We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Buca del Gatto Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cecina
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had an 8 days stay with half board. When we arrived, we were very disappointed. The shower were broken, it smelled from the sink, wi-fi did not work and the dinner and breakfast buffet were below average. Not enough food and not great italian food like we know it.

Tennis courts fully booked when we arrived but we managed to play anyway.

The beach is small and crowded.

Nobody besides a few in the reception speaks english or german.

Mainly Italian guests.

not worth the money and we will not be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    210
    113
    61
    38
See reviews for
417
92
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

First of all. When you visit Italy be sure to eat en stay at places where Italians go. This hotel has 90 procent Italians. The other 10 % consists of Swiss, Belgians and Germans. Somehow the Dutch haven't discovered this place yet.

If you like Italian food this is the place to be. They offer a buffet every night and it is great. Every day three different pastas, fresh fish, lam, pork, potato's all Italian style.

The rooms and bathrooms are very clean but now is the time for some renovation. It begins to look a bit old.

The airconditioning is functioning very very good.

This is a family orientated hotel. This means that there is an animation team that starts with singing on the beach in hte morning and at 16.00 by the swiming pool. If you don't like loud music until 12 at night don't go, or choose a room not facing the pool. The animation is mostly Italian orientated. If you want to let your children take part into events you have to introduce them to the team. There is no disco or other dancepossibility after 12 at night.

The staff is very very friendly. They do everything to make you feel welcome.

This hotel is situated 8 minutes walking from the beach. They have their own beachpart where you can use the beachchairs for free.

The hotel is not near to Cecina. You need a car to get to the village. If you don't have a car it is difficult to get to Cecina. The public transport is terrible. You have to order a bus at the reception. From Cecina you can make trips by train to all the places in Tuscany.

There is a wellnesscentre but it was very very quied there during our stay.

Concusion: If you have children, don't mind animation noise, like italian food, want to relax on the beach or by the swimmingpool... this is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertoBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

Our stay at La Buca del Gatto was very delusive.
Maybe it was too early at the beginning of the season, but I think a 4 star should always offer the same level.

Positive points: the hotel is well located, near the seaside and next to a charming pine wood. The Spa looks great, the swimming pool too but it was under cleaning and not yet open (while the weather was summer like). The various buildings look nice and small. You can borrow bikes and children can play in a playground. The staff is very very welcoming, listens to you, tries to help.

Negative points: the half board was awful. A tiny buffet was served, with carrots, cucumber and tomatoes, a piece of bad fish and two potatoes. Dessert: an apple or a pear. Was it because the season had not begun, again?
Our room was terrible: the cigarette smoke of the neighbours came in our room via the communication door between us, we heard them all the night.

Hopefully, as we were to leave after only one day (which was not planned), we were given another room, which was so different that we thought that we had changed hotel. The buffet also became a little better the 3rd day.

Conclusion: it's a very good place to stay if you choos the highest level of room.

  • Liked — The location and the staff.
  • Disliked — The first room and the food.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeNeLoPe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
151 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2007

Stayed here for two weeks with the family (2 adults 2 childeren). The rooms are clean and well maintained. There is daily cleaning service and the rooms are all located in 5 main housing area's. All have airconditioning. There are a lot of facilities (tennis / basketball court, 2x swimming pool, bike rental etc) and there is WLAN internet acces (15 euro p/w). Nearby is a small bistro for a reall mean cappucino, further down the road is the beach. The food is quite good and there is a wide variaty (fish, meat, pasta etc) and there is a small wine list as well. When we where there the large majority of people on vacation where italians. The location is near Livorno and Pisa, the town of Sienna is in reach but it's quite a drive (take the SS68 via volterra & san gimangano) The only downside we could find was the lack of english speaking staff (incl animation team).

  • Liked — complete facilities & clean
  • Disliked — english language support
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Dutchman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cecina
17.2 mi away
Riva degli Etruschi
Riva degli Etruschi
#3 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sileoni
Hotel Sileoni
#1 of 3 in Marina di Cecina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Stella Marina
Hotel Stella Marina
#3 of 17 in Cecina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Tornese
Hotel Tornese
#2 of 3 in Marina di Cecina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Cecinella
La Cecinella
#8 of 17 in Cecina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
6.5 mi away
Villaggio I Sorbizzi Resort
Villaggio I Sorbizzi Resort
#2 of 10 in Marina di Bibbona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Buca del Gatto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Buca del Gatto Hotel

Property: La Buca del Gatto Hotel
Address: Via Dell'Astronomia 1, 57023, Cecina, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Cecina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cecina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Buca del Gatto Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Buca del Gatto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing