We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swings and Roundabouts”
Review of Hotel Acropolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Acropolis
Ranked #76 of 182 Hotels in Cattolica
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Swings and Roundabouts”
Reviewed September 28, 2006

Like all hotels, the Hotel Acropolis has good points and bad points. The Acropolis is no different. It's a case of swing and roundabouts. The location's good. The rooms are basic but we found them clean as was the hotel in general. Another review said the owner was miserable. He may look it but, we always found him, his wife and staff very friendly. Breakfast was always fresh and replenished as stocks ran low. You didn't have to get up early to make sure you weren't left with the odd boiled egg and piece of burnt toast. I must admit that the evening meals got a bit boring though. The bar was very reasonably priced. You expect to get ripped off in hotel bars but infact, it was cheaper than the bars we visited. We can't comment on the noise from the main road as we on the second floor at the rear. We found it very quiet. All in all, it was a pleasant stay. Not the Ritz but then what do you expect on a package holiday in a poular resort?

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Woldcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Acropolis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We are delighted to read your positive feedback about your stay at the Hotel Acropolis and we would like to thank your for the time dedicating in writing your review. We are so glad that you found our service met your expectations and I have passed on your kind words to all the team. We hope that you will join us again in the near future where I am sure you will have another excellent stay with us.
Our kindest regards from Cattolica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    65
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
74
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield E ngland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2006

We have just stayed for a fortnight at the Acropolis Hotel and contrary to other reviews we found it very good value for money. The several rooms we visited had plain decor as other hotels,basic furniture and the bathrooms had modern showers complete with hairdryers. Agreed with them about the beds-they could have been better but we managed to sleep o.k. The rooms were spotless and the towels were changed every day.
We stayed half board and found the Italian food very good. At breakfast the food was replenished regularly while there were people there as was the evening salad. The lunches & evening meals were waiter service as is the thing in Italy.
The main road at the front was noisy with scooters upto approx. midnight but we did not here any loud shouting or yobbish behaviour.
If you are used to the Spanish large 4star hotels with full English breakfasts, steak & chips etc. this is not the place for you. A good reference was given by the number of Italians that keep returning there year after year.
We certainly enjoyed our stay there & would recommend it to anybody.
WHEN IN ROME DO AS THE ROMANS DO!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — road noise
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank turg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Acropolis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words following your stay with us at the Hotel Acropolis. I was so glad to read that you managed to try our restaurant during your stay and enjoyed your dining experience as well as breakfast. Please do come and stay with us again in the near future when I am sure we will meet your expectations once again.
Kind regards from Cattolica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britain
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2006

We have just returned from a week staying at the Acropolis Hotel at Cattolica. This Hotel is sold in the brochure as a really nice hotel. The first apperance of the outside and the lobby - yes it was good , and I thought yes we have a nice place , The landings did'nt look too bad but once the key was put in the door and the door of the bedroom opened it was like walking to another hotel and back in time. There was no fridge ,or hairdryer in the rooms and the air condition was controlled by the owner downstairs in reception, and if you switched it off you would have to go and ask them to switch it back on. The beds was of metal frame - one was hard and the other soft , the shower room/ toilet was pre 1970 look and also the decor in the bedroom. There was a gap between the door and the frame !! The bed linen was clean with towels changed every day , and the maids did the best they could , It is only so much cleaning you can do when you have broken tiles
etc in the shower. The food was very good only a bit to regimental and the waiter was very scatty/ or bad memory., and for the owner, I think to start he should put a smile on his face and then people epecially the British would feel a bit more welcome. Cattolic itself is a fantastic place and also Gabbice Mare. If anyone fancied a quick lunch Cocco's bar is the place to go . Right on the see front , one of the waiters very helpfull and polite and spoke a good english the other not quite as good. This place is very noisy at night and into the morning with scooters travelling and people shouting and singing in the streets well into the early hours of the morning. We will certainly be going back to Cattloica but I don't think that we will be staying in the Acropolis again unless they have a major face lift in the bedrooms. I am suprised that this hotel was 3 star as I would only rate it as a 1 - 2 star at the most .

  • Liked — Nothing spring to mind !
  • Disliked — An accumulation of everything !
  • Tips/Secrets — If you expect luxury you will not get it in this hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2006

Good location, just a few steps from the beach.
Clean family run hotel. Meal times very restricted and far too early for our family. Dining room operates on almost 1950's butlins style set up. At breakfast, once its gone its gone regardless of the fact you may have an hour or more of service left!
The beds are absolutely terrible we didn't sleep other than on the beach!
The area is nice very relaxed, but we found everything expensive.
Theres a nice lemon around the corner...no im not mad!!... it served ice cold fruit drinks and lemon was its speciality. hence the name, not cheap either but very nice.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank mel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Acropolis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words following your stay with us at the Hotel Acropolis. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed all the facilities and service we provided you with. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards from Cattolica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2006

My family and I (2 adults and 2 children aged 4 & 6) have just spent a week at the Acropolis Hotel. The location of this hotel is perfect; less than 5mins walk to the beach, only 10mins walk into the centre of Cattolica and about the same distance in the other direction to Gabbice Mare.
The hotel room was not a bad size especially considering we also had bunkbeds in addition to our bed. The room was cleaned, and sheets and towels were changed every day so although the furnishings were quite basic and in some need of redecoration - they were spotlessly clean.
We stayed on a half-board basis and the meals were of very good quality. The evening meal started with antipasti, then the first course - pasta or soup, second meat or fish course and finishing with pudding. The range of antipasti, salads and veg dishes was really excellent and extremely tasty. We sampled starter dishes such as macaroi and ragu, pasta with shrimps and pesto sauce, and the soups. Choices for main course included salmon, beef, veal, pork stew and swordfish (amongst others) and everything we tried was tasty.
The bar area is spacious and drinks are available at all times.
In summary the best aspects of the Acropolis are its location and the food, but on the downside our room was in need of a refurb, and we found the beds really hard (but obviously this is just a personal preference - to some folk they could be perfect!).

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank saladdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Acropolis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind words following your stay at the Hotel Acropolis. We were so glad to read that we met your expectations and you found our service and the general ambience of the hotel to your liking. Please do come and visit us again soon.
Our kindest regards from Cattolica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cattolica hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Flaminio
Hotel Flaminio
#75 of 182 in Cattolica
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Des Bains
Hotel Des Bains
#73 of 182 in Cattolica
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#42 of 182 in Cattolica
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Baia Marina
Hotel Baia Marina
#151 of 182 in Cattolica
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Torretta Residence
Hotel Torretta Residence
#59 of 182 in Cattolica
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Waldorf Palace
Hotel Waldorf Palace
#22 of 182 in Cattolica
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acropolis

Property: Hotel Acropolis
Address: Via Giuseppe Verdi 1, 47841 Cattolica, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Cattolica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cattolica
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Cattolica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acropolis 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acropolis Hotel is located in a quiet area of Cattolica, where you can enjoy a wonderful view of the sea and the surrounding hills of Gabicce, Gradara and San Marino. The hotel offers a large parking garage, a sun terrace, gym, sauna and whirlpool. Organizes themed evenings featuring good food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Acropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropolis Hotel Cattolica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing