of colorful fish or corals.

Room Tip: Must have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChairWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
0.1 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#5 of 37 in Cefalu
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cefalu
429 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#1 of 37 in Cefalu
705 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Hotel Baia del Capitano
#12 of 37 in Cefalu
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalura

Property: Hotel Kalura
Address: Via Vincenzo Cavallaro 13, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
#10 Family Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kalura 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zimmer im 2 Stock ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kalura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalura Hotel Cefalu
Hotel Kalura Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing