We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astro Suite Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$161
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kalura(Cefalu)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$199
$193
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$401
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lirma B&B(Cefalu)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
279
85
16
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
85
16
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall poolold townopposite the beachkept spotlessly cleanwell stocked supermarketbasement garagestaff are outstandingrooms have a sea viewself caterfully equipped kitchenfree beacha ground floor apartmentprepare simple mealsexcellent hoteldining tableshort strollcontinental breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 385 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel is lovely very minimalist, fresh & clean looking & the staff are really friendly.

There is 2 parts to the hotel with the reception in the middle, trouble is you are either really lucky & get a room facing the front street & the rock, or like ourselves facing the sea & the large building site next door! Which we was told by the Thompson rep is a none working building site for 2 yrs now, & it does literally look like they have just left for the day! However as much as we could see the sea sat on our balcony, we could see the building site! & couldn't sit on the balcony as far too hot, but luckily there is a rear balcony so sat on that, but would have loved one of the other rooms so that we would have been able to look towards the town, (funfair pales into comparison to the building site), but the rooms are really soundproof as well & the aircon was very quiet.

Great working kitchen we made a few meals & the fridge worked great too, we took some ice cube bags for the cheap gin you can buy, (just under 5 euros) so happy there.

I agree with the other reviewer about the bed it was hard & gave me a sore back. The breakfast was fine more than enough to choose from & the staff quickly refilled items that was disappearing.

The town itself is absolutely gorgeous I fell in love with it, lots of lovely shops & very friendly people, gorgeous icecreams everywhere! Lots of cobbled side streets where the locals live, loved them & you would find a restaurant on every street which we had a few meals out & all was excellent.

The beach & sea was lovely, but oh my the people trying to sell you anything from iPhone cases, towels, sarongs, etc was a real pain, every 5 mins saying no thank you, not very relaxing!, & the Coco man .. Very loud nearly bursting an eardrum, like a town cryer!

Would definitely go back to cefalu again & would go the Astro Suite again but only if I knew I wasn't going to be next door to a building site!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank albobLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is very well run, spotlessly clean, and the staff cannot do enough for you. Breakfast is fit for the gods, I often had strawberries, cherries and apricots, covered with yoghurt. Pig out with as much as you like! There is also the usual bread rolls, meats, cheeses and cereals + a coffee machine (my favourite was cappuccino).

There is a back entrance which is a shortcut to the supermarket. Just let reception know you want to use the back gate and it will be open by the time you get there. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony, watching the police stopping people on scooters for not wearing crash helmets, or for having the straps undone, explaining to the kids that there's nothing cool about lying in the road doing an impression of Humty Dumpty.

The only downside I could find was the hard bed which gave me crippling back ache, and I often had to get up in the night and walk around to relieve this, but then some people like hard beds!
There is also the kiddies funfair next door which only seems to play one tune, I think it's called "DUM-DUM-DUM by the Dum-Dum-Dumbers", made especially for the back-to-front baseball cap brigade.
Another pain in the rectum was a man on the beach selling a coconut drink. He can be heard on the beach from around 9am till mid evening calling "CO-CO-CO-CO-CO----CO", non-stop.

These are obviously my personal gripes and shouldn't stop anyone enjoying their holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sodthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Astro is located just 20 meters from the beach, Therese is a main Road in front of the hotel, but its a oneway street, so its not so annoying. The roooms are spotless, big and comfortable. The staff cleans Them everyday. The staff in general is very friendly and helpful. There is a breakfast buffet, a bit simple, but ok. The only thing that prevents full pot is the surroundings of the hotel. Some noise from a nearby workplace. And a big parkinglot on the other side. All in all we where very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hotel bright modern and clean superb staff.Location for the beach brilliant(with sun beds/towels supplied without charge).
However our rooms were at the front entrance to the Hotel 30ft from a very busy/noisy road especially at the weekend also there was a Childrens Amusement Park 100yds down the road which thumped out loud music from early evening till midnight.Although the room was fairly well sound proof. To sit out on the front balcony was not a restful experience.
Cefalau City was all quaint and narrow streets but scooters and cars were at you from all directions the locals do not poopscoop the dog mess and the streets were littered with discarded cigarette ends.

Room Tip: Front rooms all have a sea view go for 1st & 2nd Floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel has the advantages of small size, high standard of furnishing and equipment, location <100m from the sea and yet right in the town. Cefalu itself is a delightful place. Overlooked by the imposing La Rocca - well worth the walk up - it has many restaurants of which we must have tried at least six (we repeated some more than once) and found the food delicious, the service excellent and the staff very friendly; in fact, we found this to be uniformly the case wherever we went. If we were to recommend any, they would be Lily's Club, Ragna d'Oro (turn right out of the hotel and it is along on the right)Lily's is further on, just keep walking along the 'prom' until it narrows into a street and it is about 75m in front of you, and finally Al Victeola which is in one of the streets just before you get to Piazza di Duomo. There is a good train service to either Palermo or Messina and local
buses into the Madonie mountains lying behind the town. We would go back to Cefalu and the Astro Suite without hesitation. Go for it!

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, the sea being just across the 'prom' which runs right outside the gates. All rooms are actually small apartment s, with a kitchen /dining-room, bathroom and main bedroom leading onto the balcony. They are very well appointed throughout. The hotel staff are delightful and very helpful and knowledgeable.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews