We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Acropolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Acropolis
Ranked #81 of 185 Hotels in Cattolica
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

This hotel is in an excellent location for the beach and town centre but at the front it can be noisy at night due to the traffic outside heading for the promenade. Howe ver if you have the air conditioning on and windows closed it is fine but you have to pay 5 Euros each day if you want the air con on which is worth it in the busy season.

The food is excellent, the staff excellent and the room was kept clean daily and was comfortable. The roof terrace promised in the brochure was not as expected but the views are terrific from it but there were no sun beds or facilities up there.

All in all the location, rooms and food still make it worth staying in

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Noisy road outside
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Acropolis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind feedback which is genuinely appreciated as we use this to review what improvements we can make to our product and service. We are delighted to note that you appreciated our restaurant, the room, the quiet and the kindeness of our staff.
I do sincerely hope that we will see you again in our Acropolis Hotel and take the occasion to with you all the best.
Kindest Regards from Cattolica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    58
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
62
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
IOM
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2007

My wife and I have just returned from a seven day break at the Hotel Acropolis which has been very pleasant. We were greeted upon our arrival by a senior member of staff and very speedily booked into the hotel. Our room was basic but clean with shower and balcony and double bed which was a little hard with pillows to match. Dining Room was again pleasant and we were booked in for half-board . Proprietor was willing to change evening meal for lunch if we advised him which was a very good gesture. Excellent salads were available each day although on occasions meals were a little below par. Nice to have waiter/waitress service from very friendly staff I believe were all part of the proprietors family. We travelled as part of a package with Direct Holidays but would certainly consider using the hotel again if we visit Cattolica in the future.

Helpful?
Thank suncool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Acropolis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay with us at the Hotel Acropolis. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed our service We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future and extend you our kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2006

The hotel has an excelent location,beach almost next door,"Little train" stop outside,Saturday market up the same street. This was our second stay with Mario + his lovely family.A few staff changes since last time but still a very nice bunch.Hotel was exceptionly clean as before.Food good,breakfast was-juice+tea/coffee, cereal,toast,cheese,cold meat,eggs etc.,dinner-salad buffet+3 choices for starter+3 for main course + varied deserts.As I have a sensitive tummy+eat no fish+little meat,I could have 2 different starters(good size portions).Lunch was also available with same amount of courses +choices as dinner.We had a front room with a full en-suite with a power shower cubicle.Some rooms have wet rooms as quite a few disabled guests use this hotel.The family,grandkids and all,eat in the dining hall with the guests.There was a new beach bar this year,handy for snacks+drinks.A good,comfortable,hotel for a family on a budget..

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Tips/Secrets — Book trips with local bus company ,HALF the price.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank viki.th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Acropolis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We were so happy to read your kind words following your stay with us at the Hotel Acropolis. We were so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and the service your received. I have passed on your kind words to our brilliant team and we hope you will come back to stay with us soon.
Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2006

Like all hotels, the Hotel Acropolis has good points and bad points. The Acropolis is no different. It's a case of swing and roundabouts. The location's good. The rooms are basic but we found them clean as was the hotel in general. Another review said the owner was miserable. He may look it but, we always found him, his wife and staff very friendly. Breakfast was always fresh and replenished as stocks ran low. You didn't have to get up early to make sure you weren't left with the odd boiled egg and piece of burnt toast. I must admit that the evening meals got a bit boring though. The bar was very reasonably priced. You expect to get ripped off in hotel bars but infact, it was cheaper than the bars we visited. We can't comment on the noise from the main road as we on the second floor at the rear. We found it very quiet. All in all, it was a pleasant stay. Not the Ritz but then what do you expect on a package holiday in a poular resort?

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Woldcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Acropolis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We are delighted to read your positive feedback about your stay at the Hotel Acropolis and we would like to thank your for the time dedicating in writing your review. We are so glad that you found our service met your expectations and I have passed on your kind words to all the team. We hope that you will join us again in the near future where I am sure you will have another excellent stay with us.
Our kindest regards from Cattolica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield E ngland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2006

We have just stayed for a fortnight at the Acropolis Hotel and contrary to other reviews we found it very good value for money. The several rooms we visited had plain decor as other hotels,basic furniture and the bathrooms had modern showers complete with hairdryers. Agreed with them about the beds-they could have been better but we managed to sleep o.k. The rooms were spotless and the towels were changed every day.
We stayed half board and found the Italian food very good. At breakfast the food was replenished regularly while there were people there as was the evening salad. The lunches & evening meals were waiter service as is the thing in Italy.
The main road at the front was noisy with scooters upto approx. midnight but we did not here any loud shouting or yobbish behaviour.
If you are used to the Spanish large 4star hotels with full English breakfasts, steak & chips etc. this is not the place for you. A good reference was given by the number of Italians that keep returning there year after year.
We certainly enjoyed our stay there & would recommend it to anybody.
WHEN IN ROME DO AS THE ROMANS DO!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — road noise
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank turg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Acropolis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words following your stay with us at the Hotel Acropolis. I was so glad to read that you managed to try our restaurant during your stay and enjoyed your dining experience as well as breakfast. Please do come and stay with us again in the near future when I am sure we will meet your expectations once again.
Kind regards from Cattolica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2006

We have just returned from a week staying at the Acropolis Hotel at Cattolica. This Hotel is sold in the brochure as a really nice hotel. The first apperance of the outside and the lobby - yes it was good , and I thought yes we have a nice place , The landings did'nt look too bad but once the key was put in the door and the door of the bedroom opened it was like walking to another hotel and back in time. There was no fridge ,or hairdryer in the rooms and the air condition was controlled by the owner downstairs in reception, and if you switched it off you would have to go and ask them to switch it back on. The beds was of metal frame - one was hard and the other soft , the shower room/ toilet was pre 1970 look and also the decor in the bedroom. There was a gap between the door and the frame !! The bed linen was clean with towels changed every day , and the maids did the best they could , It is only so much cleaning you can do when you have broken tiles
etc in the shower. The food was very good only a bit to regimental and the waiter was very scatty/ or bad memory., and for the owner, I think to start he should put a smile on his face and then people epecially the British would feel a bit more welcome. Cattolic itself is a fantastic place and also Gabbice Mare. If anyone fancied a quick lunch Cocco's bar is the place to go . Right on the see front , one of the waiters very helpfull and polite and spoke a good english the other not quite as good. This place is very noisy at night and into the morning with scooters travelling and people shouting and singing in the streets well into the early hours of the morning. We will certainly be going back to Cattloica but I don't think that we will be staying in the Acropolis again unless they have a major face lift in the bedrooms. I am suprised that this hotel was 3 star as I would only rate it as a 1 - 2 star at the most .

  • Liked — Nothing spring to mind !
  • Disliked — An accumulation of everything !
  • Tips/Secrets — If you expect luxury you will not get it in this hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2006

Good location, just a few steps from the beach.
Clean family run hotel. Meal times very restricted and far too early for our family. Dining room operates on almost 1950's butlins style set up. At breakfast, once its gone its gone regardless of the fact you may have an hour or more of service left!
The beds are absolutely terrible we didn't sleep other than on the beach!
The area is nice very relaxed, but we found everything expensive.
Theres a nice lemon around the corner...no im not mad!!... it served ice cold fruit drinks and lemon was its speciality. hence the name, not cheap either but very nice.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank mel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Acropolis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words following your stay with us at the Hotel Acropolis. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed all the facilities and service we provided you with. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards from Cattolica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cattolica hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Flaminio
Hotel Flaminio
#87 of 185 in Cattolica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luxor Beach
Hotel Luxor Beach
#11 of 185 in Cattolica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ines
Hotel Ines
#15 of 185 in Cattolica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#52 of 185 in Cattolica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Palace Hotel
Victoria Palace Hotel
#69 of 185 in Cattolica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#3 of 185 in Cattolica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acropolis

Property: Hotel Acropolis
Address: Via Giuseppe Verdi 1, 47841 Cattolica, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Cattolica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cattolica
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Cattolica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acropolis 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acropolis Hotel is located in a quiet area of Cattolica, where you can enjoy a wonderful view of the sea and the surrounding hills of Gabicce, Gradara and San Marino. The hotel offers a large parking garage, a sun terrace, gym, sauna and whirlpool. Organizes themed evenings featuring good food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Acropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropolis Hotel Cattolica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing