We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb menu and quality of food”

Benvenuti AL GABBIANO
Ranked #18 of 127 Restaurants in Cefalu
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Superb menu and quality of food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was probably the best menu we found in Sicily during our travels. Such a wide range of dishes in pastas meats, fish and even vegetarian (not easy to find much choice in Sicily). Warning - these are larger than average portion sizes, so when we ordered 2 courses at lunch time we were stuffed, but it was of excellent quality and we just couldn't leave anything! First time we'd seen 4 cheese gnochi on a menu, whihc was great, but my seafood cous cous was just amazing. It came with 3 huge prawns on the top and had a lovely sauce. My main was pork fillets in a cream sauce which was also lovely. Just remember that if you want any sides you have to order them separately, like in most restaurants in Sicily. The staff we dealt with all spoke pretty good English and the menu was also translated into English. The restaurant is right on the sea front with a lovely view and laid on the most incredible looking buffet lunch. Wish this hadn't been just a day trip or we'd have eaten here every day!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chookybirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    293
    136
    64
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
173 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great setting. Average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were drawn to Al Gabbiano by its excellent location along the sea front and we really enjoyed the setting. Great people watching and a view of the sea. The service was very good. The food was ok, but certainly not up to the standards of the best Sicilian cuisine. The green salad was essentially a bit of chopped lettuce. The "prawns" in the taggliatore were tiny shrimp. The pasta sauce benefitted from olive oil but lacked that savoury flavour that good pasta sauces easily achieve.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank equus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great location - great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Like so many before us, thoroughly great experience at one of the first restaurants we tried on our long stay on Sicily. The 'seafood platter' antipasti, almost a meal in itself, was absolutely great as were the two mains - grilled calamari and pasta sarde. It was also our first experience of the famous Sicilian dolce, cannoli. Hard to say how it compared to others we subsequently had, but it was good, and so well presented - and only €2. Wine list was good, with many local ones, and not at the exhorbiant prices that by and large UK restaurants charge and on occasions to be found in tourist resorts around the world. Service was good without being over attentive and location on the lungomare made for a very pleasant evening - okay, so the warm weather helped! Unfortunately Al Gabbiano closes on the last day of October and the road opens up to traffic again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VCB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dining by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a tasty, tender swordfish steak that I could cut with my fork for 11 euros. You won't find a meal like that in southern California:) The best!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Try the mixed fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

my friend and I ate hereon 4 occasions on our recent vivit to Cefula. The mixed fish was especially good lods to eat and weel cooked lovely pasta dishes as well.
The restaurant seems to be well used by locals always a good sign Good Value for money

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane1955_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benvenuti AL GABBIANO also viewed

Cefalu, Province of Palermo
Cefalu, Province of Palermo
 
Cefalu, Province of Palermo
Cefalu, Province of Palermo
 
Cefalu, Province of Palermo
Cefalu, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Benvenuti AL GABBIANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing