We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard working family run great hotel”
Review of Hotel la Torre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel la Torre
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hard working family run great hotel”
Reviewed July 16, 2010

I stayed in this hotel in sweltering July but was cool in my room due to the air conditioning.The brother and sister in charge of the hotel tried to meet every wish of their guests and they are a delight. The location is excellent and there is free parking outside the city wall, a short stroll. The town is quaint and well kept and there is a great market every wednesday.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank europegirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    83
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
52
108
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Wonderful little hotel run by sister and borther team who work all hours to ensure that their guests have a very good stay - they are very helpful and accommodating and willing to help in any way that they can. A very impressive pair!
The location of the hotel is wonderful - in the heart of the medieval part of the town, which is itself in the most amazing spot overlooking Lake Trasimeno. We arrived late on a Tuesday night and awoke completely surprised on the Wednesday morning to find that a whole market had appeared under our window without us hearing a thing. The market comes highly recommended too.
Rooms a bit lacking in charm although perfectly adequately kitted out and with very necessary air con. Excellent shower in our room too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heartw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

My husband and I recently traveled to Italy to visit friends and family in Umbria where we had lived for over two years. We had traveled from Pienza and decided to stop in Castiglione del Lago to spend the night and as we walked through town found a charming man, Roberto, outside his hotel, Hotel La Torre. We asked, in Italian, if he had a room available, and in beautiful English, he said yes, of course. He wanted us to see the room and off we went upstairs to a huge room, clean and neat and comfortable. The rates are very reasonable, he showed us how to get our car up into town to drop off our bags, he gave us a parking sticker to keep our car outside the wall of the city, and made many recommendations for sightseeing and for dining.
Castiglione del Lago is a small hilltown that is easy to walk in, there are many small shops selling a variety of items, most notably cheeses and salumis typical for the region. Because the town borders Tuscany and Umbria, they offer many unique and savory items as you walk through town. The wines are wonderful and there are several incredible restaurants located within the town walls, Mona Lisa being one of them. Fresh seafood and fish are specialities there as well as meats and local wines served by the bottle at reasonable and excellent prices.
Roberto and his family run the hotel and he is there when you go for breakfast, making your coffee in the morning and being an excellent host with a smile. We were so happy we had taken the time to check out this small hotel in town and will go back again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

I've chosen this hotel with my wife because it's in the middle of the historical center of Castiglione, a beautiful place and a perfect starting point to visit Trasimeno lake.
Rooms are comfortable and noiseless in the night, even if the hotel is on the main street.
Staff are very friendful and do their best to let us have a nice stay.
The hotel is about 2 km far from train station, but it's only 15-20 minutes by feet. The position is perfect to go to the lake.

  • Liked — Central location, welcoming
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sir_Albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

This was a clean and comfortable hotel in the heart of the walled town near good restaurants and a two minute walk to the museum and fortress. The room was modern and a bit sterile, with pink everything, but the bathroom was large and very modern and clean. There was a nice view of the main street of the town but it was very quiet and mostly car free except for service vehicles. A bright breakfast room with good service. We were cheerfully allowed to use the managers internet for emailing home, and the price of the room was very reasonable.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Blewnoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Stumbled upon this small, well kept hotel in the heart of this small walled city. The staff was very friendly and helpful and spoke pretty good English. Rooms were very clean and the breakfast items were all fresh. The rooms don't have much of a view as the back and front of the hotel overlook either one of the only two streets within the castle but the location of the hotel can't be beat if you are going to stay in this town.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthSideBeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2007

A small (10 room) family run hotel in the middle of the historic center. You couldn't ask for a better location.
This hotel was clean and comfortable. The rooms are also very soundproof (if you keep your windows closed), which can come in handy as there are some late nights in the town. Rooms are also air conditioned (helpful on hot Italian nights).
The hotel is run by a brother and sister who are very friendly and try to ensure that your stay is pleasant.
Breakfast is a simple, fresh brioche (croissant), bun, yogurt, cereal, juice etc. but the fresh espresso/cafe latte etc are yummy.
Hotel is pet friendly.
I gave it an above average rating as it is great value for the money.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank shoozdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglione del Lago
5.0 mi away
Locanda Poggioleone
Locanda Poggioleone
#1 of 1 in Pozzuolo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Macerine
Le Macerine
#4 of 9 in Castiglione del Lago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Trasimeno
Hotel Trasimeno
#3 of 9 in Castiglione del Lago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Duca Della Corgna
Hotel Duca Della Corgna
#6 of 9 in Castiglione del Lago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
5.9 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Ranieri
Residence Ranieri
#5 of 9 in Castiglione del Lago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Torre

Property: Hotel la Torre
Address: Historical Medieval Centre Via Vittorio Emanuele 50 | Lago Trasimeno, 06061, Castiglione del Lago, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Castiglione del Lago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Castiglione del Lago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Torre 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel situated inside of Castiglione del Lago, a marvelous and panoramic village on Trasimeno lake, in a green nice central part of Italy, Umbria, only at few kilometers from Tuscany and many interesting places. An old palace, converted in a tastefully renovated hotel, situated between the fortress - Palazzo Ducale and the main square with the S. Maddalena's church, furnished of all modern services ideal for business people and refined tourists who love to enjoy holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel la Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing