We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel ....”
Review of Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Madison
Ranked #75 of 182 Hotels in Cattolica
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Hotel ....”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having visited Cattolica many times over the past 40 years, my husband and I decided to stay at the Madison this year. Our holiday experience was wonderful and there is nothing I can say that would be negative about this Hotel. To begin with it is situated in a perfect part of Cattolica (in my opinion) giving easy access to the beach and harbour and also the town centre. After being picked up from Ancona Airport by a friendly taxi driver we were greeted at the family-run Hotel by the Roberta and shown to our room which had the most wonderful view I have experienced in this area. Our room was perfectly well appointed and we had everything we could wish for to make our stay perfect. The food at the hotel was great with lots of choice - it was beautifully presented and the service was second to none. There was a variety of freshly cooked food every day which we thoroughly enjoyed. During our stay we wanted to know a couple of things about local transport and trips and they were immediately answered and we gained a lot of help from Roberta and her staff. The very short walk to the beach enhanced our stay and we enjoyed many hours of sun and sea - especially as we were lucky enough to have 14 days sunshine!! We have only praise for this hotel and having stayed in many many others in this area can recommend it as being the best!!! Thank you to Roberta and her hardworking staff. We will be returning - if not next year then definately in 2015.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the building on the 3rd floor and the view was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadisoncattolic, Proprietario at Hotel Madison, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Lindsay, so nice words....and we answer so late! We worked hard and at end of the season, reading such a lovely comments, make us so happy! You write you'll be back on 2015...so we have one year to better our services!
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    107
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
167
83
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our first visit to the Hotel Madison.We found the Hotel to be in a great location.
All the staff were very friendly.Food was of a very high standard,Lovely Pool area and Jacuzzi.Just a steady 15 min walk will take you to the bustling town center,with plenty of great restaraunts and shops,this area is a must especially if you have young children.My boys loved the fountains,and live concerts put on at the weekend.Gabiche Mare is also just a 5 minute walk from the hotel a lovely Place to visit.All in all a great holiday Destination.Hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buttercup35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadisoncattolic, Responsabile reception at Hotel Madison, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for spending a bit of you time in writing about our hotel!
We are very happy you enjoyed your holiday and appreciated both Cattolica and Gabicce: we are proud of our work, but we are also happy to live in a so lovely place!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have use to different star clasification in the Nordic countries. Genarly the hotel is ok but Wifi connection was off all the evenings after 1800. Not a problem if you are on holiday but if you need to read email etc. its not real service in now days. Location was good close to beach. Bartender was realy service minded and I received excellent service. Rooms are quit small and the breakfast is typical italian one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arska-FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadisoncattolic, Responsabile reception at Hotel Madison, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear mr Ari, sorry for our late answer....the summer was hot and really busy!
Answering to your opinion.......in fact we are not a 5 stars hotel, but a 4 stars, anyway we work all day to help our guest to feel at home.
About the wi-fi connection....I remember you asking all of us at the reception information about the wi-fi connection all day long! As you wrote, you were on holiday!
Concerning the breakfast, all our clients enjoy the breakfast time...We invite you to come back and book the half or full board: you won't be hungry, sure!
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our third visit to the hotel and cattolica. The hotel is very nice having recently been refurbished. The staff are always polite and friendly and claudio is very good at making everyone feel welcome and is very friendly.

Hotel staff brilliant with kids, pool area very nice. Apartments decent size with free wifi and sky tv.
Cattolica is a great place to visit and the beach is amazing,as is the walk along the beach lined streets to the town centre. Cattolica l is a very lovely place to visit and this hotel is a great place to stay.

I forgot to mention the food which is first class at the hotel.

Flights to the region can be a problem. No direct flight to Rimini. We flew to Ancona and the hotel arranged transfer and split the cost .

Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and was very sad as always to leave cattolica.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattsun26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadisoncattolic, Proprietario at Hotel Madison, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Matt, thanks for your nice opinions. We are trying to better our services, year after year.
Hoping to hearing you from you soon.
Ciao. Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Returned once more for our annual visit to the hotel (15th time). Once more the Marcheggiani family provided excellent service and warm hospitality. The food is always of the best quality, and given notice, the family try and oblige unusual menu requests for specific needs.

Though it can get crowded, the pool is a lovely sheltered haven away from the street, with easy access to the snack bar and bar. Rooms are smaller than in other parts of Europe, but perfectly adequate, and on a par with others in the area.

An excellent place to experience a traditional holiday Italian style.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are slightly larger, but mean a very short walk between buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian5910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadisoncattolic, Proprietario at Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Brian5910,

We are glad that you have done another beautiful holiday in our home!
We try to do the best for our guests, try relaxing them and doing beautiful holiday
We hope to have you in our home the next year!!

Marcheggiani's Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Have stayed in the apartments here many times. It is always a lovely place to stay and in a great location in Cattolica but very close to Gabbice Mare. Friendly and family run, highly recommended AAAAA+++++

Room Tip: Choos a room with either a sea view or overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfettafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadisoncattolic, Proprietario at Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Alfettafan,

We are glad to know that you have done another beautiful holiday in our home!
We hope to see you again in our home, for another relaxing holiday like that
Hope to see you soon,

Marcheggiani Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have stayed at the Madison numerous times over the last 15 years. It is a super family run hotel, which overlooks the Adriatic. We have always chosen the self catering apartments, which are clean, very comfortable, air conditioned and well planned. There is a Simply supermarket within 10 minutes walk of the hotel, which stock everything you need. Restaurants in the town, are all within easy walking distance, and offer a good range of food. The apartments are cleaned for you at least once a week, and the staff are very friendly. The hotel has just been refurbished and looks modern, clean and offers a high standard of attention, with a super swimming pool also, and free wifi in the rooms. We have always thoroughly enjoyed our holidays at the Madison. It is a shame that no English Airlines now fly to Rimini, (20 minute drive from Airport to Hotel). The Hotel provide transfers from Bologna Airport, paying half of the fee, which is about 2 hours away. Or Ancona, about 45 minutes from Cattolica. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going self catering, choose an apartment on the 5th floor, overlooking the Adriatic,harbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadisoncattolic, Proprietario at Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Jill,

We are glad to have you in our home for several years!
We hope to see you again and have you another time in our hotel, and where there is an airplane, there are us to pick you up!
Hope to see you soon,

Marcheggiani's Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cattolica hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Cattolica
Park Hotel Cattolica
#23 of 182 in Cattolica
465 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cormoran Hotel
Cormoran Hotel
#79 of 182 in Cattolica
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria Palace Hotel
Victoria Palace Hotel
#69 of 182 in Cattolica
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ines
Hotel Ines
#17 of 182 in Cattolica
423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luxor Beach
Hotel Luxor Beach
#11 of 182 in Cattolica
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torretta Residence
Hotel Torretta Residence
#64 of 182 in Cattolica
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madison

Property: Hotel Madison
Address: Via Don Giovanni Minzoni 80, 47841 Cattolica, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Cattolica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cattolica
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Cattolica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madison 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Cattolica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing