We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, cozy restaurant with fantastic food and excellent wine”

Ristorante la Badiaccia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Ristorante con cucina tipica(carne,salumi etc..)Tutti i giorni specialita di mare in arrivo dai nostri mari.Pane e pasta fatto in casa.Carta dei vini con circa 250 etichette nazionali ed estere.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We chose La Badiaccia in part because it was so close to the villa we were renting and we were tired after a long day of touring. The restaurant is on the main road into Castiglione del Lago and is (or appears to be) attached to the camping ground if the same name. Once inside, though, we were greeted warmly. We asked the owner a dozen questions about the menu and she was gracious and enthusiastic. My sister and I both had pork medallions in a sagratino sauce with pecorino, which was delicious. My husband had tuna which included three large grilled pieces with different toppings — one with figs, one with onions and capers and one with grapes. My BIL has a plate of grilled seafood which included salmon, sea bass and prawns. Everything was delicious.

The wine list was extensive and we chose a local white (on the advice of the proprietor) and it, too, was excellent.

The restaurant specializes in local food, wine and ingredients and prepared them very well. It was a wonderful treat to eat at La Badiaccia. We hope to return next year.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank DDtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

The meal at this restaurant was perhaps the best meal we have had so far in our visit to Italy (we are from Canada). We have been to Venice and Florence but this hidden gem was just amazing!
My husband had the gnocchi with apple and smoked duck, and an appetizer of 6 difference fresh goat’s cheeses that the lovely waitress suggested.
And I loved my ravioli with an amazing cheese, a sauce to die for and topped with shrimp - all drizzled with a touch of dark chocolate. Dessert was perhaps among my favourite ever - a cheesecake made with yoghurt! And the crust was just delicious!! The wine was superb and our waitress suggested it after asking us what type of wine we liked. Again- it was the Best!!!
Thank you for this wonderful dinner experience!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank chloe561960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

A real surprising restaurant. Wonderful atmosphere, great service, fantastic food. Try the filet code fish with oranges! Everything was just perfect

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 790oferd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Welcoming friendly staff. Passionate about their excellent selection of olive oils and wines. The grilled lobster/prawn dish for two was very good. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

What a nice surprise it was when we visited La Badiaccia. We arrived around 7.30pm so the restaurant was still very quiet. We’ve been served by an amazing lady who explained each item in the hand-written menu in Italian so we were very grateful for the recommendations! We were a party of 6 and everyone ordered something different. Both sea food and local food from Tuscany and Umbria. Each of the plates was a delight. Highly recommend if you’re passing by or staying in the area. You will leave full and definitely not disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank matthewbL7390ZP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante la Badiaccia also viewed

Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
Castiglione del Lago, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante la Badiaccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing