We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Cefalu Sea Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cefalu Sea Palace
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Cefalu
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A very clean nice hotel with room with a sea and garden view. Rooms are large with nice bathrooms. We had a nice view on the ground floor to the sea and the swimmingpool. Staff was very friendly and spoke very good english. Free bath towels are available. The was Wifi in the hotel but not in the rooms itself. For this kind of hotels I think it is a must also free water as you can only drink water by a bottle. In all the hotel I stayed this was the most expensive and we the only hotel we had to pay for a bottle of water.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margot1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    172
    58
    15
    9
See reviews for
156
389
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton-Upon-Trent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Have just returned from an extremely enjoyable weeks holiday in Sicily staying at the Cefalu Sea Palace.The hotel ouzed quality and style from the moment we first arrived the reception staff were very friendly and courteous and good english was universally spoken.Our room on the third floor was large airy and very well appointed affording us from the decent sized balcony an exquisite sea view from over the pool/patio area.The bathroom was first rate with excellent quality fittings.All areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean and well maintained.The Pool and terrace area were both large and well appointed.The bar area was plesant and attentively staffed.We were booked on a B&B basis breakfast contrary to other reviews that i have read was plentifull and in comparison to other Italian hotels that we have stayed in had significant variety.
The hotel is located on the side of a quiet promenade opposite a beautifull white sand beach of which the hotel commands its own private section with free sunbeds and umberallas.The beach shelves gently into the sea which can be quite lively some of the time even sporting the odd surfer enjoying the breakers.The awesome "Old Town* is a ten minute stroll from the hotel along the seafront its glorious cobbled streets containing some exquisite shops and a multitude of superb restaurants and bars to choose from.
I would highly recomend both the resort of Cefalu and the superb Cefalu Sea Palace you will not be dissapointed with either as both exude wall to wall"Quality and Style"....

Room Tip: A Sea View room is a "Must"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andy_dimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I read some Tripadvisor reviews and was perhaps prepared to be disappointed by the hotel. However, all things considered, the hotel was better than I anticipated and we had a good experience there. We had a very nice room with a lovely bathroom and nice sized terrace with a good view of the pool terrace, garden and sea view. On reservation I asked for a quiet room on a higher floor and this is what we got. The furnishings were stylish and of good quality. Although the bed was huge, I didn't find it at all comfortable. It was very firm and rather like sleeping on a table top! The pillows were also very unforgiving - large rather rigid sponge with no possibility of plumping into a comfortable shape for sleep. I have to admit that my husband had no problem with this.
For breakfast there wasn't as much choice as some higher end hotels, but it was fine. There was lovelyfresh crusty bread- also bacon, sausage and scrambled and boiled egg; cheeses and cold meats and fresh tomato; the fresh ricotta cheese was absolutely lovely. Yogurts, jam and honey, tinned and fresh fruits, croissants and cakes. The coffee was dispensed by machine, but it was strong and hot.
We didn't have evening meals at the hotel, and spoke to another couple who were disappointed by their half board experience. We were told the meals were rather school dinnerish and atmosphere was lacking in the dining room.
There is a beautiful and very well maintained pool area and a lovely roof terrace which was used by an Italian wedding party when we were there. The rooms and hotel in general is very well cleaned. We found all of the staff to be pleasant and helpful, especially Fabrizio Cefalu - he is very cheerful and helpful.
The hotel is in an excellent location on the seafront about 10/15 minutes walk to the lovely old town. The private beach terrace was still being erected whilst we were there, but the sunbeds were laid out on the beach, which has nice clean golden sand . I would be happy to recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: I can't imagine that there would be any great problem with any of the rooms, but a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCjC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you are staying here at the receipt of a corporate freebie (which I would guess most people are), do make the most of it. Otherwise, if you are paying out of your own pocket, definitely go elsewhere! There is nothing you need or want here. You can walk to the beach/town from any hotel in town. We came back here after an early dinner in town, and everything was closed. No restaurant, front desk or bar open (It's late April now). The reception, (also the overnight "room service" staff) are here but not able or willing to give you anything you need or want after local supermarket/restaurant closing hours, including any food at all, or any other items listed on, but missing from, the mini bar (of which there were several). This is our experience of the room service, the point of which is a complete mystery to us. One of the main reasons we chose this hotel was because it advertised facilities such as room service and bar, which we needed due to late night arrival, but they really do let you down. We had garden view rooms which are fine, the windows are quite soundproof to the club over the road considering the hour (after midnight on a Wednesday night), the hotel staff (I would even say that they were as bad as rude, which is very far, for me) and late night facilities for a place of this star rating are highly disappointing. Anyone not on a company credit card or bill should definitely avoid. I'm writing this on my laptop which is plugged in via an ethernet cable, on the other side of the room from the bed, I asked for a longer cable and frankly they made me feel rude for asking for it, and this at $120 a night!). I feel like I'm in a bygone age without the beauty and grace (which I have found in many places in Sicily, I don't think it's unusual!). Personal customers definitely avoid!

Room Tip: 'sea view' is across a road, and while we were here over (above 2nd floor) a bus parked over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank debstar_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Located a few metres from the beach and is easy to find. WIFI throughout. Fabulous ocean views from the superior rooms with nice balcony. All staff speak good english Sheets and pillows are of a low quality and walls between rooms are a little thin. Most disappointing aspect is the quality of the food - breakfast is at best frugal & included nothing fresh - and the complete disinterest of staff in service. Price represents poor value versus more popular hotels in Cefalu and other popular locations like Taormina.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Battersea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked 3 nights in this hotel but after the first night we realised that we want to prolong our stay. The hotel has a great location, its own beach, swimming pool, sauna and spa centre. It's also situated walking distance from the centre of Cefalu. The roof of the hotel has couches and one of the evenings we were enjoying the sunset and the sea view sipping a glass of Italian wine.
The rooms a spacious and clean, bathrooms are huge! By the way the hotel seemed also a perfect location for a wedding! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Olivia_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here one night (off-season). It was easy to book a room the same day and very easy to park and get in and out of town. We were able to walk right down the beach into town. It was great for a large group of us the room were fairly large.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BonoAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
0.2 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cefalu
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#5 of 37 in Cefalu
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astro Suite Hotel
Astro Suite Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cefalu
354 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Kalura
Hotel Kalura
#7 of 37 in Cefalu
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cefalu Sea Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cefalu Sea Palace

Property: Cefalu Sea Palace
Address: Lungomare G. Giardina, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cefalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Cefalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cefalu
#3 Family Hotel in Cefalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cefalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cefalu Sea Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cefalu Sea Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cefalu Sea Palace Hotel Cefalu
Sea Palace Hotel Cefalu
Cefalu Sea Palace Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing