We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a lovely town”
Review of Hotel la Torre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel la Torre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 6 night stay at Hotel La Torre. All the good things other people say about the hotel are true. The room and bathroom were well equipped and clean. Roberto and Simona were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. The location is fine. Before we arrived, Roberto advised us to hire a car. We'd previously stayed in Passignano, across the lake, and hadn't needed a car because of the convenient public transport. However, in Castiglione, Roberto was right and the car hire significantly added to our enjoyment of the holiday and allowed us to get to lovely places such as Panicale, Castel Rigone and Castiglion Fiorentino, which were far more enjoyable to visit than some of the other over-rated tourist places.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto L, Proprietario at Hotel la Torre, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Mr. Clive,

thank you for your detailed and very positive feed back on Your recent stay at La Torre Hotel. We sincerely appreciate Your wonderful comments about Your room, the village and all staff. It was a pleasure to have You as our guest and we truly hope to welcome You back in the near future.

Kind regards

Roberto LUCARELLI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 255 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

A small hotel, ran by brother and sister in Castiglione Del Lago, in a beautiful Mideival City. Roberto and Simona could not have been any nicer, the Hotel was beautiful, clean rooms, clean baths, very helpful, very courteous. The little town was great, people remembered you, from day to day, Restaurants were very good, food was great, good selection. Close to Assisi, Cortona, Sienna and Florence. Streets closed off to traffic, so walking was a pleasure. Lake Trasimeno is right below the village, and was absolutely beautiful, with an amazing history of Hannibal's crossing of the Alps. Our only regret, we would have liked to stay longer, but had reservations in Southern Italy. We would go back here again without a doubt. Breakfast was very good, Lots of great Pastries.
Thank you, Roberto and Simona for your Hospitality, hope to see you again.

Room Tip: Front rooms give a view of the Lake Trasimeno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3881ccb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto L, Proprietario at Hotel la Torre, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Egr. Terry and Nancy,

thank You for Your kind words about your experience at La Torre Hotel and Castiglione del Lago our wonderful village on Trasimeno Lake in Umbria. The whole family and staff appreciates knowing that their efforts are helping guests to enjoy their experience here. We look forward to being able to welcome You back to La Torre Hotel in Umbria.

Kind Regards

Roberto LUCARELLI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We recently stayed in this charming and lovely family owned and operated hotel in a beautiful little city in Umbria. Brother and sister owners, Roberto and Simona made us feel so welcome and were always helpful with directions and advice on area attractions. The hotel is exceptionally well maintained and very clean. We had a lovely bedroom and large bath, beautifully decorated and appointed. Everything about our visit was pleasant and comfortable. Our too short stay of five days left us feeling like we had become one of the villagers, as the townspeople always greeted us warmly as we walked through the town. There are some excellent restaurants In the village and lovely views of nearby Lake Trasimeno. This is a perfect location to branch out on day trips to such places as Sienna, Florence, Assisi. We would go back again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto L, Proprietario at Hotel la Torre, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Egr. Mr Edward,

thank you for posting such kind comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to our wonderful Medieval Village Castiglione del Lago and our family Hotel La Torre. I am delighted You and your friends had such a positive experience on Your first visit to the hotel and thank You for Your recommendation to other guests . Feedback such as Yours is a great motivator to us and we are most appreciative that You have taken to time to let us know. I very much hope to have the opportunity of welcoming back You in the future..

Best regards

LA DIREZIONE
Roberto LUCARELLI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A very high standard hotel. Our room was nicely furnished, spacious and comfortable with a good sized bathroom. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly. The position is perfect in the old town of Castiglione del Lago with some excellent restaurants nearby. The breakfast comes from the next door patisserie which (we think) belongs to the hotel. Tea, coffee, juices and LOTS of croissants and delicious pastries plus cereal and yoghurt. You won't leave the breakfast room hungry! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto L, Proprietario at Hotel la Torre, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Egr. Mr Kim,

thank you for your detailed and very positive feed back on your recent stay at La Torre Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your wonderful comments about the room, the staff and breakfast. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we truly hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

LA DIREZIONE
Roberto LUCARELLI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is in the very centre of the old town, breakfast is very large and delicious, and there are friendly bars and restaurants within a stone's throw for evening meals . The owner and his family are fantastic, really friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and immaculately decorated and maintained. There is a quiet, intimate atmosphere within the walled town, the scenery is spectacular, and the hotel is ideally situated for touring the area. The owner is more than happy to suggest days out, and places to go and see. We will definitely book again, and can't wait to be back amongst our new friends in Castiglione.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the Hotel look out onto the street below, where there's always something g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank judyduffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto L, Proprietario at Hotel la Torre, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

We very much appreciate you taking the time to tell us and the Trip Advisor community about your stay here at La Torre Hotel.

I will personally pass on your kind words to all family and staff - it's always great to hear that we have gone above and beyond our guest's expectations.

Kind Regards

LA DIREZIONE
Roberto LUCARELLI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A spur of the moment thought took us to Castiglione where we found Hotel La Torre Hotel and its fine hospitality from the owners along with clean and comfortable rooms. An outstanding overly abundant breakfast also catered to unannounced gluten-free clients with extreme non chalance. Kindness and efficiency were the true characteristics of the hotel owners. They did everything to make one feel welcome and comfortable including suggestions on what to see and where to eat. The town was absolutely charming and the lake views breath-taking especially at sunset. The town is small and family-like just the ones you see in some movies :). Definitely a place to return to. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank sgmm07813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto L, Proprietario at Hotel la Torre, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank You for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at La Torre Hotel and in Castiglione del Lago, our wonderful medieval village on Trasimeno Lake, Umbria.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a second visit.

Kind Regards

LA DIREZIONE
Roberto LUCARELLI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We enjoyed a beautiful weekend at Hotel La Torre. It is centrally located in the gorgeous medieval town that is Castiglione del Lago, only a few steps away from some incredible restaurants and from the awesome 909 Café’ where we were able to catch some fantastic bands during the Trasimeno Blues.
Our room was clean, comfortable, with a very modern bathroom, and a beautiful window overlooking one of the many gorgeous narrow streets of Castligione del Lago. We could even see a small slither of the majestic lake (The hotel is in the middle of the old town so you would not be able to have a ‘lake view’ as such.) The hotel is family run and the owners could not be better hosts. On our second day, we were planning to walk around the lake, but they recommended us a place to rent bikes and thanks to them, we had the most beautiful day. I cannot recommend this enough. We cycled along the lake, past sunflower fields and olive groves. We stopped for lunch in a lovely agroturismo in Tuoro situated in an ancient olive press (Hans Christian Andersen stayed here) where we had a fabulous meal, we then got our bikes on the ferry and cycled around the tiny and exceptionally quaint Isola Maggiore before returning to Castiglione for more amazing gigs.
Thank you so much for the recommendations and the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claudia186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglione del Lago
0.5 mi away
Le Macerine
Le Macerine
#3 of 10 in Castiglione del Lago
150 reviews
5.1 mi away
Locanda Poggioleone
Locanda Poggioleone
#1 of 1 in Pozzuolo
180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Duca Della Corgna
Hotel Duca Della Corgna
#7 of 10 in Castiglione del Lago
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
664 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Trasimeno
Hotel Trasimeno
#4 of 10 in Castiglione del Lago
254 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Torre

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 50 | Medieval Historical Centre, Lake Trasimeno, 06061, Castiglione del Lago, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Castiglione del Lago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Castiglione del Lago
Price Range: $80 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Torre 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel situated inside of Castiglione del Lago, a marvelous and panoramic village on Trasimeno lake, in a green nice central part of Italy, Umbria, only at few kilometers from Tuscany and many interesting places. An old palace, converted in a tastefully renovated hotel, situated between the fortress - Palazzo Ducale and the main square with the S. Maddalena's church, furnished of all modern services ideal for business people and refined tourists who love to enjoy holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel la Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing