We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent once again”
Review of La Plumeria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Plumeria Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Cefalu
Certificate of Excellence
Balmain, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Excellent once again”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We returned to La Plumeria hotel this year for two weeks and once again found it outstanding. The hotel is spotless, the staff are friendly & extremely helpful. Breakfast is all the usual goodies served in the dining room, on the patio or in the courtyard. The hotel is right in the centre of the historic town so everything is 2-5 mins walk away, including a small bay that you can swim in, the hotel will lend you beach towels if you don't have them. The parking is 10 mins walk away & the hotel pays for a taxi to and from hotel for you. The staff really make this hotel special, everyone seems happy to be working there.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedalsMoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    86
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
49
201
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in an excellent location near the Duomo and a 5 minute walk to the beach. There is no parking in the old town but the hotel offers a shuttle service to their car park down the hill (we walked up but be warned it's a bit challenging with bags). The interior of the hotel is charming, with antique furniture, huge urns and art on the walls. The rooms have air conditioning. The wifi is free and reliable. On the downside, we could hear doors banging in the hotel until 4.30am, which made for a disturbed night's sleep (you could try asking for a room away from the stairwell). The beds are a little on the small side and my feet hung off the end (I'm 185cm). The breakfast selection was poor, e.g. the choice of cereal was cornflakes or cocoa pops, and it was only open from 7.30 till 10.00am. The staff were very helpful and recommended a good restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We nearly walked past the hotel on our way from the railway station owing to its unassuming exterior, but once inside we were happy with everything that the hotel had to offer. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and our room was superb in all respects: large, bright (we had two windows) clean, comfortable and well-decorated, with a smart bathroom incorporating a powerful shower.
Our second day happened to be my wife's birthday and she was delighted to be presented with a light and delicious birthday cake for breakfast - the receptionist had noted the date from her passport on check-in.
Location is also brilliant, right on the main Corso Ruggiero, named after the Norman King who built the amazing Cathedral, or Duomo, which is 2 to 3 minutes walk away, while the beautiful beach was a further 10 minutes walk. Being on the main road meant that although the road was only a few feet wide, you got the constant noise from motor-scooters, day and night, but the bed was so comfortable that we hardly noticed it.
We stayed in six hotels during our tour, some were grander and with more facilities, but none were friendlier or more comfortable than La Plumeria (which means frangipane flower for those who are interested!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SemperteFallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Small & sweet near the Duomo. We left our car just a short ways off & the hotel paid for the taxi ride to & from the car. Our room was clean with a nice shower. The staff was very friendly & helped with dinner reservations. Breakfast was good. Cefalu was charming, we stayed in the old area & walked the beach road. We'll come back here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

You can't miss if you stay at La Plumeria. It is a three minute walk from the Cathedral and is located on the main street. Its a short walk to the beach, to the path to the Temple of Diana located high above the city and to the beach (8 Euros on weekdays, 10 on weekends with their discount gets you two chaise lounges and an umbrella). The room was spacious and the service friendly. They were very helpful with restaurant suggestions/reservations. The streets are narrow and noisy with lots of scooters and there was a lady hanging laundry on her balcony next to mine. Breakfast was included and quite good if not sumptuous. Overall a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We checked into a room on the second floor with an air conditioner that did not work. They switched...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Overall a great stay at La Plumeria. Friendly staff - eager to help out with every task. Location is perfect and you are close to everything. The hotel is very nicely furnished and there is a relaxing atmosphere to it. I recommend this hotel to everyone that does not need absolute silence when they sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nbt98001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a comfortable modern hotel in the centre of Cefalu. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Step out the door and you are in the main street, three minutes from the Duomo, the beach and some good restaurants. Best advice if you are driving is to contact the hotel about parking before you go - you cannot drive down the main street on which it is situated - they have parking half a km away and offer an efficient taxi service (free) to fetch you to and from the parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTN343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
0.6 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cefalu
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#1 of 36 in Cefalu
721 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Hotel Baia del Capitano
#12 of 36 in Cefalu
333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#5 of 36 in Cefalu
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Plumeria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Plumeria Hotel

Property: La Plumeria Hotel
Address: Corso Ruggero 185, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#9 Family Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Plumeria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Plumeria Hotel is situated near the famous Arab-Norman Cathedral and Cefalù 's splendid sandy beach, the building's elegant façade has been, which conscientiously preserved even with the railings retained in traditional Sicilian style. The Hotel faces the Corso Ruggero, the main street of the Norman town's historical center. The renovation was completed keeping the original late-medieval style and modernizing the rooms and the public areas at the same time. The hall, the lounge bar, the characteristic courtyard and internal garden, the dining room were all architecturally re-designed keeping local traditions and all are meticulously furnished with antique Sicilian furniture.The Rooms, from the enchanting single with a small terrace facing the Cathedral to the comfortable junior Suites that can comfortably accommodate an entire family, unite tradition with technology. Each has a balcony overlooking the traditional streets or courtyards of the historical center. Our young and qualified staff, our abundant homemade Breakfast, our Services, such as high-speed WiFi available throughout the building and the Parking Lot, located outside the city center and connected to the hotel with a free shuttle service, all contribute to a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your La Plumeria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plumeria Hotel Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing